Chevron Left
Voltar para Systems Thinking In Public Health

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Systems Thinking In Public Health da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.6
estrelas
794 classificações
183 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course provides an introduction to systems thinking and systems models in public health. Problems in public health and health policy tend to be complex with many actors, institutions and risk factors involved. If an outcome depends on many interacting and adaptive parts and actors the outcome cannot be analyzed or predicted with traditional statistical methods. Systems thinking is a core skill in public health and helps health policymakers build programs and policies that are aware of and prepared for unintended consequences. An important part of systems thinking is the practice to integrate multiple perspectives and synthesize them into a framework or model that can describe and predict the various ways in which a system might react to policy change. Systems thinking and systems models devise strategies to account for real world complexities. This work was coordinated by the Alliance for Health Policy and Systems Research, the World Health Organization, with the aid of a grant from the International Development Research Centre, Ottawa, Canada. Additional support was provided by the Department for International Development (DFID) through a grant (PO5467) to Future Health Systems research consortium. © World Health Organization 2014 All rights reserved. The designations employed and the presentation of the material in this publication do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the World Health Organization concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries. Dotted and dashed lines on maps represent approximate border lines for which there may not yet be full agreement. The mention of specific companies or of certain manufacturers’ products does not imply that they are endorsed or recommended by the World Health Organization in preference to others of a similar nature that are not mentioned. Errors and omissions excepted, the names of proprietary products are distinguished by initial capital letters. All reasonable precautions have been taken by the World Health Organization to verify the information contained in this publication. However, the published material is being distributed without warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied. The responsibility for the interpretation and use of the material lies with the reader. In no event shall the World Health Organization be liable for damages arising from its use. Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health has a non-exclusive license to use and reproduce the material....

Melhores avaliações

NM

7 de jun de 2019

This is an excellent-excellent course and provides a good primer even to somebody (like me) who has only a very limited exposure to public health and none to the concepts of systems thinking.

VS

11 de mar de 2018

The course is one of the best that I've attended on Coursera. This will be highly useful in my current course "Healthcare Operations Management" that I am offering for MBA students in India.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 180 Avaliações para o Systems Thinking In Public Health

por Dr. J B

14 de mai de 2019

Great place to start or refresh on systems thinking, design, causal loop diagrams (CDL) and SF (Stock & Flow), both with VENSIM, as well as the public health context. Thanks to both instructors and the University.

por Steve S

5 de jun de 2016

I thought this course was top notch - the lectures were very well designed and course production quality was first rate. An excellent introduction to an important subject area.

por Vishnu G P

7 de abr de 2020

This is a good course to pick up knowledge and skills on causal loop diagrams, stock and flow diagrams, agent based modelling and the relevant software needed to develop these.

por Nicholas B

19 de ago de 2020

This was an excellent course and I will be integrated it into the systems thinking aspect of our MPH curriculum.

por Rashad J T M

18 de jan de 2019

Great course definitely learned a lot and feel that they can be applied in many areas within my career

por Nwaiwu c

25 de ago de 2018

Very detailed and practical but too technical.

por Deepa. P

21 de jul de 2017

excellent".I gained a lot for my PhD.

por Ivan I

3 de mar de 2020

Excelente!!! con todas las letras!!

por 米睿

15 de jun de 2018

Fantastic Course with high quality

por Khulud A

20 de mai de 2020

Great course, I learned a lot

por Leila M M

7 de mar de 2016

Excellent course. Thank you!

por Jorge G

15 de jul de 2019

Excelente course!!!!

por Amon Y

11 de jan de 2018

Very useful course.

por Celio N

27 de nov de 2017

awesome course

por Rebecca V

1 de mai de 2018

GREAT

por Linda A

4 de fev de 2019

I really enjoyed the course, its structure and the way of explaining the concepts. I particularly liked the lectures held by Prof. Ligia Paina: she explained Vensim step by step and I appreciated it. I would have gone a little bit more in detail with stock and flows diagrams, I would have expected in general more examples and practical exercises. Overall, great course to start building a system thinking mindset. Thank you all.

por Shivanand S

1 de mai de 2020

I liked the content of the course and simplistic way of explanation. My suggestion to improve would be to give some exercises to create cause and loop diagram and stock and flow diagram, so that, public health experts become familiar with these concepts in a better way.

Thank you so much

por Krista M

21 de ago de 2018

The quiz structures and answers could be reviewed in content. The fourth quiz had strange answer selection in the multi-select sections (e.g., suggest rethinking the idea elements of the Q 5,6, 7 answers then build out the answer selections in enhanced clarity).

por Alton W P

10 de ago de 2020

The material is very good. several of the links were broken or went to resources that no longer existed, which was more than a little frustrating. Based on the quizzes, more time should have been put on simulation and implementation.

por Peninah T

29 de jan de 2021

An excellent introductory course for intuitive system thinkers in Public Health. The course covers the broad scope concisely; introducing the concept, the process, the tools to model and as well as model interpretation.

In those short 4 weeks, I have learnt the language to articulate, and acquired the tools apply to, my intuitive system thinking approach to public health. It lays the foundation for me to become a seasoned Systems Thinker. I am deeply indebted. Thank you.

por Ellen v d S

3 de fev de 2021

I'm already working in a field where I have to apply systems thinking on a daily basis, but I'm pretty new to it, therefore I decided to follow the course.

This course is very interesting and covers all the basic principles. Can definitely recommend it for policy makers.

por Joseph W

28 de mai de 2016

A very useful course that gives one the opportunity to learn a practical and structured approach to analyzing problems within the health sector and coming up with appropriate solutions that involve the participation of all the relevant stakeholders.

por Naveen T

23 de jul de 2021

Excellent content! Good explanation of software tools used and how these tools are embedded in the larger picture. Just one thing: Prof. Bishai mentions the provision of a spreadsheet to go along with the Agent-based modeling; could not find it.

por Juan S C

18 de jan de 2017

This is a very good introductory course into systems thinking. It provides the basics to understand this approach, with a right balance between being easy and deepening in the subject enough to be interesting.

por Zhao L

10 de jun de 2019

Thank you for this course! I have learnt about useful tools and ways of thinking in systematic way. It is very helpful for my work which requires exactly the skills. I'm happy to have taken this course!