Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução à sustentabilidade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução à sustentabilidade da instituição Universidade de Illinois em Urbana-ChampaignUniversidade de Illinois em Urbana-Champaign

4.7
estrelas
1,780 classificações
590 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces the academic approach of Sustainability and explores how today’s human societies can endure in the face of global change, ecosystem degradation and resource limitations. The course focuses on key knowledge areas of sustainability theory and practice, including population, ecosystems, global change, energy, agriculture, water, environmental economics and policy, ethics, and cultural history. This subject is of vital importance, seeking as it does to uncover the principles of the long-term welfare of all the peoples of the planet. As sustainability is a cross-disciplinary field of study, this foundation requires intellectual breadth: as I describe it in the class text, understanding our motivations requires the humanities, measuring the challenges of sustainability requires knowledge of the sciences (both natural and social), and building solutions requires technical insight into systems (such as provided by engineering, planning, and management)....

Melhores avaliações

KF

Dec 19, 2016

It is a well prepared course. Contents are carefully organized and plenty of concepts and examples are included and analyzed. Overall, it is a excellent course to get an overview of sustainability.

JW

Nov 29, 2015

This was my first Coursera course, and I wasn't sure what to expect; but was very pleased with the organization, timescale things were run on, and overall neutrality of the course. Very well done!

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 585 Avaliações para o Introdução à sustentabilidade

por Albert K

Jun 30, 2018

Introduction to Sustainability was enjoyably challenging and enlightening, many thanks to Professor Jonathan Thomkins and the production values of his teaching materiials. I thought however, he could have presented a fuller description of possible disaster scenarios.

por Rayhana A

Apr 29, 2020

It was really an excellent course. Learned new perspectives to know about sustainability. Relevant examples regarding the topics made the course more enjoyable and easy to understand. I could easily relate the terms in my real life through writing the assignments.

por Margot L

Jun 18, 2020

I really enjoyed this course ! I loved to know more about the "technical aspect" of sustainability. However, the pieces of information remain accessible. There is a lot of reading though, but they might not be mandatory.

Thank you Jonathan for all that knowledge :)

por Vinícius A

Oct 03, 2020

Very helpful course. Great teacher and videos. Addresses points that every person should know because it's very comprehensive and makes you think holistic about the world. I am not going to see things as I did before, never. Thank you for creating this material.

por Jessy F

Jun 24, 2017

This is a very good indepth program with rich material and rigorous quizzes. Thankful to Dr.Jonathan Tomkins for the time and effort taken to put this together. It also got me interested overall in the concept much more and gave a optimistic view to our future.

por Shailesh K G

Jun 24, 2020

This course is fantastic. I have learned and experience a lots of facts about environment, population , agriculture etc. For me the most intersting fact in the course is approach of sustainabilty which have been taught by Res. Prof. Jonathan Tomkin.

Thank You!

por harpreet k

May 05, 2020

I loved the course. This gave me a new perspective on life and energy. the knowledge I gained from the course will help me throughout my life plus I will try my best to further provide the same to most of the society to bring the earth to a sustainable path.

por Mohamed A

Sep 06, 2017

One of my favorite courses so for, It was presented with details and good quizzes, I can say that I finished this course with more valuable knowledge and the most important: more curiosity to learn more about every aspect and field related to sustainability

por Frederick-Simon O P

Jul 27, 2020

The best online course I have ever taken in my life!! The course was so interesting while everything was taught in a way that was relatable. The assignments and peer reviews exposed you to different school of thoughts. This is one course I highly recommend

por Fazla Z A

Jul 07, 2020

This has been the best, most educative and helpful course,Thanks to Dr Jonathan Tomkin, we've learned a very clear concept about the earth, its environment and its systems, and most importantly, sustainability and sustainable measures for a better future.

por Sze K F

Nov 01, 2015

This is a good course and I can get a brief idea what the position is the earth is. Also, I can remember some key figures about the environment situation. The difficulties of the quizs are designed suitability for student memorizing key point and concepts

por Chiara D R

May 31, 2020

A good starting point for whoever is interested in the various facets of sustainability. It requires a certain flexibility, since it deals with many topics, but it's rewarding. The course is very well made and it feels like a real university course.

por Laura M N

May 17, 2016

Me gusta mucho el curso, tienen un gran concepto, enseñan el contexto y ofrecen muy buenas referencias bibliográficas, me gustan mucho los exámenes porque más allá de preguntar conceptos, se evalúan análisis con base en lo explicado en las lecturas.

por Rebecca W

Nov 13, 2015

I think it is a diverse course that looks at many different aspects of sustainability. Gives a rounded explanation on sustainability, goes through its problems in detail and possible solutions for the future. Really does make you think! Great work!

por Amjad H

May 09, 2020

This course has helped me know about what we, as individuals and as Human Civilization, have done to mother earth. At the same the ways and techniques we can adopt in our lives to make this planet a sustainable place for our future generations.

por Trista B

Sep 05, 2016

As someone who, upon starting, did not know anything about this topic, I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Although someone said he was not 'engaging' enough ... I found the instructor to be very engaging and he was easy to follow and understand.

por M M K

Jun 22, 2020

Such a excellent course, i have learned a lot about current trends and global issues especially. thanks for the opportunity to choose this course to ILLINOIS university and Coursera. It is really a great bath while walking along this curse.

por Elizaida M

Jun 17, 2020

The course provided me a insight sharper on the topic of sustainability, less romanticized and more balanced in data, research and tools. It is very dense in details and excellente material, it opens up a range of options for us to go deeper.

por Thibaut

Apr 24, 2020

It is called Introduction but actually is already quite an in-depth course. Thanks to the videos it is very entertaining and I never got bored. Only suggestion from me is to update some of the references to more recent ones if possible.

por Brinda K

Aug 09, 2016

A great course with a great instructor!

Perfect for beginners - the course is simple and is laden with many relevant examples, which help you understand concepts easily.

The interactive assignments and homeworks are very interesting too!

por Camilo A G M

Apr 13, 2016

It's an excellent course. It's very complete and it's a perfect introduction to this topic of sustainability. It would be great that this course would be a starting point for an entire academic program of sustainability. Thanks for all!

por MEHUL S

Jun 19, 2020

I'm very glad that I did this course. I'm an engineering undergrad and I'd say every engineering curriculum should have this course in the first semester itself, so that one can know in what direction work needs to be done. Thank you!!

por MARIA I C G

Apr 09, 2020

Excellent very complete course being considered as an introductory course, I learned a lot about sustainability, I generate myself, very good readings and videos, it made me do more research to delve into each topic. thanks!! Dr Tomkim

por Gleison M A

Aug 03, 2020

This course is an absolute must for those who ant to learn about sustainability, the impacts of human society on the planet, how countries and organizations are changing their views and regulations and how sustainability is measured.

por SATHISH C B

Mar 21, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It gave me in depth knowledge about many concepts of Sustainability. I would like to thank Dr. Jonathan Thomkin from University of Illinois and whole Coursera team for designing such a wonderful course.