Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução à sustentabilidade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução à sustentabilidade da instituição Universidade de Illinois em Urbana-ChampaignUniversidade de Illinois em Urbana-Champaign

4.8
estrelas
1,672 classificações
561 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces the academic approach of Sustainability and explores how today’s human societies can endure in the face of global change, ecosystem degradation and resource limitations. The course focuses on key knowledge areas of sustainability theory and practice, including population, ecosystems, global change, energy, agriculture, water, environmental economics and policy, ethics, and cultural history. This subject is of vital importance, seeking as it does to uncover the principles of the long-term welfare of all the peoples of the planet. As sustainability is a cross-disciplinary field of study, this foundation requires intellectual breadth: as I describe it in the class text, understanding our motivations requires the humanities, measuring the challenges of sustainability requires knowledge of the sciences (both natural and social), and building solutions requires technical insight into systems (such as provided by engineering, planning, and management)....

Melhores avaliações

KF

Dec 19, 2016

It is a well prepared course. Contents are carefully organized and plenty of concepts and examples are included and analyzed. Overall, it is a excellent course to get an overview of sustainability.

JW

Nov 29, 2015

This was my first Coursera course, and I wasn't sure what to expect; but was very pleased with the organization, timescale things were run on, and overall neutrality of the course. Very well done!

Filtrar por:

476 — 500 de 557 Avaliações para o Introdução à sustentabilidade

por Rachel F

Jun 03, 2020

An interesting course with engaging lectures and quiz questions. A broad overview of many aspects of sustainability which have given me a good basis from which to discuss issues and learn from. Peer review assignments can be hit or miss depending on who reviews your work - some put in much more effort than others. Overall, a manageable workload, low-pressure and interesting course.

por Danielle R

Jun 20, 2020

Comprehensive background on population growth, resource usage, energy consumption, climate, environmental policy. This was a much more comprehensive overview than I had expected so I learned a lot. Definitely a good place to start if you're interested in sustainability. Though the population growth chapter wasn't as interesting to me, it is an important aspect of sustainability.

por Maneksha D

Jul 13, 2020

This course was interesting and useful. I wish we could have seen more examples of sustainability programs and policies that are working in various parts of the world. I love the notion of completing the assessments until you have mastery. The rubric for written work was very basic and allowed for some students with subpar assignments to get full 4 out of 4 points.

por luisa v

Jul 03, 2020

This course is really good. You can learn a lot with the informations and etc. However, the activities are kinda hard for me... I have to do the same one a lot of times to finally be approved. But my first language is not english and I am "young", so it can be just for me. As I said before, I think its a great course and you´ll probably like it!

por Zdenka P

Nov 25, 2015

A very comprehensive introduction, well structured and narrated. Video lectures were interesting and easy-to-follow. I liked the fact that TED talks and other video sources were used in the syllabus. Also, the course book is well written. My only addition to it would be to include more solution-based topics.

por Mayuri K

Jun 29, 2020

This course is an excellent introduction to sustainability. The videos lectures and quizzes are interesting, readings are relevant, and assignments encourages learner's to apply concepts covered to real life situations. Only area for improvement is the need for updating the content with current data.

por Vitor C

Mar 08, 2019

The course is very complete on it's subjects and points, but should have more slides and some times be more grafic about some examples, this makes the lessons boring and harder to follow because there is a massive amount of informations. Also have too much questions on the quizzes.

por Pooja L

Oct 15, 2017

Excellent understanding of relevant sustainability issues that are affecting the world. Though I feel some of the data is a little dated now. Ease of instruction and enough reference material to go back and brush up on topics that you find relevant or want to explore further.

por Nonica G

Aug 23, 2019

It was a great course that's well structured. it covered all the aspects and gave us a picture how interdependent each sphere is. It's time that we all understand and accordingly lead our daily lives with the maximum possible sustainable use.

por Supot S

Aug 31, 2020

The course has provided really useful information which started from the basic and slowly guide the learners into more specific content. A really awesome course for students who want the basic so they can develop further more on the future.

por Jennifer A

Aug 22, 2016

I thought this course did a fine job of breaking down foundational concepts from the field sustainability in an understandable manner. The right combination of coursework, readings, and lecture for me.

por Peter B

May 29, 2020

The course is very enlightening on the thoughts living on this planet in a sustainable way. While some facts are outdated (and need receive) they are nonetheless relevant for training

por Suchana D

May 13, 2020

A very good course to have basic understanding of sustainable development. A learner from different background like me would find it much helpful in exploring a new field of interest.

por Emma S

Aug 26, 2020

I learned a lot of great information but the lectures and videos are kind of outdated. It would be great to have some more information on sustainability from the most recent decade.

por Laurence C

Apr 14, 2020

A really good overview of the sustainability. It gives the energy (sustainable?) to go further. Just a comment: it would be great to update some videos as the world changes. Thanks

por Marianne T

Oct 06, 2019

Took a while to get used to the prof a bit...but now I think he's great! Also, I like how slow he describes things and how well he explains. I would recommend this class.

por Timothy L

Apr 05, 2020

Very good introduction to Sustainability. It was enjoyable and easy to follow and at the same time I learnt a lot. Some parts are a little bit out of date.

por Ryan T

Oct 25, 2019

A great course for general learning on the path of sustainability. You will learn a higher level of science as opposed to politicized propaganda.

por Carlos A S M

Jul 19, 2020

It is a great starting course to engage in sustainability and create solid baseline knowledge foundations to undertake a career in this area.

por Catherine S S

Oct 07, 2019

I loved this course. Learned a lot about Sustainability. I would have liked for the it to be more current. The information is from 2010.

por Suzane G d B A

Jun 14, 2020

I think that the data available for the course must be updated, many information is out of date, but in general is a very good course.

por Jason R

Jan 07, 2017

For an introduction course, the syllabus is thorough and topics are well explained. Video lectures are well put together and engaging.

por Ravi P

May 29, 2020

A very brilliant and fantastic course ....gave entire inside about sustainable development totaly loved it...

por Surendharan B

Sep 18, 2020

Awesome course. Got to know about the environmental policy, pollution measures, stats about population etc.,

por Faizan A

Nov 21, 2015

I would like to thank professor Jonathan Tomkin for teaching this wonderful course. I learnt a lot from him.