Chevron Left
Voltar para Translation in Practice

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Translation in Practice da instituição Universidade de Nanquim

4.3
estrelas
143 classificações
59 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers you basic but valuable techniques used by a good translator in the translation between English and Chinese. We’ll discuss what is translation, what is good translation, and learn about how to produce good translations. All the examples used in this course are taken from the course instructor's own translations of various genres and topics of writing. These examples are elaborated on to show you how to understand the idea, style and tone of the writer, the historical and cultural context of the writing, as well as the explicit and implied meanings of words, the grammatical structures of sentences, and the logic of sentences and paragraphs in order to achieve faithfulness, expressiveness, and elegance in the translation. After completing this course, you will know what makes a qualified professional translator and acquire the abilities and skills that such a translator needs...

Melhores avaliações

YW

6 de abr de 2020

Thanks for the efforts of Ms. Yuan, the instructor's and Coursera, the course is very good for improving my translation skills. It will be better to share some better translation in a specific thread.

PV

16 de jun de 2019

The lecturer was very knowledgeable and skilful. The course content was very well planned and managed. On the overall, I am very happy to have participated in this course. Thanks!

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 59 Avaliações para o Translation in Practice

por Audrey T

21 de mai de 2021

PLEASE state in the presentation that it is necessary to master the Chinese language and that there will be many translations tasks that require to be fluent in both English and Chinese. Many of us did not know it and it makes for a very frustrating experience and course !

por HASANOVA Z S

29 de jan de 2021

I cant continue the course because there is translation examples between English and Chinese, and I dont know Chinese lang.

por Wang H

3 de jun de 2022

Please note that this course is intended for those who understand both English and Chinese only. The subtitles are not going to be useful, and you will not be able to complete assignments unless you understand both languages (simultaneously).

Some of the assignment is in Chinese and some parts contain propaganda related to China, which you may want to be aware of. The lecturer speaks English with a Chinese accent, which is fine, but there are spelling errors in the text and questions, making me question the quality of the course material.

All assignments must be submitted on time. Students are at the mercy of their peers in peer review which may or may not happen, making one anxious if the course will ever end. Fortunately, it ended and I am just thankful that it did.

por James N

16 de mar de 2021

Great course. It helps to print out the assignments, and have those in front of you as you watch the relevant videos. Week 3 assignments were difficult to get done. Helps to have access to a C-E Buddhist dictionary (the free one available in Pleco isn't very useful).

por Adelene Y

14 de set de 2020

I want to thank Nanjing University for offering this course. It has really given me practical advice to improve my translation skills and technique. I would like to take a more advance version of the translation course, if available.

por Arrigo L

16 de jan de 2019

I can't believe that courses like these come free of charge. This is seriously valuable for someone like me - a freelancer who doesn't currently have the opportunity to have academic education. Thank you so much!

por Jerry Y

2 de abr de 2018

I think this online course is very interesting to me. And it open a door for me to learn how to translate.

por Charlene T

3 de abr de 2021

As a beginner in translation, I have learnt a lot from the course. It is very practical and useful.

por Joao F

15 de mai de 2018

I enjoyed these lectures, plus the teacher, she is so intelligent with a lot of exp.

por Lina A

28 de out de 2020

This course is very helpful for student who learn translation subject.

por Menna Z

20 de ago de 2021

T​he course was very useful, effective and direct , thanks a lot.

por Nurana A

21 de fev de 2021

So beneficial course.

I learn some translation practices 👍👍👍👍

por PC T

19 de set de 2021

Well organized structure with clear explanation

por Isra Y

31 de out de 2020

This course so useful to me

por Samantha L

27 de ago de 2021

It's a great course

por Lorena P

4 de abr de 2018

Great Course!!

por Nurainee M

30 de out de 2020

good courses

por Solihah M

31 de out de 2020

Thank you

por Sultan Z

9 de jan de 2021

我觉得很好!

por Munib S

31 de out de 2020

Good

por Sananee C

31 de out de 2020

good

por Asma A

31 de out de 2020

good

por Napisoh S

31 de out de 2020

good

por danelle l

29 de mai de 2020

很好的課

por Samson Z

17 de ago de 2020

The courses are curated with planned introductions for each unit and sections, and Ms.Yao tries very hard to complement it with related examples and practices,.

However, it can be better to expand the scope and the diversity of practice modules by adding some political, socioeconomic or entertainment & cultural materials to them.