Chevron Left
Voltar para The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form da instituição Universidade de Rochester

4.8
estrelas
411 classificações
166 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The blues is an American art form and the most important musical form in jazz. Although there are other formal paradigms of the blues, such as 8-bar or 16-bar, this course focuses on different incarnations of the 12-bar blues. There are considerable differences between Early Jazz blues, Swing blues, Bebop blues, Modal blues, and Post Bop blues. Each type has its unique harmonic syntax, melodic vocabulary and, associated with them, improvisational techniques. While other aspects of jazz performance practice have been constantly changing from one stylistic convention to another, the blues has never lost its identity and expressive power, and continues to exert a powerful influence on the harmonic and melodic syntax of jazz. This seven-week course explores important aspects of the blues, blues improvisation, basic keyboard textures, jazz harmonic and melodic syntax. Topics include: (1) Blues Progressions; (2) Blues and Other Scales; (3) Improvisational Tools, and others. This course will also cover valuable theoretical concepts enabling the student to master the art of jazz improvisation. Each topic will be introduced from a practical perspective with the clearly stated goal: to improve one’s improvisational skills. Jazz improvisation is rooted in spontaneity, creativity, self-expression and, at the same time, self-control and order. A unique pedagogical approach based on a one-to-one musical interaction conducted with different instrumentalists will help to reinforce many of the concepts introduced in this course and realize its stated objectives....

Melhores avaliações

AN

May 10, 2020

This course is really interesting. I would like to recommend this course to those who genuinely loves music. Thanks to the University of Rochester for launching this wonderful masterpiece.

DZ

Mar 04, 2017

This is very practical and useful course. I really learned something from it! I love this courser and I strongly recommend this course to everyone who is fascinated in Blues.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o The Blues: Understanding and Performing an American Art Form

por Luis C

Jan 22, 2019

Un curso fascinante, me hubiera encantado que tuviese subtitulos en español, asi lo hubiese aprovechado al máximo

por Harry K

Jun 09, 2016

Excellent instructor and course on fundamentals of the blues and jazz. Please continue more similar courses!

por Michał R

Mar 20, 2020

For folks like me this course could be a bit difficult sometimes, but it's also a lot of fun!!!! Thank you!

por Thomas M

Feb 22, 2017

Great course and great instructor!! I will be delving into this material for a long, long time!! Thank You!

por Paul H

May 24, 2020

Excellent review of blues and associated chords, scales and improvisation tips and approaches to practice!

por Emilio

Apr 28, 2020

I took this course a couple years ago - great material, very well structured, valuable information. Thanks

por Huang ( H

Oct 17, 2016

5 star recommended! all courses offered by Rochester especially music course were in very high quality!

por Nicolàs V R

Apr 13, 2020

Excellent introduce course. Great teacher and excellent band for the music examples. Thanks a lot !!

por Carlos F

Sep 26, 2016

EXCELLENT COURSE THE BEST BLUES COURSE. I RECOMMEND THIS COURSE FOR STUDENTS ADVANCED AND BEGINNERS.

por Krisztina C

May 29, 2020

Great, thank you! Thorough, informative, and ispirational course, it was very beneficial to me.

por Alan t

Aug 10, 2016

Excellent class. Interesting, informative and with practical application. Highly recommended.

por Raul C

Jul 16, 2016

Excellent course. It goes deep into the core of the blues while showing tools for improvisation

por Johan R O

Jan 29, 2018

The course is excellent, the contents are pertinent and well developed along the 7 weeks

por Curt M

May 30, 2020

This course is a great way to learn, review, or rev up your improvisational techniques.

por Giwrgos S

Apr 08, 2020

excellent course!helps a lot in improvisation and makes you think more musical!

por Andrie S Y

Apr 27, 2020

It is great class, the best class in jazz improvisation. I really learn a lot.

por Cristina M S

Nov 27, 2016

It's a very useful course. Really worth it!!!

My congratulations to Professor.

por Alexandros R

Jun 08, 2016

Excellent presentation of the theory and very nice examples and analysis.

por Tomas P A

Feb 11, 2018

Excellent course!!! Great teacher. A must for blues and jazz students

por fabian r

Jul 27, 2016

excellent! great course for undertanding the blues and its evolution!

por sergio v

Oct 10, 2016

Had fun taking this class and learned some new things. thank you.

por Robert V S

Nov 23, 2016

Fantastic material that will give me years of stuff to work on!

por Samanta G P

Oct 17, 2016

Thank you so much for this opportunity! Awesome experience.

por Germán R

Oct 05, 2016

Me encantó este curso, es formidable y con bases sólidas.