Chevron Left
Voltar para Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds da instituição Universidade de AlbertaUniversidade de Alberta

4.9
estrelas
1,342 classificações
419 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds is a five-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origins of birds. This course examines the anatomy, diversity, and evolution of theropod dinosaurs in relation to the origin of birds. Students explore various hypotheses for the origin of flight. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-theropod-dinosaurs...

Melhores avaliações

MC

14 de mar de 2018

This course was great! It explains everything clearly, and it keeps you involved by asking questions about the material, and keeps you amused with some interesting anecdotes. Highly suggested by me!

CH

6 de jan de 2021

I loved taking this course. I learned a lot (The first course I did was DINO 101 and I wanted to dig deeper). The teachers are really passionate and engaging. Cannot wait to do the others courses!

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 416 Avaliações para o Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

por Joel A C

26 de fev de 2016

This is truly a very interesting and informative course on the origin of birds! My only preference would be that the rich lecture notes would be more thoroughly covered in the video lectures... even though that would make those videos longer (oh, what a "shame" that would be -- yeah, right!!). I was impressed that the video lectures reflected some of the latest findings in fossil & genetic findings. Last but by no means least, the professional yet personal style of the video lectures was not only helpful in my learning but made it that much more enjoyable! Well done!!!

por Brian P

10 de abr de 2020

Fantastic. Both the primary and secondary professors were excellent, had superior presentation (speaking, gesturing, personality) skills and of course, were extremely well informed. The accompanying illustrations and samples of wings and bones also helped tremendously. Technically, the people who designed the online course know what they are doing, are experts. The ease to which we can take notes, go back easily and re-listen to something said, to leave and then later, pick up the lecture anywhere we want, is first rate. Cannot say enough good things. Superb.

por Yang Y

5 de mai de 2018

A very comprehensive introduction to theropod dinosaurs. It's rare to see good courses on this topic so gave it a 5 star. I have always been intrigued by dinosaurs and finally get a chance to learn more deeply about it. The instructor was passionate and explanation was clear and helpful. I just found that, without these lively explanation, some part of the materials with mere long texts explaining the animals' characteristics get too abstract for me. It sort of gave me headache remembering all the strange name for different groups. But, it was also the fun part:)

por Daniel A V

10 de abr de 2017

The course was simply amazing. I am a Brazilian student of veterinary medicine with an special interst in birds. I love to watch and learn about them, and, if possible, I will work with the medicine and rehab of that incredible group of living dinosaurs. The course was extremely didactic and clear on all past information, making my interest only increase. Unfortunately I can not afford to buy the certificate, which makes me sad in a way. However, I am very grateful to the entire mini-course team and I congratulate you on the incredible work you have done.

por Richard E

14 de dez de 2021

I gave this course a 5-star review because I believe that it fulfilled the intent (guessing!) of (a) being informative in at a high-level of the subject and (b) left enough bread crumbs for science students to take a deeper dive. My disappointments (not complaints) is that like meany Coursera science courses, (a) it is not sufficiently challenging and (b) there are no lab opportunities. That said, I highly recommend this course to anyone who is curious about the evolution of non-avian theropods to the various branches of avian dinosaurs, aka birds.

por Robert S

10 de jul de 2017

After completing Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology, I wanted more!!! Palaeontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds was such an interesting course. I started taking Coursera sponsored courses starting in 2013. The two Palaeontology courses I have recently taken are two of the best. The presentations are excellent. Please extend my sincere appreciation to the staff of the University of Albert's Palaeontology team for their hard work and dedication - just an excellent course. Your hard work is very much appreciated. Thank you.

por Isabel B

29 de ago de 2016

I had such a great time taking this course.

Is the second I take from the University of Alberta, I'm sure going to take them all.

The classes are comprehensible, with well made videos, and written material that's great to study later on, or before you watch them.

This written material frees a lot of time on the class, as I usually take notes when watching online courses, this let's me concentrate on watching the material without having to pause over, and over to write down what seems important.

Thank you!

por Diane M

3 de fev de 2022

Excellent course! Very informatiive. However, it felt like information overload at times. It would have been helpful to stretch out the number of lessons for better retention. I felt that the lectures were rushed compared to the amount of reading material. Most of the reading materials indicate that it would take 10 minutes to read. It took me far longer than that to be able to aborb and not rush the material. Overall I would recomment this course to anyone interested in Paleontology.

por Nathan L

21 de jul de 2019

This course presents fascinating current evidence for the evolutionary path that leads from non-avian theropods to modern birds in a way that's both fun and accessible. I learned a great deal from this course and feel that I could now explain the basics of this transition to others. I found the interactive phylogenetic tree particularly useful for working out the relationships between the many theropod groups. Highly recommended if you love dinosaurs - the extinct or the extant variety.

por Laura F

12 de abr de 2021

I had attended to the Dino101 classes to get a better understanding of the subjects of the course, but actually it turned out that the teacher has a so good didatics that I understood everything, and now I even have a passion for this subject. As a person who started this course knowing nothing about dinossaurs, I only can say: do it! It's great! Thank you a lot for spreading this knowledge for people around the world... University of Alberta seems like the best place to visit.

por Vladislav Z

16 de dez de 2020

This was an informative and well presented course that covered the basics of Theropod Dinosaurs and the evolutionary processes which led to the origins of birds. The lecture videos were engaging and easy to follow and the supplementary readings are structured well and a perfect accompaniment. Additionally, I would recommend taking this alongside other University of Alberta introductory paleontology courses for a more complete experience.

por Jeff Y

5 de ago de 2016

Even if you've never had a lifelong fascination with natural history like I did, this course should be fascinating and educational enough to draw you in. Scott Persons is an amazing teacher: clear, concise, knowledgeable and passionate enough that you will never feel lost, learn a great deal and yet never feel bored. Philip Currie is also very informative. Highly recommended for anyone with even a modicum of interest in dinosaurs.

por Victor H G S

8 de ago de 2020

Definitely one of the best courses I have taken, I loved it from the beginning, what brilliant explanations from Dr. Currie, and not to say from Gavin, very professional, very good in the way he explains each of the steps evolutionary of birds. A thousand congratulations to all the team that made this possible, because I am very happy with what I learned, this branch of science has always been my fascination, thank you very much.

por Cathy B

30 de mar de 2021

I enjoyed the depth of the material, vocabulary and definitions. The presenter was very informative and the realm of the material was vast but presented clearly with suitable diagrams and models. The course notes were detailed and supported by photos. I enjoyed both the Dinosaurs 101 and the Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds courses offered by the U of A. Very professional and knowledgeable presenters.

por Carol B

28 de jun de 2017

This course provided excellent information about the evolution of Theropods. Careful examination of adaptations, changes in environment over time, and predator-prey aspects of these dinosaurs all created a good foundation of knowledge to see how modern birds are the only surviving dinosaurs. This course included great diagrams, details, fossil evidence, and interactive features that made it enjoyable and engaging.

por FRANCESC P P

6 de fev de 2021

I will definitely follow the recommendation of Dr. Phil Currie and Angelica Torices and will take the DINO 101 course. As an amateur palentologist I have learned a lot and I will be able to contribute more to my team. The reading material and videos and references are excellent. The course explains everything clearly. Professor W. Scott Persons is a great presenter and didact.

Thank you very much!!

por Dakota M

24 de abr de 2022

The presenter is amazing, Scott took the show and helped me respark my dream of paleaontology and was kind enough to sit down and discuss things with me. Philip Currie the legend he is was an amazing guest in some of the episode and the entire lesson goes really well into how theropods evolved and lived. I recommend to anyone who has already taken one of the other UofA courses and wants more.

por Catherine T

8 de mai de 2017

This course helped to expand my knowledge of theropod dinosaur biology, their relationship with each other, and evolutionary progresses that lead them to the avian forms they bear today. This course provided a complex set, and range, of information that was carefully and efficiently tied together to help the overall understanding of the concepts and themes. I really enjoyed this course!

por Emil

9 de abr de 2020

This is a nice and a informative course. The main reason for which I chose it was because there was an option to read subtitles in a European language. I have to say, also that it is nice to hear another point of view (more scientific) from an university on the topic of dinosaurs, except from documentaries. This is the reason for which I have enrolled for other courses on this topic.

por Jonathan N

25 de mai de 2021

Extremely detailed for such a short course, stuffed full of fascinating information that offers an exciting new perspective on dinosaurs, modern birds, evolution (especially convergent evolution) and the recent history of life as a whole. Presenters are passionate and deeply knowledgeable, and the use of graphics and web-based tools was excellent. Very highly recommended.

por Arturo M

9 de jun de 2017

An extraordinary journey through from last theropods to modern birds. I congrat Scott Pearsons and Dr. Phillip Currie for their amazing course, funny and very interesting exposures complemented with very well documented resources to go back and to read once again the lessons of this course. Thanks to all University of Alberta's team that made this course possible.

por Sayan T

30 de ago de 2018

Really a great course , not only for paleontology enthusiasts but also for general zoology and biology enthusiasts. the assignments were way too easy in most cases. I hoped to get questions that made us more indulged with the excellent detailed content provided by the University. Had a real great time learning in such detail with such simple yet elaborate way.

por London C

30 de mar de 2022

T​his was a comparatively short course, but a fulfilling one nonetheless! Theropoda is a very intriguing group of dinosaurs, including Spinosaurus, Deinonychus, and the thousands of dinosaurs that still exist today. For newcomers there's a lot of lenghty terms to remember, but otherwise this course is accesible even to those unfamiliar to dinosaur biology.

por Marcos G M

22 de mai de 2019

Está genial este curso, sí que es verdad que algunas palabras son muy técnicas y yo algunas no las supe, pero en general se entiende y la traducción está perfecto. Me encanta este curso, está muy bien elaborado y para todo aquél "friki" de los dinosaurios, este curso es idóneo para aprender a conocerlos y estudiarlos. Muchas gracias. Un saludo.

por Ayla M

9 de ago de 2020

Wonderful learning experience, really helped me learn some new ideas about theropods and their relations to birds that I had otherwise been unable to find. Not only was it demonstrated in a way that's easy to understand but the course was also enjoyable to work through and often resulted in me re-watching videos for the pure enjoyment of them.