Chevron Left
Voltar para O Terrorismo e o Contraterrorismo: A Relação entre a Teoria e a Prática

Comentários e feedback de alunos de O Terrorismo e o Contraterrorismo: A Relação entre a Teoria e a Prática da instituição Universidade de Leiden

4.8
estrelas
2,987 classificações

Sobre o curso

Delve into the research behind terrorism as you unpack the assumptions and impacts of both terrorism and counterterrorism. Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private businesses, and ordinary citizens. In many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security, and stability – but what does this mean exactly? On this six-week course from Leiden University, you’ll explore the essence of terrorism and discover why it is so difficult to define. Unpacking its history and the theory of the waves of terrorism, you’ll analyse both the theoretical approaches and practical applications of terrorism and counterterrorism in the real world. There are many assumptions that cloud the subjects of terrorism and counterterrorism. These myths are often created and intensified by individual bias, the government, and the media. On this course, you’ll discover different assumptions about terrorist identities and motivations, as well as the efficiencies of various counterterrorism efforts. You’ll then compare this with academic research to investigate the truth behind these assumptions. In your exploration of the impact of terrorism, you’ll delve into the culture of fear created by terrorism, as well as the success of counterterrorism policies to limit and manage its impact on society. In the final stage of this course, you’ll reflect on trends and developments in terrorism and counterterrorism. You’ll assess current academic research as well as what could be studied in the future to help....

Melhores avaliações

PR

28 de ago de 2021

Not all the reading materials are opening. The course content is old . There is a need for new and latest issues to be included in the course. There is also a need for advance level of another course.

WM

24 de fev de 2021

Among the most informative courses i have taken, the material and videos provided are so detailed and specific to this field. I would recommend it to anyone with an interest matters terrorism.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 711 Avaliações para o O Terrorismo e o Contraterrorismo: A Relação entre a Teoria e a Prática

por kaiser m i

29 de ago de 2015

This is one of the best course that showcase our most vital in a way most contemporary matters. Hopefully, the people who will take part in this course will have improved their level of humanity and their partial eyes through a inevitable process.

por Cao Y

26 de ago de 2015

Very helpful for a basic understanding of terrorism and counterterrorism, and a knowledge with the current reseach in this field. A very pleasent experience studying with Prof. Bakker, and looking forward to the next course with Leiden University.

por Martin C

8 de set de 2020

Course tutor is very engaging and retained my interest throughout the course. Subject matter is clearly taught at a level both those with a limited insight in to the subject and those already in the area can understand. Highly recommended course.

por Zeta

20 de out de 2020

Very informative and highly enjoyable. The professor is knowledgeable and the length is just about right. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in debunking myths about terrorism and enhancing his/her knowledge around this matter.

por Zdenek V

16 de abr de 2017

A very good insight in the field of terrorism, its deffinition, impact, counter measures, history and future, from the academical point of view. The course is very well organized and I would recommend it to anyone with interest in the field.

por VAL B

31 de out de 2020

I enjoyed learning as much as reading the articles and listening to the video lessons. Nobody should miss this course if he/she intends to understand the basics and intermediate complexities of terrorism and counterterrorism. Great course!

por sanatan k

12 de fev de 2019

Excellent course , it provides much required insight in to Terrorism and Counter Terrorism. I have gained enormously and have furthered my knowledge in this field which would not have been possible without undertaking this holistic course.

por Ephraim

20 de nov de 2018

It's been really interesting

It has helped supported me with a lot of needed resourses and infor for my dissertation

The used language is easy and understandable.

There is a big amount of information and statistics

The course is well organized

por Kevin A H

13 de set de 2015

This course, which delves into the minds of the experts, can expand your knowledge into what's really happening, not just the opinions of the media. Further, it goes deep into the 'why' in a world only interested in the 'who' and 'where'.

por Krzysztof K

1 de jun de 2020

I was working through the course it as I am interested in the field and one day would love to work for an expert organization in this matter.

I must say, I really enjoyed it. It's very well produced and everything is properly explained.

por Bárbara B

3 de dez de 2015

The course brings up subjects about terrorism that are very interesting, such as the history of terrorism. I liked it very much and I highly recommend it for anyone interested in political science, terrorism and international relations.

por Kate G

12 de mai de 2017

Interesting, Encouraging and Fun to do! Each week gave a better insight into different areas and provide a wide and good understanding of Terrorism and Counter Terrorism Concepts. Amazing reading list and access to papers. It was a ple

por Arnaud S

21 de mar de 2018

A very insightful course, providing an academic approach to historical and current events. The course addresses a wide range of topics , it questions assumptions, and it provides new perspectives on terrorism. I highly recommend it!

por Fabrizzio D Q d F

8 de out de 2017

This course is one of the best, the fact of being in netherlands is a "extra" (I've precupation about the north american courses about this). The professor has an universitary abordage, without rage or bias.

Thak you a lot, Leiden!

por Milko G

3 de mai de 2019

A very interesting course! I learned a lot about the history and development of terrorism till actual terrorism today. Just what I searched for. Some readings could probably need to be updated, but nevertheless very interesting.

por Han Z

18 de dez de 2015

这门课两年间选课的学生超过了十万之多,一方面课程的内容针对恐怖主义和反恐,从历史、理论到实践、未来进行了详细阐述,课程亦提供大量参考阅读材料,可对这个领域的知识有一个整体概括的掌握;另一方面,近年来恐怖主义的活动日益频繁,伊斯兰国、外国战士、欧洲难民等,也成为大家关注的热点。遗憾的是,课程中一再提及的欧洲相对安全的情况,在今年11月13日巴黎恐怖袭击之后,一去不返。课程的论坛仍然活跃,从中可以继续与来自世界各地的学生一同探讨反恐相关的问题。

por Conrado T D J

27 de set de 2016

This Course is totally illuminating! Great backgrounder for a knowledge seeker about terrorism like me. It became more significant & engaging because of the great materials & great Facilitator & Professor, Edwin Bakker!

por Георгий Ф

7 de jan de 2016

Sometimes i am absolutely disagree with some of conclusions but its a normal process of exploring the truth is in an academic way of reasoned debate, dialogue filled with respectful atmosphere.

Thank you for this course.

por Yonis H

7 de jan de 2023

This is the best course, a very great resources and insights into terrorism and counterterrorism are gathered and taught by great instructors. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to learn such great course by online.

por ABHISHEK S

14 de set de 2020

An excellently curated course that provides deep and nuanced learning on the subject of terrorism that is a dynamic, growing discipline. The Course Lead is an amazingly knowledgeable and articulate teacher/researcher.

por Thanasis C

25 de ago de 2021

This is a fantastic introductory course, which includes a lot of videos combined with interviews from top scientists and also, many useful articles to gain a better understanding of this phenomenon of the terrorism.

por Анжела Я

26 de nov de 2015

I certainly enjoyed taking this course. Professor Bakker couldn`t be nicer and overall amazing, I understood and memorized every single bit of the studies. The reading was very useful as well. Thank you very much!

por Boris R

5 de nov de 2019

This is a great course on Terrorism and Counterterrorism, with very interesting lectures. The course will need to have a deep involvement in readings, taking notes and researches. I totally recommend this course!

por Sonny M L

3 de jun de 2017

Thank you Prof. Edwin Bakker.... it was very informative and comprehensive, yet open up our eyes that all of us can contribute to a better and safer society. So grateful for having the opportunity to participate.

por Claire C

10 de abr de 2017

This course has been incredibly helpful in making sense of the news and the world today. I especially appreciate the continuing contact and "office chats" which help put current events in perspective. Thank you!