Chevron Left
Voltar para The Holocaust: The Destruction of European Jewry

The Holocaust: The Destruction of European Jewry, University of California, Santa Cruz

4.6
127 classificações
39 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

The Holocaust: The Destruction of European Jewry is an adaptation of an on-campus course that has been co-taught by Murray Baumgarten, Distinguished Professor of English and Comparative Literature (Literature Department), and Peter Kenez, Professor Emeritus (History Department), for over 20 years at UC Santa Cruz. In this course, you will explore the Holocaust from the overlapping perspectives of literature and history—through memoirs, historical documents, poetry, documentary footage, filmic representations, and novels. You will expand your knowledge of the literature of the Holocaust, Eastern and Western European Jewish communities, the origins and development of antisemitism, the establishment of labor and extermination camps, resistance movements, and the Holocaust as a problem for world history. There is more than one way to take this course: You can complete all of the activities (and earn a Verified Certificate) or only the activities that are most interesting to you. Whatever you choose to do, we encourage you to find a havruta (a study partner) in your community or in the Coursera community so that you can experience the course in a more interactive and meaningful way....

Melhores avaliações

por RK

Nov 09, 2015

I want to say how much I especially enjoyed Dr Kenez and his very clear and concise lectures on the historical aspects of the subject matter. Thank you very much. Richard Kilgore

por BB

Nov 06, 2015

The presentations raise vital questions , dis-aggregates historical experience and has generated interest in me to study the issues further . Many thanks to the Professors.

Filtrar por:

39 avaliações

por Ioannis Zoubouloglou

Feb 24, 2018

very good professors and very intresting course!

por David Hearst

Nov 29, 2017

I found this course very informative and followed a logical pattern. I knew a lot of the history of the Holocaust but never really thought of it the way the Professors present it and get us to explore the whys and hows. All the true facts are there and can't be denied even though there are those who live with the denial. To explore the Holocaust through witnesses, survivors, etc puts a whole new perspective on things. To understand Nazi Ideology and all it's lunacy was a true eye opener as I've dealt with more of the battles and always thought of the Holocaust as it happened and that was that. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and hope to find more or similar ones in the near future.

Just as a note, recently found out my ancestry probably goes back to the Ukraine, Jewish and family name of Lipsitz as in the lesson. Raised Roman Catholic but the family knew there were secrets which our father for some reason never divulged before his death in 1990, nor did our mother say anything even up to her demise in 2014. Interesting and now my personal investigation continues for the truth and the whys and hows also.

Thanks for an enjoyable time and take care.

por Angela Thurstance

Jul 25, 2017

A really interesting course which was packed with information. The focus on the Eastern European Jewry was particularly useful as it is not usually foregrounded on other courses. The session with Dora Sorrell was really fascinating and she is a wonderful speaker.

por Jasskirat Saini

Jul 23, 2017

No guidance terrible course, not user-friendly wouldn't recommend this to anyone such a waste of time and money

por Lisa L. Rolle

Jul 20, 2017

Absolutely adored this class and the instructors!! So much valuable information and first-hand experience, delightfully delivered in these special lectures.

por Lillian Lindorff

Jul 13, 2017

This course really helped me to understand more about the Holocaust. I found the professors really engaging and really seemed to know what they were talking about. The peer review assignments were very good. Thank you so much, Coursera!

por Yulia Savitskaya

Mar 05, 2017

Took this course for job purposes. It is great for everyone, although I believe that people with some background in comparative literature will benefit from it the most,

por Clive C. Walsh

Oct 07, 2016

Sensitive and erudite double-handed presentation by the two profs. Informative - it is of course meant to be educational.

From separate perspectives of literature and history they maintain an engaging tension that avoids personalisation whilst being clear that personal it really is.

I really could do with them supervising me as Phd student (an elderly on). I would sit happily at their feet.

por Celia Mulqueen

Aug 11, 2016

Fascinating insights!

por Kim Newrick

Jun 20, 2016

Dark and disturbing though the course material is, this course is an absolute must for all who are interested in the Shoah and the depths of mans' inhumanity.