Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução à sustentabilidade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução à sustentabilidade da instituição Universidade de Illinois em Urbana-ChampaignUniversidade de Illinois em Urbana-Champaign

4.7
estrelas
2,098 classificações
686 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces the academic approach of Sustainability and explores how today’s human societies can endure in the face of global change, ecosystem degradation and resource limitations. The course focuses on key knowledge areas of sustainability theory and practice, including population, ecosystems, global change, energy, agriculture, water, environmental economics and policy, ethics, and cultural history. This subject is of vital importance, seeking as it does to uncover the principles of the long-term welfare of all the peoples of the planet. As sustainability is a cross-disciplinary field of study, this foundation requires intellectual breadth: as I describe it in the class text, understanding our motivations requires the humanities, measuring the challenges of sustainability requires knowledge of the sciences (both natural and social), and building solutions requires technical insight into systems (such as provided by engineering, planning, and management)....

Melhores avaliações

KF
18 de Dez de 2016

It is a well prepared course. Contents are carefully organized and plenty of concepts and examples are included and analyzed. Overall, it is a excellent course to get an overview of sustainability.

JW
28 de Nov de 2015

This was my first Coursera course, and I wasn't sure what to expect; but was very pleased with the organization, timescale things were run on, and overall neutrality of the course. Very well done!

Filtrar por:

576 — 600 de 680 Avaliações para o Introdução à sustentabilidade

por Rachel F

3 de Jun de 2020

An interesting course with engaging lectures and quiz questions. A broad overview of many aspects of sustainability which have given me a good basis from which to discuss issues and learn from. Peer review assignments can be hit or miss depending on who reviews your work - some put in much more effort than others. Overall, a manageable workload, low-pressure and interesting course.

por Danielle R

20 de Jun de 2020

Comprehensive background on population growth, resource usage, energy consumption, climate, environmental policy. This was a much more comprehensive overview than I had expected so I learned a lot. Definitely a good place to start if you're interested in sustainability. Though the population growth chapter wasn't as interesting to me, it is an important aspect of sustainability.

por Maneksha D

13 de Jul de 2020

This course was interesting and useful. I wish we could have seen more examples of sustainability programs and policies that are working in various parts of the world. I love the notion of completing the assessments until you have mastery. The rubric for written work was very basic and allowed for some students with subpar assignments to get full 4 out of 4 points.

por Yohara R

25 de Nov de 2020

Wonderful course. The one thing I wished was different is the course name. The quizzes are pretty hard and the assignments are pretty focused on the application of knowledge as well. So I personally think the word "Introduction" in the course name undermines its contents and therefore knowledge gained by the person doing it. Otherwise, it is a great course.

por luisa v

3 de Jul de 2020

This course is really good. You can learn a lot with the informations and etc. However, the activities are kinda hard for me... I have to do the same one a lot of times to finally be approved. But my first language is not english and I am "young", so it can be just for me. As I said before, I think its a great course and you´ll probably like it!

por Inna Y

7 de Fev de 2021

The course is interesting and I've got to know a lot of new things.

The course is already old for 2020-21, as it was made in 2011. There are new statistics and development in environmental science while the last 9 years. A lot of questions in the tests are a bit vague, in my opinion, questions should be formulated clearly.

por Zdenka P

25 de Nov de 2015

A very comprehensive introduction, well structured and narrated. Video lectures were interesting and easy-to-follow. I liked the fact that TED talks and other video sources were used in the syllabus. Also, the course book is well written. My only addition to it would be to include more solution-based topics.

por Mayuri K

28 de Jun de 2020

This course is an excellent introduction to sustainability. The videos lectures and quizzes are interesting, readings are relevant, and assignments encourages learner's to apply concepts covered to real life situations. Only area for improvement is the need for updating the content with current data.

por Vitor C

8 de Mar de 2019

The course is very complete on it's subjects and points, but should have more slides and some times be more grafic about some examples, this makes the lessons boring and harder to follow because there is a massive amount of informations. Also have too much questions on the quizzes.

por Pooja L

15 de Out de 2017

Excellent understanding of relevant sustainability issues that are affecting the world. Though I feel some of the data is a little dated now. Ease of instruction and enough reference material to go back and brush up on topics that you find relevant or want to explore further.

por Emelyn L

13 de Out de 2020

Really got my mind grinding with the peer review assignments and think beyond the course material. Some questions were tricky or subtly worded so we had to read them very carefully.

However, some videos were fuzzy and if all are mandatory to watch, DON'T mark it as optional!

por Mariam I

29 de Dez de 2020

I enjoyed this course a lot. However, there are some lectures where there need to be more clarifications made about the topics discussed. Additionally, the course could be a little bit outdated and need some updates with regard to some topics.

por Nonica G

23 de Ago de 2019

It was a great course that's well structured. it covered all the aspects and gave us a picture how interdependent each sphere is. It's time that we all understand and accordingly lead our daily lives with the maximum possible sustainable use.

por Supot S

31 de Ago de 2020

The course has provided really useful information which started from the basic and slowly guide the learners into more specific content. A really awesome course for students who want the basic so they can develop further more on the future.

por Emiy L

24 de Nov de 2020

Great course, learned heaps about the industry. The only downside is I wasn't sure how up to date the stats were, as course content indicated circa 2005-2010. Other than that, it was really insightful!

por Jennifer A

22 de Ago de 2016

I thought this course did a fine job of breaking down foundational concepts from the field sustainability in an understandable manner. The right combination of coursework, readings, and lecture for me.

por Peter B

29 de Mai de 2020

The course is very enlightening on the thoughts living on this planet in a sustainable way. While some facts are outdated (and need receive) they are nonetheless relevant for training

por Suchana D

13 de Mai de 2020

A very good course to have basic understanding of sustainable development. A learner from different background like me would find it much helpful in exploring a new field of interest.

por Emma S

26 de Ago de 2020

I learned a lot of great information but the lectures and videos are kind of outdated. It would be great to have some more information on sustainability from the most recent decade.

por Laurence C

14 de Abr de 2020

A really good overview of the sustainability. It gives the energy (sustainable?) to go further. Just a comment: it would be great to update some videos as the world changes. Thanks

por Marianne T

6 de Out de 2019

Took a while to get used to the prof a bit...but now I think he's great! Also, I like how slow he describes things and how well he explains. I would recommend this class.

por Timothy L

5 de Abr de 2020

Very good introduction to Sustainability. It was enjoyable and easy to follow and at the same time I learnt a lot. Some parts are a little bit out of date.

por RICARDO M C

17 de Out de 2020

I changed my mind about sustainability and the current situation in the world with this course, however, the information it is not updated to 2020

por Ryan T

25 de Out de 2019

A great course for general learning on the path of sustainability. You will learn a higher level of science as opposed to politicized propaganda.

por Carlos A S M

19 de Jul de 2020

It is a great starting course to engage in sustainability and create solid baseline knowledge foundations to undertake a career in this area.