Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Financial Markets

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Financial Markets da instituição Universidade de GenebraUniversidade de Genebra

4.7
estrelas
2,766 classificações
541 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Melhores avaliações

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

SA

Feb 01, 2020

All the instructors were very knowledgeable and used lots of real life examples to explain the theory. They were also kind of funny and turned a "stiff" topic into a lively and fascinating story.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Understanding Financial Markets

por Larry W I

Sep 28, 2017

Excellent! it give you a basic idea of the financial market and also give you some main concepts in order to understand causes and consequences of the movements. If you are thinking in trade or you are already trading this course could give you a better comprehension of the conditions and characteristics that you should keep in mind.

por Deokumar G

Oct 31, 2019

this course on understanding financial markets is a great refresher course for those students who are familiar with the NYSE and all of the various equities that can make a great investment portfolio! also, the lectures from the University of Geneva Professors are very straightforward, in plain English. - deokumar gandharry

por Prashant P

Mar 21, 2019

Great online resources provided by the course, but this course is not for a complete beginner. I need to learn some of the concepts related to commerce before getting started with the actual course content. None the less, It provides a great insights related to different aspects of financial market and portfolio management.

por Harsh M

Jan 13, 2018

I am new in finance stream. So i don't know about so much. But There I learned so many thighs. How..... I am too surprised that and now i feel, I know.... Ya I know finance and I can also think my future in investment management. So thank you COURSERA team for giving me chance to learn by University Of Geneva's professor.

por CHU D

Nov 03, 2017

I think this is most useful finance course for people not directly involved in finance industry. A lot of useful information, unlike typical university general education class which talks too much about theories but not practice. This course is very practice-oriented and the one of lecturer Michele is a very good teacher!

por Saptarshi D

Jan 06, 2019

No doubt that the profs were amazing communicators with root level knowledge and experience. I particularly liked Professor Michel Girardin for his interesting, humorous and innovative ways of explaining stuff! Overall a brilliant experience learning financial markets. I highly recommend this. Thank you Coursera!

por Thomas H

Mar 31, 2019

This course has been absolutely exceptional. In being my first experience with Coursera, I have been extremely satisfied with the content of the course, the approach and teaching methods of the lecturers and the platform itself. I will definitely continue studying and increase my knowledge with Coursera!

por Arpit S

Nov 23, 2018

Brilliant Course. I was struggling to understand these concepts for eternity. Even failed in competitive exams. But the manner in which these concepts were explained meant that I am now much better equipped to understand these concepts and even use it during investments when I undertake them henceforth.

por M B M

Jun 27, 2018

I enjoyed the clear and basic examination of interactions between bonds. equities, interest rates and inflation. Building a solid logic foundation. Not certain yet how to convert this knowledge into actionable decisions but it forms a great foundation. Many thanks to the excellent instructors.

por Arthur G

Mar 17, 2019

Thanks, this was an invaluably refreshing course for me. I got a chance to revise and deepen my understanding of investments and financial markets since I graduated from another university 5 years ago. Thanks the University of Geneva, UBS and Coursera teams for putting this course together!

por Anna I

Aug 30, 2018

Half way through the course, I realized that I've been mirroring Dr. Michel Girardin the whole time, i.e. smiling as I'm trying to grasp the complexity of financial markets. Truly enjoyed his fun approach to teaching, keeping material concise and interactive. Will surely be back for more.

por David K

Aug 28, 2017

Very good introduction to Financial Markets and the economic instruments that dictate market conditions/environments. This a solid introductory framework that is necessary before getting more involved with complex investment vehicles. The class has excellent supplemental readings as well.

por Norbert T E

Mar 09, 2018

Very Good overview into what financial markets(Equity and Bonds) and their valuation. Also a solid introduction to Central Banks and how their mandate and policy affect the market. Not a lot on risk management...maybe in the next parts of the course. Overall very educative course.

por Kyle

May 26, 2016

I enjoyed this course simply because I am new to financial markets. The instructors were able to simplify

a subject that I used to find complicated and somewhat intimidating. After learning from these instructors, Financial Markets have actually become a lot of fun for me.

por LUIS G M

Feb 07, 2018

GRAN CURSO, RECOMIENDO PLENAMENTE, SE APRENDE A IDENTIFICAR LOS RIESGOS DE INVERSIÓN Y NOS ENSEÑA COMO TOMAR DECISIONES AL CONOCER EL MERCADO Y EVALUAR EL ENTORNO, ESPERO QUE LA UNIVERSIDAD DE GINERBRA PUEDA DAR UN COMPLEMENTO DE ESTE CURSO, INTERESANTE Y APRENDÍ MUCHO.

por André Z P

Apr 20, 2016

This course intends to give an overview of the financial markets and the different kinds of investments. All the intructors are great, especially professor Michel, who is the main instructor in this course.

Moreover, I considered the tests adequate for learning purposes.

por Ilia M

Nov 04, 2017

It`s the most useful course that I`ve ever seen online in this field of study. Lecturers managed to give a lot of neсessary information with interesting presentation for a short time. I recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn basics of financial markets.

por Alexander B

Jul 24, 2017

The lecturers are very engaged and try to explain the course content in detail and understandable. The short questions during the videos help to keep you focused on the essential parts of the content and make the concepts clear on a more practical level again.

por Arturo G

Mar 07, 2016

The course is excellent, it provides the necessary foundation to understand financial markets which is the starting point for all investors. Some the English enunciation of the instructors is a bit difficult to understand but I got what I needed. Well done.

por Ciaran P

Oct 14, 2016

I never kew financial markets were so interesting or so challenging. The video lectures were always a pleasure to watch. I was deeply appreciative of Professor Girardin's affable manner, and his graphic explanation of duration will stay with me for life.

por Ting Y M

May 09, 2016

It's a good review of concepts for people who already have some financial background knowledge. The professors are very clear in conducting the course in English and have used very innovative demonstrations of examples to illustrate abstract concepts.

por MENGZHU Y

May 19, 2019

The introduction about financial markets is very useful for me who begin to study finance and banking, the methods is easy acceptable for a new one. I like the quiz among the lessons, they are beneficial for me to check the concepts and knowledge.

por alice m

Jun 24, 2018

Professors and invited lecturers were excellent in delivering message. There is a difference in how we approach finance and quizzes in Usa vs. Europe. I was challenged by that but very happy to learn this new perspective. It makes me want more.

por Alireza G

Jun 22, 2018

Excellent course. I enjoyed the fact that the people who lecture in this course consists of a series of professional and dedicated with academical and industry experience. Education material are high quality. I am enjoying watching this course!

por Richard S N D

Sep 06, 2017

Extremely good, content, teachers, levels of information and accuracy, I recommend it for any novice or experienced person who wishes to strengthen knowledge and understanding of the financial markets and the management of investment portfolios