Chevron Left
Voltar para Holocausto: A Destruição dos Judeus Europeus

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Holocausto: A Destruição dos Judeus Europeus da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Santa Cruz

4.6
131 classificações
40 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The Holocaust: The Destruction of European Jewry is an adaptation of an on-campus course that has been co-taught by Murray Baumgarten, Distinguished Professor of English and Comparative Literature (Literature Department), and Peter Kenez, Professor Emeritus (History Department), for over 20 years at UC Santa Cruz. In this course, you will explore the Holocaust from the overlapping perspectives of literature and history—through memoirs, historical documents, poetry, documentary footage, filmic representations, and novels. You will expand your knowledge of the literature of the Holocaust, Eastern and Western European Jewish communities, the origins and development of antisemitism, the establishment of labor and extermination camps, resistance movements, and the Holocaust as a problem for world history. There is more than one way to take this course: You can complete all of the activities (and earn a Verified Certificate) or only the activities that are most interesting to you. Whatever you choose to do, we encourage you to find a havruta (a study partner) in your community or in the Coursera community so that you can experience the course in a more interactive and meaningful way....

Melhores avaliações

RK

Nov 09, 2015

I want to say how much I especially enjoyed Dr Kenez and his very clear and concise lectures on the historical aspects of the subject matter. Thank you very much. Richard Kilgore

BB

Nov 06, 2015

The presentations raise vital questions , dis-aggregates historical experience and has generated interest in me to study the issues further . Many thanks to the Professors.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Holocausto: A Destruição dos Judeus Europeus

por Mary A Z

Jan 12, 2019

Overall I enjoyed this course very much. Excellent choice of readings. The irony in this course in that Peter who has a slower paced presentation is very understandable compared to Murray whose presentation is much more dynamic but extremely repetitive. Everything Peter said was clear and logical. I had difficulty with what Murray was trying to say when he interpreted the literature. For example, he talked about how eroticism was related to violence but the only example he gave was a boy trying to impress a girl by fighting. He did not relate how eroticism and violence co-existed with the Nazis. He talked how people react when they are victims of violence but only related it to the boy pulling off the wings of a fly. He did not discuss how the Jewish people related to the violence. Did they take their suffering out on fellow Jews? I found it difficult to understand what he was trying to say. He talked in circles on the first "This Way to the Gas" lecture. He could have cut that lecture to one sentence: "Borowoski was not writing about himself when he wrote in the first person." He never explains why people would get pleasure from reading about the Holocaust. I listened carefully to everyone of his sentences and thought them basically repeating the same idea over and over in a different way. He talks in circles. The best part was when he read from the book. He talked in circles about shoes. Just say shoes were necessary for survival. It's like he's talking off the top of his head without doing any prep work.

por Ioannis Z

Feb 24, 2018

very good professors and very intresting course!

por David H

Nov 29, 2017

I found this course very informative and followed a logical pattern. I knew a lot of the history of the Holocaust but never really thought of it the way the Professors present it and get us to explore the whys and hows. All the true facts are there and can't be denied even though there are those who live with the denial. To explore the Holocaust through witnesses, survivors, etc puts a whole new perspective on things. To understand Nazi Ideology and all it's lunacy was a true eye opener as I've dealt with more of the battles and always thought of the Holocaust as it happened and that was that. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and hope to find more or similar ones in the near future.

Just as a note, recently found out my ancestry probably goes back to the Ukraine, Jewish and family name of Lipsitz as in the lesson. Raised Roman Catholic but the family knew there were secrets which our father for some reason never divulged before his death in 1990, nor did our mother say anything even up to her demise in 2014. Interesting and now my personal investigation continues for the truth and the whys and hows also.

Thanks for an enjoyable time and take care.

por Angela T

Jul 25, 2017

A really interesting course which was packed with information. The focus on the Eastern European Jewry was particularly useful as it is not usually foregrounded on other courses. The session with Dora Sorrell was really fascinating and she is a wonderful speaker.

por Jasskirat S

Jul 23, 2017

No guidance terrible course, not user-friendly wouldn't recommend this to anyone such a waste of time and money

por Lisa L R

Jul 20, 2017

Absolutely adored this class and the instructors!! So much valuable information and first-hand experience, delightfully delivered in these special lectures.

por Lillian L

Jul 13, 2017

This course really helped me to understand more about the Holocaust. I found the professors really engaging and really seemed to know what they were talking about. The peer review assignments were very good. Thank you so much, Coursera!

por Julia B

Mar 05, 2017

Took this course for job purposes. It is great for everyone, although I believe that people with some background in comparative literature will benefit from it the most,

por Clive C W

Oct 07, 2016

Sensitive and erudite double-handed presentation by the two profs. Informative - it is of course meant to be educational.

From separate perspectives of literature and history they maintain an engaging tension that avoids personalisation whilst being clear that personal it really is.

I really could do with them supervising me as Phd student (an elderly on). I would sit happily at their feet.

por Celia M

Aug 11, 2016

Fascinating insights!

por Kim N

Jun 20, 2016

Dark and disturbing though the course material is, this course is an absolute must for all who are interested in the Shoah and the depths of mans' inhumanity.

por Carolyn J M

Jun 15, 2016

I learned a lot in this class.

por Maria I R E

May 27, 2016

second time I take this course!!!!!!

por Dasa M

May 22, 2016

Good historical overview. I especially liked the 'case studies' of the various European countries during the 40s. The literature part included some very good reading and interesting movies. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in the topic o

por Elisa K R

Mar 21, 2016

I love the classes!

por nuria

Mar 13, 2016

wonderful¡¡¡

por Marty C

Mar 10, 2016

Excelente

por Thaily a

Mar 04, 2016

Muito longo o curso e muitas tarefas, exige muito tempo.

por Jorge E M A

Feb 28, 2016

One of the greatest experiences of my life in knowledge, is a course of self-improvement, faith, clinching my admiration for the Jews. If the intention of the perpetrators of the Holocaust is to deny the Shoah with terrifying acts that can not be talked, this course detracts the intention very high.

por William C

Feb 13, 2016

This course is extraordinary. The 2 professors who present the material are both experts in their respective areas: Holocaust history and Comparative Literature. They present the material not only from a profound academic understanding, they are both children of the Holocaust. And so they convey the material in a deeply personal and human way as well. Using the Holocaust as a momentous backdrop, the professors challenge the students to examine important philosophical questions throughout the course. The books and movies discussed are absolutely wonderful. Finally, the relationship between Murray and Peter, that of deep trust and respect, contrast so powerfully with the inhumanity of the topic they present. This is one of the best courses that I have ever taken in my life, including my time during college.

por Colleen P

Jan 25, 2016

It was very interesting learning about the holocaust from two different perspectives. I also thought the selection of books, movies and other learning devices were very important in learning about the holocaust.

por SUSAN S H

Dec 21, 2015

Wow

por Ronnie P

Dec 06, 2015

An absolute must for every social human being.

por Sarah M

Nov 26, 2015

This was very interesting, I had to keep listening, it made it so personal. (I had relatives who perished in Minsk) Excellent course and fascinating tutors.

por Derik B

Nov 26, 2015

This is a very great course that the global community must have access too and study the

political and historic reasons that led to the horrors of the Holocaust.

Please keep this course available for study permanently on Coursera.

Thank you.