Chevron Left
Voltar para Teach English Now! Teaching Language Online

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Teach English Now! Teaching Language Online da instituição Universidade do Estado do Arizona

4.6
estrelas
247 classificações
87 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Whether you have already taught English as a Second Language and want to start teaching it online, you've already been teaching ESL online and want to sharpen your skills, or you are new to teaching and interested in teaching ESL online, ASU and VOXY provide you with the basic ideas and concepts you need to know in order to successfully teach ESL online. This course uses a fun and interesting theme of "International Travel" to deliver content in an entertaining way. There are also plenty of real, recorded online session videos from VOXY in the course to show you examples of what it looks like to teach ESL online. In this course, you will learn about the best practices for teaching English as a Second Language online. This includes an introduction to online teaching, Second Language Acquisition theories and how they apply to ESL learners, conducting a needs analysis, curating content for your courses, designing lesson plans, and effective teaching strategies that will help you to become an successful online ESL teacher. The course consists of a variety of videos and readings, followed by quizzes. In the last module of the course, actual VOXY online ESL teachers share their experiences in the online classroom....

Melhores avaliações

RN

Aug 24, 2020

Wonderful course! I felt great going through evidence based teaching methods and the pleasing demeanor of Emilia. The fictional video simulations were well choreographed. Overall, I loved it.

VT

Aug 18, 2020

This is a course about Task Based Language Learning in an online environment. It may not be suitable for all types of language learning, but gives helpful tips and advice.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 86 Avaliações para o Teach English Now! Teaching Language Online

por KIYINGI I

Nov 19, 2019

Great skills though the practicum is too expensive. Thanks for the wonderful experience though.

por Bonnie S

Jul 25, 2019

Overall, the course was helpful, but it needs some better QA.

The pop-up quizzes during the videos were often right BEFORE the material answering the question was presented. (So you could only answer the question correctly if you read ahead in the transcript before answering.)

The fill-in-the-blank questions were very hard to get right. Even when I copied text verbatim from the course, it was marked wrong. E.g., "switching pairs for each activity" was wrong, I needed to enter "switch pairs." A human would have marked my initial response correct.

Some of the multiple-choice, multiple-answer questions were also frustrating, such as "why do you take notes during the lesson?" -- there would be one answer clearly supported by the course material, but the lesson quizzes demanded multiple answers to be marked correct. But then when you got to the same exact question on the final exam, it was a single-answer multiple -choice question.

por Gretchen

Oct 30, 2019

Good solid background course for teaching language on-line. Some course material seemed out-of-order, and some was repeated. However, all material was applicable, and I enjoyed the presentation and pace of the course. Thank you!

por Ринат Т

Apr 07, 2020

It's awful. Most of quizes are incorrect with answers, that students can't find in the course videos. For example, quiz 2 in week 4 has questions that we even haven't heard before. In order to have 100% for quiz 1 in week 1 you must choose incorrect answer in question 7 (or it doesn't relate to this week). What is more, you need to pay approximately 25 dollars for that profanation! I've already passed three courses from ASUs' TESOL certification, and those courses were awesome, they have really helped me in my present career. But, nevertheless, this course is a shame for the entire Arizona State University. Fix it, please, or don't lie to your students!

por Syeda N F

Apr 10, 2020

the only difficulty for M-1 , L1 instructions are not given clearly means for last question it was asking to apply all choices of answers where as not for other which really consumed lot of time. we would have used this consumed time for other learning or other worthy work. such a great university to whom I will be very grateful because really i have learnt a lot in this course about how to teach English online ; but really very much disappointed for the time i have wasted for M1-L1 quize. please add clear instructions to attempt question.

por Victoria K O M

Aug 29, 2020

I most say that, i am richly beefed up for the challenges ahead in my online classes. Before i did this course had alot of doubts, but now, there is no mountain facing me now that i cannot surpass. Thanks alot for everything. Ready for the future now, to meet all my learner's needs.

por Kelly R

May 10, 2020

I flagged many issues, but ASU replied saying they were fixed, so I highly recommend the course if problems have really been fixed.

por David E F G

May 25, 2020

This is a good, easy, friendly course that will help you if you want to get into the world of teaching languages online.

por Romanovskaya M V

Nov 30, 2019

Было очень полезно

por Gyuzal T A

Apr 23, 2020

I liked this course very much!!! Because it gave me not knowledge how to conudct a lesson online, but also to it gave me confidence that it is not so difficult as I thought about it to be. I fancied the structure of this course, step by step you acquire thohse skills you need. Especially, I liked the section about Feedback and Lesson plan. I liked videos. I liked the quizes especially, even if some quizes seemed to me difficult, some not, but there were some difficulties with those questions where were several answers. I would like to appreciate and thank all teachers who created and participated in creation of this useful course!

por Isaac M H G

Oct 13, 2020

It's a very well-made course. I loved being taught by Emilia because she looked so passionate by doing this course. One thing I didn't like a lot were the bad acting most of the people did, even Emilia sometimes, It seemed very fake and nothing authentic, however it is a very appropiate course if you want to introduce yourself in Online Teaching, it summarizes everything you need to know before starting teachinn online and it has a lot of REAL RECORDED EXAMPLES which was the thing I enjoyed the most.

por Mohammad M

May 06, 2020

This course taught me a great deal of how to run an effective online English teaching course. I highly recommend to both traditional English teachers who want to broaden their territory of their career and to those who just want to start teaching English in a fascinating way. In the end, I want to express my gratitude to instructors for creating such great experience.

por Supriya Y

Mar 29, 2020

Course material and organization of the course are great. Though it's an online course , I felt like the instructors are with me in my efforts to take my first steps of online teaching. The theory is so systematic, scientific and interactive that makes me more enthusiastic about creating my first online lessons. Thanks to Coursera and Arizona University People.

por Rakesh N

Aug 24, 2020

Wonderful course! I felt great going through evidence based teaching methods and the pleasing demeanor of Emilia. The fictional video simulations were well choreographed. Overall, I loved it.

por virginia e t

Aug 18, 2020

This is a course about Task Based Language Learning in an online environment. It may not be suitable for all types of language learning, but gives helpful tips and advice.

por Rafael G

Feb 12, 2020

It's almost impossible to give the right answer to the questions in which you have to type, even knowing the right answer.

On the second test of the first week is not possible to give a right answer to the seventh question.

por Valeria d C

Apr 08, 2020

Good content, but that is all. No peer interaction, no possible way of asking questions or talking with someone from the course staff. Several errors in the quizzes which nobody bothers to correct

por Marlene J F A

Sep 12, 2020

I really love the creative way you presented and carried out the whole course. Examples were very useful and enlighting. Also, the reflection at the end helped us to land our learning throughout this course. Sadly, I cannot take the Voxy opportunity, I´m taking this course because the Guatemalan government is giving us the opportunity to take this courses for free - I believe through an agreement - but I really can´t afford the US$1,000 that the practicum requires. But, for sure, I´m going to put into practice everything I have learned therein. Thanks a lot! You also gave ideas to present topics to my own students. I believe Voxy would be a great tool to be used in our courses, I will recommend it to my supervisors. Thanks again for all the learnings received and for sure, put them in practice here in Guatemala.

por carol b

Oct 09, 2020

This class covered topics I did not learn during my TEFL class so long ago. I found it engaging, challenging, and do-able. I enjoyed the around-the-world theme. It was interesting to listen to different teachers present their teaching methods. Dr. Neilson was very pithy with TBLT teaching. Overall, it is an excellent class and I feel better prepared to teach online.

por Miguel L

Jun 11, 2020

The course is great because it gives you just enough of everything that is important. Moreover, it gives you a good idea of what the differences are between face-to-face and online classes. Finally, the course gives good suggestions on how overcome online challenges. Two resounding thumbs up!

por Gaukhar Y

Oct 12, 2020

That was a very interesting course, especially the techniques used to teach learners how to teach online. I really enjoyed Broaden`s adventure around different countries and learn a new language online. I really like examples from real online teaching. Thank you a lot!

por abdur r

Oct 07, 2020

Well, This course was an awesome learning experience, Online learning, and teaching always bother me in a sense requiring time and connectivity issue but this course is far more flexible and entertaining. I was not even bored for a single second. Thank you, Team.

por Lina P

Aug 07, 2020

For someone who didn't know anything about how to teach language online, this course was extremely helpful. Yes some of the videos might have been cheesy, but they aren't professional actors, so that was okay. The overall information was clearly showed.

por Galpadi G N S A

Mar 02, 2020

This is a wonderful course which helps new ESL teachers on how to conduct online classes effectively. It was so interesting, fun , challenging and useful. It was not an average boring video course. So Thank you so much for the great experience.

por Ms E T

Jul 29, 2020

An excellent course with first class lecturers and learning materials. i would love to see more courses like these about Teaching Language Online and Second Language Acquisition. Thoroughly enjoyable and very interesting.