Chevron Left
Voltar para Translation in Practice

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Translation in Practice da instituição Universidade de Nanquim

4.4
estrelas
168 classificações

Sobre o curso

This course offers you basic but valuable techniques used by a good translator in the translation between English and Chinese. We’ll discuss what is translation, what is good translation, and learn about how to produce good translations. All the examples used in this course are taken from the course instructor's own translations of various genres and topics of writing. These examples are elaborated on to show you how to understand the idea, style and tone of the writer, the historical and cultural context of the writing, as well as the explicit and implied meanings of words, the grammatical structures of sentences, and the logic of sentences and paragraphs in order to achieve faithfulness, expressiveness, and elegance in the translation. After completing this course, you will know what makes a qualified professional translator and acquire the abilities and skills that such a translator needs...

Melhores avaliações

YW

6 de abr de 2020

Thanks for the efforts of Ms. Yuan, the instructor's and Coursera, the course is very good for improving my translation skills. It will be better to share some better translation in a specific thread.

PV

16 de jun de 2019

The lecturer was very knowledgeable and skilful. The course content was very well planned and managed. On the overall, I am very happy to have participated in this course. Thanks!

Filtrar por:

51 — 70 de 70 Avaliações para o Translation in Practice

por Doaa S

18 de dez de 2022

Perfect

por Sultan Z

26 de out de 2022

我觉得很好!

por Munib S

31 de out de 2020

Good

por Sananee C

31 de out de 2020

good

por Asma A

31 de out de 2020

good

por Napisoh S

31 de out de 2020

good

por danelle l

29 de mai de 2020

很好的課

por Shiu F N

14 de set de 2022

I have really enjoyed taking the course, Translation in Practice. The lectures of Professor Yuan Yao have been well organized and carefully written; the examples are generally interesting and inspiring; and our assignments are always challenging. The only drawback in the course is that we have never got a chance to read any model answers of the assignments. Some of the questions we have encountered will stay unknown after the completion of the course. In addition, the grading system needs revision as the existing one cannot cover all levels of work submitted, especially when there were one or more students who failed to provide any of their work and who deserved nothing, but not a 60 % grade mark.

por Delfinn T

6 de fev de 2023

the issue with this peer graded course is that it's quite annoying to wait for grading,and the forum comments in the discussion are usually posted by others thoughtlessly, which makes the discussion points pointless to read because they aren't moderated. The assignments are pretty intense, actually, so actually requires quite a hgh level of proficiency in English and Chinese. Otherwise the course theories and techniques are well designed and a lot of effort is put into it. if one is already proficient in both English and Chinese, then it is a very good course if one puts in the efort

por Samson Z

17 de ago de 2020

The courses are curated with planned introductions for each unit and sections, and Ms.Yao tries very hard to complement it with related examples and practices,.

However, it can be better to expand the scope and the diversity of practice modules by adding some political, socioeconomic or entertainment & cultural materials to them.

por Van H

2 de out de 2020

The course is great with many materials, especially the examples, they are easy to understand. I learned so much from the course. I also speak Chinese, so the course is appropriate for me, but I think with people who don't speak Chinese, it will be a little hard to understand all the examples.

por Duygu H

12 de out de 2021

Useful knowledge however, it would be better if chinese was mentioned in the title of the course. It is misleading. I would not have chosen this course if it was mentioned in the title for I do not speak chinese.

por İrem K

10 de set de 2022

Chinese English translation is not the only one I wish., but I wish they would teach me to translate by paraphrasing English words instead. other than that, it's a good course.

por Jane L

22 de abr de 2019

Thanks to those who reviewed my assignments.

Many thanks to the instructor who prepared this wonderful course for us.

por shingchung y

26 de mai de 2020

It would be great if the assignments are graded by professors.

por EMMANUEL M

1 de out de 2022

This course is exciting and very instructive .

por Helene H F

25 de mai de 2020

While I learnt from the video lectures good strategies to improve my translations, I feel that some of the assignments do not necessarily reinforce the ideas. And peer review without comments doesn't really help us improve our translations much.

por Mel

27 de jun de 2018

In-depth and explained in detail. Could be even better if materials in a more diverse format, e.g. readings, photos, tables, are provided.