Chevron Left
Voltar para Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments da instituição Universidade Duke

4.6
estrelas
2,434 classificações
658 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Melhores avaliações

FY
5 de Jul de 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

SM
10 de Jun de 2020

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filtrar por:

601 — 625 de 650 Avaliações para o Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

por Juan C

26 de Nov de 2018

Kind of difficult

por sarayudth c

22 de Set de 2017

good course cheer

por Cecilia F

25 de Mai de 2020

Very meaningful.

por NGUYEN M T

5 de Jan de 2021

little bit hard

por Konstantinos K

30 de Dez de 2020

Great journey

por Eder L B G A S

19 de Mai de 2020

Great course

por Henrietta J

7 de Nov de 2016

Fun course!

por Iris L

27 de Fev de 2017

Excellent

por NIYA P

28 de Ago de 2020

good

por Laura B

3 de Jan de 2020

Very

por Jacob A V

17 de Out de 2019

Good

por vidushi k

31 de Jan de 2019

good

por Saurabh J

16 de Nov de 2017

nice

por NIRMAL K

18 de Jan de 2019

g

por mahesh g

10 de Nov de 2017

s

por Greg G

16 de Ago de 2016

Dr. Sinnott-Armstrong does an amazingly thorough and detailed job, and the progression of the course is well planned and well executed.

I wanted to give the course a higher rating, but unfortunately, the good doctor's explanatory skills only served to confuse and frustrate me, the further I progressed through the course. Extemporaneous examples were unintentionally and unnecessarily muddled. There were numerous misspoken or confused terms that could easily have been re-recorded or edited. And the splicing between the old course and the new one is sometimes discontinuous (though, to be fair, they warn us about that at the beginning).

Nevertheless, I would still highly recommend the course to anyone looking for a thorough-going university-level course in critical thinking, and basic argumentation.

por Ahmed S G

31 de Mai de 2020

It was good, but it provided too much attention to argument evaluation. I guess knowing which kind of arguments I am having right now, which is valid or invalid, doesn't make me deal well with the argument. It may be satisfying to say that these premises are not good, real, or related to the conclusion. I hope I will be wrong and find that detailed section so valuable.

por Daniel

30 de Jun de 2020

I thought it was overall a helpful class that underlined very important, lifelong skills to arguing, but, at times, it struggled to keep my interest, as much of it was redundant. However, I loved the enthusiasm from the professor and the colorful examples.

por Sophie P K

3 de Jun de 2018

There was a lot of new information, I learned a lot. A bit too long for me, since I'm only 9 years old. I'm happy I accomplished it, though! The reason why I gave three stars is because the due dates on the quizzes did not show. It made me rush at the end.

por Mahmoud e

15 de Out de 2020

it is a good course .. thanks to the author .. i don't deny that i expected better than this, but thank you sir for your effort, appreciated.. (I think time could be better managed to half that time probably!).. thanks again :)

por Ralfe P

23 de Jan de 2021

I learned some very useful theory and techniques for assessing arguments. However, I felt that the content was quite short (I completed it in a few days) and there was very little interaction in the forums.

por Anthony N

23 de Dez de 2020

Perhaps simplify lectures. And best not to use the Robert Redford example. Stick with an example and simply and clearly reflects the argument you are trying to make. My two cents.

por Dorothy H

16 de Ago de 2016

Hoping that the next sections won't be so laborious and focussed on analyzing texts in detail. If you want to know how to do such things, then this would be a 5-star course for you.

por Wong H Z

7 de Mai de 2020

Some of the examples are useful/helpful in illustrating the concepts, but there are too much time spent on elaborating the unnecessary or repeating the points.

por Ana I R M

26 de Abr de 2020

Se ofrece el curso traducido a varios idiomas pero sólo los videos están traducidos. Los cuestionarios y las preguntas emergentes no están traducidas.