Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução à Programação com Swift

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução à Programação com Swift da instituição Universidade de Toronto

3.9
estrelas
1,407 classificações
383 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Introduction to Swift Programming is the first course in a four part specialization series that will provide you with the tools and skills necessary to develop an iOS App from scratch. By the end of this first course you will be able to demonstrate intermediate application of programming in Swift, the powerful new programming language for iOS. Guided by best practices you will become proficient with syntax, object oriented principles, memory management, functional concepts and more in programming with Swift. This course is unique in its dedication to teaching Swift programming. With new features and capabilities you will be at the forefront of writing iOS apps. Currently this course is taught using Swift 2. The team is aware of the release of Swift 3 and will be making edits to the course in time. Please be aware that at this time the instruction is entirely with Swift 2. Please note that to take part in this course (and the full specialization) it is required to have a Mac computer and, though not required, ideally an iPhone, iPod, or an iPad. NOTE: This course has been designed and tested (and content delivered) on a Mac. While we are aware of hacks and workarounds for running Mac in a virtual machine on windows we do not recommended a PC. We hope you have fun on this new adventure....

Melhores avaliações

SI

13 de jan de 2016

The course seemed to be very easy, I'd say even disappointingly easy, but then, when I started the final assignment, I realized that I was wrong. And it was so much fun developing filters.

HU

30 de jan de 2016

This course, specifically the last week, really helps in gaining understanding of how the digital images are being processed on the back of a applications. Nice job tutors!

Filtrar por:

276 — 300 de 375 Avaliações para o Introdução à Programação com Swift

por liangyi f

11 de fev de 2016

Should be lecture by Professor instead of BS student.

The content was not well organized.

Also should prepare slides and explain the Swift for more details.

More exercises needed in each weeks lecture.

Hopefully, this course should improve next time.

por Chris G

27 de fev de 2018

The course is not very beginner friendly. I found that instead of giving you a general idea of the ideas and terms that the lecturers are using it seems like they assuming that you are already familiar with a lot of concepts they are going over.

por Rich B

3 de dez de 2017

Very disappointing. Course content is old and forces you to use an obsolete version of Xcode. Some class material (examples) no longer available for download. Instructors not engaged at all and forum monitoring seems almost non-existent.

por Jan M

27 de out de 2015

Poor video quality, weak, ad hoc examples, not well thought flow. Seems like tutors have not spent time on proper preparation. Free courses on iTunesU (especially those by Stanford University) are far more better.

por Marcel D

2 de out de 2017

I audited this course out of curiosity. Good start, but in week two the teacher rambles, gets off track and explains less. Would like to see this course with a little better prep before recording.

por Norbert S

14 de dez de 2015

I think this course could be much better without Jack Wu, laughing every few seconds. I would except more professional approach and not videos likely taken on first shot with errors.

por Nicholas S

26 de out de 2015

Felt like the teachers weren't putting much time into preparation - felt random and disorganized. I didn't finish the course - I'll watch the cs193p lectures from Stanford instead.

por Emanuele I

18 de out de 2016

The pair review it's really not the way to go. If you don't have the horse power to check it yourself, create automated tests to pass like other courses.

por Ivana K

22 de dez de 2020

This course is outdated! Swift 2! Today we are learning Swift 5, right? I haven't even look at the rest of this course after.

por Xavier

17 de set de 2016

By far to introductory, I think that this course should be an extension of the iOS App Development Basics

por Borja R

9 de fev de 2016

Not so impressed with this course so far, let's see the rest of the specialisation.

por Dave P

3 de jun de 2021

Severely outdated. Also has different audio level between different modules.

por Mohammad A

3 de dez de 2015

The quality of the course is not as I expected from a Coursera course.

por shripad B

30 de jan de 2016

I donot own a Mac nor a iMac and hence I wish to opt out.

Apologies.

por Mohaned Y

25 de abr de 2020

The Course is outdated

por Marco S

25 de mai de 2020

Obsolete, swift 2

por Raul S

23 de mai de 2016

Very caotic.

por 党文亮

3 de dez de 2015

Poor Quality

por liu x l

13 de dez de 2015

Very knowledgeable educators.

Course is given in a q&a style which is very very good for a web based course since the questions often are exactly what i want to ask.

However, think the course can still be improved, especially in the following aspects.

(1) examples in the course are not thought through ahead. Instead, educators came up with them on the spot. that way it may not be the best example to convey the message, plus the videos are made unnecessarily long in this way. Think it's good that for a programming course to show real time programming sometimes. But to do this all the time is a bit too much and therefore inefficient. Comparing to some other courses, think this one could really benefit if the educators could give some thought on how to teach, especially to think from a student perspective.

For example: about the capability of overwriting and defining new operators, the example given was to define a knife operator and to overload plus operator to stew vegetables. Both examples do not make much sense to me. Although i did understand that it's nice that one can define his/her own operation/operator, when the examples came I actually got confused -- how do i stew vegetables with code??

(2) Some of the quiz questions I don't find useful. For this course I need lots of time to complete the quiz in contrast to other coursera courses I did. This is because i need to actually read the documentation in order to answer the quiz questions since they are really in depth. In this way, to do the quiz is actually the way to learn. But some questions are quite artificial, for example, there's a multi-choice question about "what are the different ways one can find help..."

(3) Finally, I find the video and the quiz very abstract. that it's very difficult to follow without making a line of code myself... Also it is not clear what the educators expect as a pre-requisite for taking this course. Sometimes things are explained as if the listeners have no programming background at all. some other time, a concept is explained so fast I wonder whether i should have known objective-C in order to follow this course...

por Gerry R

1 de dez de 2015

I'm dropping this course because it's just SO poorly conceived. Three weeks in, and I can't really articulate what I've actually learned (which leads me to believe that the answer is "not very much"). The major problem is that this course has no clear objective. And I don't mean that the individual lessons don't have objectives - I actually mean that the entire course doesn't know what it wants to be and the instructors seem to have bypassed this critical question. I have a background in Python, and I was under the impression that this course would teach me how to program in Swift (seems like a fairly straightforward goal). But it isn't that at all. If I were to summarize this course (perhaps a little uncharitably, because I'm annoyed at the time I wasted) it would be: some dudes with a computer talk about some cool features of a programming language. I'm fairly baffled by the fact that there was no thought put into which examples might best illustrate the features they were trying to teach. Which-examples-might-best-illustrate-the-feature-I-am-trying-to-teach is pedagogy 101. They would regularly work through examples just to conclude "actually that's a bad example". This is pretty strong evidence that there was no lesson planning involved. There were also no practice exercises, no posting of pieces of illustrative code, and hence, no way to actually get good at programming in Swift (unless it's self directed, in which case - why bother with the formality of taking a course on Coursera?).

por Amanda M

24 de set de 2015

This course is poorly designed. What course on a programming language jumps first into how to use the debugger and what went wrong with a program? You are not introducing Swift, you are introducing xcode (and doing a terrible job of it). Also, I have been using xcode and Swift for 8 months now and producing some really good work, but I could only get 3/7 on your quiz because you have written questions with the purpose of tricking people instead of reinforcing or checking knowledge of the content.

When you teach a new application, consider introducing the interface first. Explain what the various areas are, what they are needed for, and how to control them. This orients the user in the application and helps them to find their way around when they are trying to reinforce your teachings later.

The presentation for this course is so unprofessional. It's like a running commentary on a movie instead of an educational presentation. I felt like I was listening to two geeks stuffing around and having a good time, instead of people who are professional teachers!

I'm so incredibly disappointed with this course. Back to the wonderful work of Paul Hegarty from Stanford University on iTunes University and YouTube for me.

University of Toronto - you should really consider what your teaching staff are doing before you unleash them on the world.

por Mazen H

27 de fev de 2016

I think for somebody who has no prior knowledge in this course will find it difficult to understand. I have taken some introductory courses in swift programming and were much more elaborating than this; for instance, the part "i think" in week 4 were Jack Wu explains closures, functions, enums, structs... in less than 10min, i studied that in around 5 hours atleast in other visual tutorials online. in the last lecture on image processing, the instructor gave 16minutes tutorial on manipulating image pixels and then gave a link to a website to explain everything about ImageProcessing, a much heavier topic than working with pixels, and even it was not in Swift but Objective-C which i have no knowledge in that language and it wasnt stated in the course that it was a prerequisite.

final assignment is quite vague on the requirements needed by the instructor. would have prefered to have more interaction with the instructors on the assignment atleast. Im not the only one complaining about this issue, you can check the discussion in the course. I guess im fortunate that i have already studied those courses from external sources before i started here.

one of the instructors speaks quite fast with alot of anxiety making it quite difficult to understand without repeating the video.

por Garthe N

20 de set de 2017

I was very disappointed with this course. I don't think it's actually been designed for someone who wants to learn Swift and Xcode, but rather for people who already have a solid understanding of Swift and object oriented programming but want to build a picture filtering application. Perhaps the stuff I want to learn will be covered later in the series. However, so far I feel like if you wanted to learn swift, you'd be better served going to the Apple forums which is where I had to go anyway to get all my questions answered. Besides that, they're using a 2 year old version of Xcode! I would wait until they've at least updated the course so you're learning something people actually use now. At least that way, you know there's still someone around too. I didn't notice much action from them on the coursera forums either. I think I will need to look elsewhere if I actually want to learn how to develop anything in iOS.

por Deleted A

8 de set de 2016

As a professional Instructional Designer, I can attest that this is the poorest-designed course I have ever seen. Regrettably, I paid for the entire specialization up-front, and I cannot get a refund or even a Coursera credit for enrolling in a different specialization.

Be aware that the faculty who is the instructor of record does not participate in the course. The video lectures are poorly done, including errors and misstatements that could have been edited out, but it appears that no one bothered to edit the raw footage before uploading it.

There is not so much instruction as an overview. There are no coding exercises until the final assignment, which is poorly-described and requires the student to self-teach using outside sources.

There are app specializations in Coursera that appear much better-designed. Look elsewhere.

por Jennifer Y

17 de nov de 2015

Unfortunately the course is not very well thought out. The lecture videos are poorly organized, concepts are not presented in the proper context and lack sufficient detail/depth, little thought or effort was put into designing the examples in the videos, there are no actual coding exercises until the last week, there are no examples of elegant code, nor thoughtful examples of good vs. bad code, the quizzes contain questions that are poorly worded and ambiguous (and I think some actually have the wrong answers and are contradicted by other online resources). It's very high level, and they hand-wave important concepts. I really don't see how this class can actually teach you to build a robust high-quality app. You're probably better off just reading some of the official documentation online.