Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução à sustentabilidade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução à sustentabilidade da instituição Universidade de Illinois em Urbana-ChampaignUniversidade de Illinois em Urbana-Champaign

4.8
604 classificações
201 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces the academic approach of Sustainability and explores how today’s human societies can endure in the face of global change, ecosystem degradation and resource limitations. The course focuses on key knowledge areas of sustainability theory and practice, including population, ecosystems, global change, energy, agriculture, water, environmental economics and policy, ethics, and cultural history. This subject is of vital importance, seeking as it does to uncover the principles of the long-term welfare of all the peoples of the planet. As sustainability is a cross-disciplinary field of study, this foundation requires intellectual breadth: as I describe it in the class text, understanding our motivations requires the humanities, measuring the challenges of sustainability requires knowledge of the sciences (both natural and social), and building solutions requires technical insight into systems (such as provided by engineering, planning, and management)....

Melhores avaliações

KF

Dec 19, 2016

It is a well prepared course. Contents are carefully organized and plenty of concepts and examples are included and analyzed. Overall, it is a excellent course to get an overview of sustainability.

JW

Nov 29, 2015

This was my first Coursera course, and I wasn't sure what to expect; but was very pleased with the organization, timescale things were run on, and overall neutrality of the course. Very well done!

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introdução à sustentabilidade

por Mohammed A M A A

Sep 01, 2019

Very good

por Antonio C R

Sep 20, 2019

Maravilhoso, estou aprendendo muito, excelente!

por Raju K S

Sep 23, 2019

One of the best designed course in Coursera, gives you thorough knowledge of the Environmental Issues.

por Vi T

Sep 29, 2019

As a beginner to sustainability field, i have learned a lot through the course. This course surprisingly providing me the basic and overall knowledge about nature and how it relating to human life. Hopefully, I could go deeper into it and apply to my sustainable business plan.

Thank you so much to Dr Tomkin and Illinois University for such a great course!

por Catalina M V

Oct 02, 2019

I wanted to learn the basics of sustainability and I found a lot of information about it, maybe I need to update it a bit to date but in general the course gave me the tools I needed, thank you very much.

por Leandro F T

Oct 22, 2019

In 8 weeks I've learned more than in other courses I've been doing this size. It's complete, general view of many environmental aspects, from economy to ecology

por Natália C L d A

Oct 04, 2019

It was an aggregator in my learning about sustainability, the course is very well designed. I intend to do a master's degree in this area, so it helped me a lot to clarify some doubts on the subject. The course is excellent.

por Sebastian O

Oct 07, 2019

Great course

por Lusia k

Oct 07, 2019

Thank you for such informative course

por Santiago L

Oct 08, 2019

This is a comprehensive basic course about Sustainability. Great starting point. The course is easy to be understood by non-native English speakers, but exams are difficult.

por Denis L

Nov 06, 2019

great course which give enough details on a high scale of sustainability from a science point of view to economics and a more modern approach

por Alba C

Nov 12, 2019

Great. Simply, a course that everyone has to do. Simple and necessary.

por Shannon S

Nov 17, 2019

Very informative and well-organized lectures and readings. An excellent course. Highly recommend.

por Denique L G

Jan 09, 2019

Absolutely loved the course. Learnt so much and its helped me understand what i as an individual can do as well to live a more sustainable life as well as ease my worry about us as humanity being doomed.I found the way the questions were asked got me confused at times and that is where i struggled my only critic.I am so grateful for this opportunity to learn this course and being allowed to extend my course deadlines a bit further due to work commitments and still be able to pass I am really happy.Thank you.I will most certainly be looking for more courses to start soon and continue to follow my passion.The videos were great and so informative. Thank you Mr. Tomkin

por Vitor C

Mar 08, 2019

The course is very complete on it's subjects and points, but should have more slides and some times be more grafic about some examples, this makes the lessons boring and harder to follow because there is a massive amount of informations. Also have too much questions on the quizzes.

por Richard K

Oct 02, 2018

interesting course. I would prefer not to have to pay to complete the quizes.

por Daniel G

Dec 31, 2017

The course is great... Lots of insights... I personally am more of neo-malthusian, which results from my experience from working in African countries, so I believe the "don't worry population growth will come down" and "humans will consume less materials in the future" to be too optimistics. Anyway, I'm looking forward to be proven wrong.

Thanks for a great course!

por Zdenka P

Nov 25, 2015

A very comprehensive introduction, well structured and narrated. Video lectures were interesting and easy-to-follow. I liked the fact that TED talks and other video sources were used in the syllabus. Also, the course book is well written. My only addition to it would be to include more solution-based topics.

por Luza Z

Aug 07, 2017

nice course. interesting themes to sustainability

por Pedro A C

Nov 05, 2016

good

por Abdelaziz M A K

Feb 26, 2016

It is a very good course,It gives you an abstract about the life around you.

por Jennifer A

Aug 22, 2016

I thought this course did a fine job of breaking down foundational concepts from the field sustainability in an understandable manner. The right combination of coursework, readings, and lecture for me.

por MEGHNA K

Aug 29, 2015

Good course material. I am learning lot of new things.

por Aminah S

Aug 05, 2017

enjoyed this course very much and learned a lot from it. Thanks Coursera!

por Clare S

Dec 27, 2017

This has been a great class - good information and stuff everyone should know. Thank you so much! It's also surprising how thoughtful the tests are and how they can really test knowledge. I love the peer review - it's great to read other classmates' thoughts. Areas for improvement:

a) course content really needs an update every 5 or so years. From what I can tell, the course was written up in 2005. A LOT has changed. To keep this class vibrant, content needs updating!

b) there are some really arcane test questions and despite posting Q about them, requesting an explanation, I did not receive any response from the many TAs who are assigned to the course

c) peer reviews can be made more meaningful - the 5 or so checkboxes that you fill out as a reviewer really don't go into much depth - for example, a word count? Seems like the app could check that.