Chevron Left
Voltar para O Terrorismo e o Contraterrorismo: A Relação entre a Teoria e a Prática

Comentários e feedback de alunos de O Terrorismo e o Contraterrorismo: A Relação entre a Teoria e a Prática da instituição Universidade de Leiden

4.8
estrelas
2,900 classificações
699 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Delve into the research behind terrorism as you unpack the assumptions and impacts of both terrorism and counterterrorism. Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private businesses, and ordinary citizens. In many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security, and stability – but what does this mean exactly? On this six-week course from Leiden University, you’ll explore the essence of terrorism and discover why it is so difficult to define. Unpacking its history and the theory of the waves of terrorism, you’ll analyse both the theoretical approaches and practical applications of terrorism and counterterrorism in the real world. There are many assumptions that cloud the subjects of terrorism and counterterrorism. These myths are often created and intensified by individual bias, the government, and the media. On this course, you’ll discover different assumptions about terrorist identities and motivations, as well as the efficiencies of various counterterrorism efforts. You’ll then compare this with academic research to investigate the truth behind these assumptions. In your exploration of the impact of terrorism, you’ll delve into the culture of fear created by terrorism, as well as the success of counterterrorism policies to limit and manage its impact on society. In the final stage of this course, you’ll reflect on trends and developments in terrorism and counterterrorism. You’ll assess current academic research as well as what could be studied in the future to help....

Melhores avaliações

PR

28 de ago de 2021

Not all the reading materials are opening. The course content is old . There is a need for new and latest issues to be included in the course. There is also a need for advance level of another course.

WM

24 de fev de 2021

Among the most informative courses i have taken, the material and videos provided are so detailed and specific to this field. I would recommend it to anyone with an interest matters terrorism.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 682 Avaliações para o O Terrorismo e o Contraterrorismo: A Relação entre a Teoria e a Prática

por Andrew J P

2 de set de 2015

Excellent tutor - leading speakers from the field with a good slant on all angles that we are covering out there today. I really enjoyed the course despite not being from this background though have an interest… well worth looking at if you are wanting to gain a greater understanding in the field.

por Nehad E G

1 de set de 2017

Great course and professor. I have gained a lot of information in a very short time. The course has opened my eyes to new research topics that I am very much interested in. Thank you so much Professor Edwin Bakker for presenting the subject in a very easy way to comprehend. I am so grateful.

por Leonie V

19 de abr de 2020

As a practitioner in the field, I was interested in reviewing some of the core concepts and hoped to stumble upon relevant material that I had not read. Although it can be difficult to keep someone familiar with the material engaged with the course, this course did a great job. Loved it.

por Anthony J G

12 de dez de 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed and great academic lectures - More information requested about taking up further higher studies in Security, Risk and Counter-terrorism at Leiden University Please was enthused by these short courses with content and knowledge growth. anthony.garrett24@yahoo.co.uk

por maria m

10 de set de 2016

Hi!

I have done this course because I really wanted to get into the topic of terrorism and the history of terrorism. This course has given me great insight and Prof Bakker is excellent at presenting the material and explaining the complex concepts.

Thank you for this great course!

por Kyle L

14 de jan de 2017

With a Security and Law Enforcement background, I found this course to be very rewarding. Theories, ideas and trends discussed within the course highlight the issues regarding Terrorism, Counter terrorism and provide further understanding for me in my professional capacities.

por Ron B

27 de out de 2021

This course requires a commitment of many hours each week. There is a lot of reading to be done if you are going to be able to cover all the information that is in this course. The videos are very well done and the material is kept up to date with the added week.

por Gonzalo P

18 de jun de 2020

I think it is quite interesting as an introduction to the phenomenon. the main problema is tha terrorism itself is a living creature and studies on terrorism need to be constantly updated. So there is a need to regularly update de videos and the reading material.

por Olga M M G

16 de abr de 2020

Women have lived in the midst of armed conflict in different parts of the world, but each context we have our own truth. This course allows me as leader of women find a clear path to our own resilience.

thanks prof. dr. Edwin Bakker, thanks University of Leiden.

por Marc G

6 de jun de 2017

Super! Incredibly informative and easy to follow. It gives a great foundation to students with no prior knowledge in the subject, while offering immense opportunities to those with some level of proficiency to continue feeding what they know. 100% recommended!

por Sohail N K

10 de mar de 2017

An excellent endeavour to highlight how we understand and counter terrorism today. It reinforces Jenkin's perspective that "Unless we think like a terrorist we are liable to miss the point". My congratulation to Dr Bakker , his team,and the university. BRAVO..

por rupert s

11 de out de 2016

A really good introduction to the course, well explained, good videos, I only wish I could have read the extra materials too. Only one complaint (very minor) - I live in Colombia and found a couple of references to Columbia in the materials. But overall super.

por Diego G G

7 de set de 2015

I have learned a lot since the very beginning of this course, i found very accurate the content in each module, and i should mention that profesor Bakker is very objective at explaining, and when it comes to sharing his opinions he gives reasonable arguments.

por Jose M C

2 de jun de 2017

It is an excellent course in acquiring theoretical and practical knowledge of the subject, I am very pleased to participate, demonstrating my taste in talking about these subjects, I would like to continue learning about the material. Thank you very much

por JG V H

8 de mai de 2021

Excellent Course! Prof Bakker's easy manner in explaining concepts is very helpful. The academic material is very helpfull and insightful! Constant updating of the course would ensure that it will stay constantly relevant. Thank you for a great course!

por Hellen O

25 de jan de 2016

Very well covered intro into the study of terrorism and counterterrorism. Gives the learner new perspectives and a challenge to research further into the subject. This is a course that should be taken by everyone in a security or governance related field

por BILU K

27 de set de 2016

Really impressed and motivated to learn different types of Terrorist Names and organization. It gives me an idea to start think critically and develop mechanism to stop Terrorist in the country. I really appreciate it. Thanks

Bilu Kasanda

Papua New Guinea

por Mike S

28 de abr de 2016

Very compelling arguments and facts. I was looking for something to do and always enjoy broadening knowledge.

The content was heavy enough to be meaningful, but light enough to be enjoyable. I enjoyed the discussion forums. I will be continuing the series.

por Karen B

4 de set de 2017

I have a degree and mastery, and I have taken many courses, but this one stands out for the quality of the speakers, the information and the pedagogy, I really congratulate you, especially to Professor Edwin Bakker, many congratulations and admiration.

por Eriberto T

7 de ago de 2017

Very relevant course. When I took it, I just appreciated its theoretical value. Now that we have our nearby city attacked by terrorists and held on for more than two months, the course has become one of the most relevant courses in our society today.

por Ivan J

25 de out de 2017

A very good course diving into the foundations of analysing terrorism and counter-terrorism. It is scholar oriented but considers as well data collected from global terrorism databases. It was pivotal to train and exercise further academic thinking.

por Sudhanshu J

10 de mai de 2020

I am student of CAREER POINT UNIVERSITY and completed this course and learn many things like history,how terrorism works in world and learn lot of things but I not able to get course certificate after completion of course,so please can you help me

por kaiser m i

29 de ago de 2015

This is one of the best course that showcase our most vital in a way most contemporary matters. Hopefully, the people who will take part in this course will have improved their level of humanity and their partial eyes through a inevitable process.

por Cao Y

26 de ago de 2015

Very helpful for a basic understanding of terrorism and counterterrorism, and a knowledge with the current reseach in this field. A very pleasent experience studying with Prof. Bakker, and looking forward to the next course with Leiden University.

por Martin C

8 de set de 2020

Course tutor is very engaging and retained my interest throughout the course. Subject matter is clearly taught at a level both those with a limited insight in to the subject and those already in the area can understand. Highly recommended course.