Chevron Left
Voltar para The Cycle: Management of Successful Arts and Cultural Organizations

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Cycle: Management of Successful Arts and Cultural Organizations da instituição Universidade de Maryland, College Park

4.8
216 classificações
61 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What makes a successful arts and cultural organization? Led by DeVos Institute Chairman Michael M. Kaiser and President Brett Egan, this course will introduce you to a management theory called the Cycle which supports thriving arts and cultural organizations. Learning from our work with managers from over 80 countries around the world, the DeVos Institute developed the Cycle as a simple, but powerful tool to assist managers in their effort to respond to an increasingly complex environment and propel their institutions to excellence. The Cycle explains how great art and strong marketing can create a family of supporters, who in turn help the organization produce the revenue required to support even more great art the next year. The Institute has seen the Cycle work in performing and presenting organizations, as well as museums, arts schools, and other nonprofit endeavors like service organizations, historical societies, public libraries, university programs, advocacy organizations, botanical gardens, and zoos. By taking this course, you will learn: • the importance of bold, exciting, and mission-driven programming in an organization; • how long-term artistic planning can help an organization produce this work; • how an organization can aggressively market that programming and the institution behind it to develop a family of supporters - including ticket buyers, board members, donors, trustees and volunteers; • how an organization can cultivate and steward this family to build a healthy base of earned and contributed income; and • how an organization can reinvest that income into increasingly ambitious programming year after year. All course material is available upon enrollment for self-paced learners. New scheduled sessions begin each month. For more information about the DeVos Institute's work, visit www.DeVosInstitute.umd.edu....

Melhores avaliações

RV

May 20, 2018

The Cycle was an eye-opener in many ways. I always thought Arts Management required more artistic intuition than management knowledge, but this framework gave me a whole new perspective.

SS

Sep 02, 2018

This course is really useful for people related to Art and Culture Management fields, it provides with useful techniques and ideas, particularly regarding marketing and fundraising.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o The Cycle: Management of Successful Arts and Cultural Organizations

por Diwas A

Jun 09, 2019

I am from a poor family, however I am a student l need to work to run family. so, to get the job i need a online certificate so please provide me a certicitate of Management of Successful Arts and Cultural Organizations .

por Cecilia E

May 26, 2019

Excellent oportunity to get deeper into how to do it, professionally and sustainably.

Clear and practical.

Thanks!

por Chico A E H

May 12, 2019

This course caters my curiosity in running a non-profit organisation for music. I learned a lot from this course. The facilitator has credible experiences in arts and cultural organisation. He does not rely the materials from theoretical perspective, but shares his experiences in the real-life activities.

por Megan C S

Apr 09, 2019

This course was insightful, inspiring and enlightening. I look forward to applying all of the tools that I have now obtained in The Cycle to enhance my practices in Arts Management. I highly recommend this course to anyone working in the arts industry!

por Tiago R d T

Feb 19, 2019

Great insights. It could go deeper and also could have fewer testimonials.

por Danielle F G

Feb 19, 2019

I really enjoyed the setup of this course. From the short videos to the the reading and assignments. Everything felt as though it was setup with the success of the student in mind.

por Sara M

Feb 18, 2019

I recommend it to anyone interested in building a career in cultural non-profit organization!

por MD. R A

Feb 04, 2019

5*

por Margaret S

Jan 13, 2019

The most important class you can take if working for a not-for-profit institution

por Amandah H

Dec 02, 2018

I had already read The Cycle but this class was a good refresher of the book and I like the practical activities.

por Natalie B

Oct 12, 2018

This is a truly practical and insightful course.

por Hani B

Sep 23, 2018

This is a wonderful course that really gives the basics of successful arts management. I attended another course by Michael Kaiser years ago and this is a great refresher! Having all of Michael's books is also very helpful and I would suggest everyone get all 4 for reference. Here's a PDF from the Hong Kong course: https://www.hkaaa.org.hk/uploads/hkaaa/201208/20120821_120217_34uRC0PAzP_f.pdf (it's in english)

por Cera S

Sep 03, 2018

Excellent course! I've been looking for a marketing course with a specific nonprofit focus without much luck. Though this course looks at other aspects of managing an arts nonprofit, it does touch heavily on the marketing aspect, and was incredibly useful.

por Sabeen S

Sep 02, 2018

This course is really useful for people related to Art and Culture Management fields, it provides with useful techniques and ideas, particularly regarding marketing and fundraising.

por Abdul H

Aug 13, 2018

Great

por Hind E O

Aug 12, 2018

Very helpful course, rich with examples and case studies. All what we need as Cultural Managers!

por Roberto E B G

Jun 25, 2018

This course was eye opening. I recommend to get (and read) the book because there's precious content in there.Even if in Sicily is really difficult to implement most of the concepts illustrated throughout the course I found myself, as I offer marketing services for some art organizations, realizing many of the problems described in the course. So many "a ha!" moments.The hardest part is to get the organization well... organized. Sometimes I just avoid to get too involved because frequently they want to get me on the board and risk to lost them as clients... so embarrassing.Together to my marketing business I also run a small art studio/workshop and having this precious knowledge on my toolbox is at times, illuminating.Thanks a lot for such a great course.

por Rafael V

May 20, 2018

The Cycle was an eye-opener in many ways. I always thought Arts Management required more artistic intuition than management knowledge, but this framework gave me a whole new perspective.

por Meredeth S

Apr 16, 2018

Excellent. We are a small but mighty museum that needs long range planning. We are going to use the Cycle as the foundation. Thank you, thank you.

por Fusi O

Apr 12, 2018

Very solid course... changed my approach with planning and delivering an arts programme

por Sharon O

Mar 31, 2018

Absolutely insightful and relevant! Michael has such great delivery and really breaks down the elements of The Cycle fantastically. As someone who doesn't write reviews at all, I have to say that this course is definitely worth taking if you're into the arts and wish to add, or reinforce, structure to your venture.

por Marco F

Mar 31, 2018

It was a useful course to understand the filed of the arts with another perspective.

por Priscilla B

Feb 26, 2018

This is a fabulous course, interesting to listen to, engaging, informative.

I can't wait to take the next one!

por Scott W

Feb 18, 2018

Thank you to Michael Kaiser, Brett Egan and the DeVos Institute of Arts Management for creating such an engaging, informative and enriching course. It has been immensely enjoyable to complete and a very fulfilling experience. I strongly encourage anyone considering this course to enrol immediately.

por Maeghan G

Feb 16, 2018

Excellent , organized, and engaging!