Chevron Left
Voltar para Systems Science and Obesity

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Systems Science and Obesity da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.6
estrelas
179 classificações
46 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Systems science has been instrumental in breaking new scientific ground in diverse fields such as meteorology, engineering and decision analysis. However, it is just beginning to impact public health. This seminar is designed to introduce students to basic tools of theory building and data analysis in systems science and to apply those tools to better understand the obesity epidemic in human populations. There will also be a lab in which students will use a simple demonstration model of food acquisition behavior using agent-based modeling on standard (free) software (netlogo). The central organizing idea of the course is to examine the obesity epidemic at a population level as an emergent properties of complex, nested systems, with attention to feedback processes, multilevel interactions, and the phenomenon of emergence. While the emphasis will be on obesity, the goal will be to explore ways in which the systems approach can be applied to other non-communicable diseases both nationally and internationally. Topics will include: a) the epidemiology of obesity across time and place, b) theories to explain population obesity, c) the role of environments and economic resources in obesity c) basic concepts and tools of systems science, d) modeling energy-balance related behaviors in context, e) agent-based models, systems dynamic models, and social network models...

Melhores avaliações

CS
31 de Mar de 2019

Fantastic course. Really thought provoking, and well presented. Useful as an intro to systems thinking, and as a way to understand the obesity epidemic in a nuanced way.

PV
11 de Set de 2017

This course was surprisingly challenging and educational. I had little background in system science, and very much enjoyed the learning process!

Filtrar por:

26 — 46 de 46 Avaliações para o Systems Science and Obesity

por Taha m

12 de Nov de 2020

i Learned so much

por Thiago G d S M

26 de Fev de 2017

very good

por Paola S

6 de Ago de 2017

amazing!

por Carolina A

24 de Out de 2017

great

por Sofiul A

24 de Jun de 2020

Good

por Emayamsavitha

29 de Abr de 2020

Gud

por Rachel A B

24 de Out de 2016

I very much enjoyed this course because it used a real-world example to teach systems thinking. I also appreciated that the more technical aspects, like using software, had been moved into Labs, which left space and time in the lectures to cover material relevant to the topic.

I was surprised at the lack of interaction, though. I have no idea if there were more than a handful of other students nor if there was a support team since there was hardly any participating in the discussion forum. One technical question remained unanswered for example... It seems that there could be a lot of great discussion on the course material if more engagement were encouraged.

por Rahul G

4 de Out de 2016

I enjoyed the course! It helped me organise information about methods in understanding complex systems. I would have definitely used some more detailed explanations about the model building process.

Thank you very much for your kind interest and effort!

por Reena A

28 de Out de 2016

Good course, the lab classes can be improved further.

not easily comprehensive

por Hadeel D

5 de Ago de 2017

It is only that the language is little hard for non native speakers

por Mary P

28 de Abr de 2020

enjoyed the course and learning about systems science soft ware.

por Bui N A

20 de Ago de 2018

Useful course with excellent learning materials. Thank you!

por Melanie C

29 de Out de 2017

good, you need more time to complete the quizzes.

por Jessica B

25 de Set de 2019

A good introduction to the methods

por jungsungmoon

22 de Nov de 2019

very good!!

por Aboudalal M

11 de Jul de 2016

Good

por Margo

6 de Out de 2020

Wording of questions was questionable ! Also I couldn’t understand graphs! I will continue with net logo but I’d like more examples of working with obesity related data and how to interpret. Maybe that will become clearer when I work through tutorials on Netlogo

por Tomas S

19 de Jun de 2020

While interesting it does little to provide me with a sense of confidence in my capability to apply Systems Science in the wild.

por Charleen S

25 de Jul de 2017

More about systems analysis than obesity but interesting. Too much on computer model software.

por olivier h

18 de Dez de 2018

I've finished week 1, and I think it could have been much much better.

The subject is very interesting.

The pace of speech by the prof is way too slow, and the quiz isn't up to my standards.

I urge them to add explanations for instance, it would help to increase the understanding of the student, not just evaluate if she has viewed the (somewhat boring) videos..

I'll update this review after one or two more weeks...

UPDATE:

this gets even WORSE towards the end and the last quiz is bogus.

Really, this is sad, and it's making me angry, since the subject is interesting, efforts have been put towards this course (not only mine I mean) but the result is a bunch a videos lacking professionalism (huge typos in the quizzes, files missing, lack of overview binding the videos together, lack of proof for some assertions etc)

por George E

6 de Mai de 2020

Two lecturers were engaging, two were tediously dull to listen to (x1.5 speed), two were quite difficult to understand.

Whilst the lectures were on obesity and society and systems modelling. However when it came to the agent based modelling... oh dear... Also no instructions for running the NetLogo models, I ran them on Netlogoweb.org and two of them exceptioned on load.

I think the course was driven as a pilot project - so how it goes. More consideration needs to be given to the disembodied person in another state / country viewing this at home.

Again though, the engaging peeps with engaging topics were good value.