Chevron Left
Voltar para Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds da instituição Universidade de AlbertaUniversidade de Alberta

4.9
estrelas
875 classificações
277 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds is a five-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origins of birds. This course examines the anatomy, diversity, and evolution of theropod dinosaurs in relation to the origin of birds. Students explore various hypotheses for the origin of flight. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-theropod-dinosaurs...

Melhores avaliações

MC

Mar 15, 2018

This course was great! It explains everything clearly, and it keeps you involved by asking questions about the material, and keeps you amused with some interesting anecdotes. Highly suggested by me!

JC

Aug 22, 2017

I loved this course. It was informative, easy to understand, and exciting. The lecturer's knowledge and passion shone through in the lectures, and the course notes were a great supplement too.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

por Larry L E

Aug 23, 2017

Dr. Persons is a superb teacher and the material is fascinating. I am a somewhat experienced birder, so this was particularly interesting. Prior completion of the Dino-101 Coursera course was helpful but probably not a requirement.

por Timi A

May 25, 2018

Great short course, perfect for an introduction to Theropod dinosaurs and interesting to see the link between them and birds. I recommend taking the other Palaeontology courses by this university on this site if you haven't already.

por Zuorui L

Jul 27, 2017

A really helpful course to get to know the world of birds, and it helps to get clear the classification and evolution path of theropods. The anatomy of birds is recommended as the fundamental knowledge to study before this subject.

por Steve T

Mar 16, 2016

I've been a bird watcher for a few decades, and this course was right up my alley. I don't remember all the names---actually few of them---of all the precursors to birds, but it was a fascinating trip through very ancient history.

por Anne D

Aug 16, 2017

It was a very interesting course for us and we enjoyed the way it was presented as well. Thank you for doing such a great job!

For the family tree in week 3 it would have been nice to have a hint or two to complete it correctly.

por Cynthia R

May 29, 2016

Excellent course although can be confusing and difficult to keep track of where you are in the evolutionary chain. Especially good followup to Dino 101. I will definitely take other courses. Excellent lecturers and lectures!

por Jorge W V B

Apr 25, 2020

This course is interesting and exciting for everyone that loves birds and animals, generally speaking, because the things that everybody learns here are important for understanding all the why and how of birds and evolution.

por Joaquín I C C

Jan 20, 2019

Demasiado bueno y muy informativo, y con la facilidad de que todos los vídeos están subtitulados ayuda mucho a la comprensión de la información. Se lo recomiendo a todos los amantes de los terópodos y dinosaurios en general.

por timothy j o

Jun 09, 2016

This was a great introductory class and I learned a lot. The instructor was great seemed personable, interesting and very into the subject matter. I learned I haven't been pronouncing anything correctly after all these years

por Melinda W

Aug 19, 2017

Paleontology courses from The University of Alberta have always been excellent. This one is no different.

My only quibble is that the video quizzes tend to ask questions about concepts before the information is presented.

por Janiel F

May 02, 2020

It is one of the best classes i' ve had the pleasure to take. The material is very interesting, the pictures are very well drawn, the quizzes are very well made, and the teachers seem to like what they're talking about.

por Wendy L

Jul 27, 2017

For a very complex subject, this was a thoroughly enjoyable and easily understandable course. I appreciate the easy to follow commentary plus the more detailed class notes for reference and followup. Excellent course!

por Elena M

Feb 29, 2016

The instructor was superb in his knowledge of the subject matter and in his ability to explain complex concepts so as to be understood and remembered. Fascinating course...I did not want it to end!!!! Thank you

por Llelani C

Jan 24, 2019

Lecture material very comprehensive, well explained, and engaging. The notes are detailed, yet easy to understand.

The diagrams assist in understanding, with information depicting the structures being discussed.

por Carolina D C

Nov 17, 2017

Excelent course, as a biology student I learned a lot of new information that is not provided at my univeristy, and at the same time it is comprehensable for every person, very well illustrated and explained!

por Matthew J C

Mar 15, 2018

This course was great! It explains everything clearly, and it keeps you involved by asking questions about the material, and keeps you amused with some interesting anecdotes. Highly suggested by me!

por Julia C

Aug 22, 2017

I loved this course. It was informative, easy to understand, and exciting. The lecturer's knowledge and passion shone through in the lectures, and the course notes were a great supplement too.

por Caleb A S

Sep 14, 2018

Highly educational, even for a veteran paleontologist like myself. I would indeed reccomend this course to anyone who has an interest in paleontology, evolutionary biology, or ornithology!

por Conor O

Apr 20, 2020

Really well presented, content accessible for beginners and those with prior knowledge, and amazing course notes that can be downloaded to look at any time. Would highly recommend.

por Kristen D

Apr 05, 2017

This was a fantastic course, full of information and evidence.

I loved the tutors. Very well presented and not complicated despite the subject matter.

Do take this course.

por Julio R V

May 07, 2017

An amazing course! It is very interesting, and can be easily understood. Also, the way in what the course is made, with such a great rythm, didactics, and great tutors.

por kate m

Sep 28, 2019

This class is so interesting because the instructor is knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the subject. It has been one of the classes I've most enjoyed on Coursera.

por Rodrigo F

Feb 07, 2017

assume class... You explore a lot of dinosaurs. Including many weird newly discovered ones. Plus you explore the variety what characterizes different types of birds.

por Chris V

Jul 27, 2017

Another brilliant course from the University of Alberta. Definitely recommend this one. The course material and presentation of the video content by Scott is awesome.

por Anya G

Apr 20, 2017

My two favourite courses on coursera so far: the Dino 101 and the Theropod Dinos and the Origin of Birds :) thank you for a very thorough course - I've learned a lot!