Chevron Left
Voltar para Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds da instituição Universidade de AlbertaUniversidade de Alberta

4.9
estrelas
1,363 classificações

Sobre o curso

Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds is a five-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origins of birds. This course examines the anatomy, diversity, and evolution of theropod dinosaurs in relation to the origin of birds. Students explore various hypotheses for the origin of flight. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-theropod-dinosaurs...

Melhores avaliações

MC

14 de mar de 2018

This course was great! It explains everything clearly, and it keeps you involved by asking questions about the material, and keeps you amused with some interesting anecdotes. Highly suggested by me!

CH

6 de jan de 2021

I loved taking this course. I learned a lot (The first course I did was DINO 101 and I wanted to dig deeper). The teachers are really passionate and engaging. Cannot wait to do the others courses!

Filtrar por:

401 — 424 de 424 Avaliações para o Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

por Lily A N

2 de ago de 2017

This was a very well put together and thought-out course. Overall, the information presented was well ordered and the learning aids (lecture notes, tree of life, & glossary) matched/expanded the video content. Tho only issues would be that: the quizzes were a little too easy and, when book-marked, the pdf file links provided would no longer work.

por DC

11 de jul de 2018

The cladistic and taxonomic terminology is overwhelming, interspersed with absurdly easy quizzes, but all in all a good course and all materials are available for free. As usual, Dr. Persons can get a bit out of control with the theatrical gestures and facial expressions but I would recommend this course.

por Dr. J S

25 de mar de 2016

Perfect course. I learned lot of stuff and really enjoyed it. I am only giving 4 stars because as a non-paying student I could not benefit from the graded assignments. As person who would never use the knowledge professionally (working in IT), I did not want to pay for the certificate.

por Stephanie V

17 de ago de 2017

Interesting and very informative. Well-presented and engaging videos. These were often quite long though (25 - 30 mins) and could perhaps have been broken down into two smaller chunks which would have made the information (of which there was lots) more digestible.

por David D

25 de jan de 2019

Great course. My first thoughts were learning about bird evolution might need seem all that interesting but because it all starts with the dinosaurs we are somewhat familiar with, this approach makes it highly stimulating.

Well spoken and well presented.

por Skylore M

2 de jul de 2017

The course is exceptional, but loses track near the end. In the beginning it has detailed taxonomical images of relevant bone-structure which is entirely missing by the final chapter.

por Joe H

11 de mar de 2021

Excellent course! Very thorough. Very knowledgable presenters. Loved how well the course was laid out. I with there could be more interactive activities like the dinosaur foot!

por Angel A M

11 de abr de 2017

Es un curso muy útil ya que nos enseña como fue el proceso de evolución de los dinosaurios para finalmente convertirse en voladores..

por Cindy L

17 de mar de 2020

Fantastic course on theropods, I just wish they went a bit more into detail with some of the anatomy

por kim p

14 de set de 2017

I really liked the subject of this course. I love to see more bird related courses

por Maria W O

30 de mar de 2016

Overall good course, although at times narrow understanding of right answers.

por Rebecca E

22 de fev de 2016

Very interesting course, kept me involved and was very interactive.

por Joy S

9 de mar de 2016

Tough to pass. Great scientific info. Instructor born to teach.

por Clotilde D

2 de fev de 2019

Great course, interesting topics and explanations, thanks !

por Erick J A O

20 de mar de 2016

I'd like to be able to take a free version of the quizzes.

por omkar s

27 de ago de 2019

Enjoyed knowing how these dinosaurs evolved over time

por Tom H

3 de mar de 2016

Really interesting, nicely presented.

por Javier

17 de jun de 2017

Podrían poner traducción al español

por Richard K

26 de mai de 2017

well done

por leslie l

9 de mar de 2016

These courses on Ancient Life Evolution are best when they discuss how species developed, how they adapted and how they were discovered. The laundry listing of species in some of the lectures was a snooze fest however. It also repeated what was in other lectures for the week. I would have preferred more information on the ecosystem in which the critters dwelled. The Ancient Marine Reptile class did a much better job of presenting this info although it did some laundry listing.

por jill a l

10 de mar de 2016

The course has incredible content, but you are required to read quite a bit of information via lengthy pdfs prior to the videos. This is not my learning style so I found it challenging.

As a Naturalist and bird lover, I was eager to take the course and glad that I did.

por steve p

22 de dez de 2018

Very general content material. I enjoyed Dr. Currie, but found the presenter to be smug and pedantic

por Tracy A

21 de nov de 2019

Bit too easy, bit too short, but interesting and nice videos and course notes

por Kent R C

5 de mar de 2016

Interesting subject, but not much content and assessments are way too short. More variety in assignments would be nice too.