Chevron Left
Voltar para Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research da instituição Universidade Erasmus de Rotterdam

4.7
estrelas
96 classificações
24 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome! Are you looking to learn more about how to conduct scientific research, specifically in an urban or local context? Then you have found the right course: Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research by the Institute for Housing and Urban Development Studies (IHS), Erasmus University Rotterdam. During the course you will gain more insight in the different steps of the research cycle, and build a firm foundation for your own future research endeavors. Before any (urban) researcher may start conducting research, it is crucial to understand the different aspects and elements of doing research. The course will guide you through the various steps of the research cycle to provide you with the basic knowledge necessary for any Master-level program, but with a special focus on urban and local development. The course starts with introductory lectures on the problem statement, research objective, empirical cycle and the research question. Over the following weeks you will also learn the components and criteria of the theoretical framework and operationalization, research strategies, and the collection and analysis of quantitative and qualitative data. You will be provided with the necessary tools to understand and evaluate these key steps in scientific research by watching video lectures with in-video questions and by completing the final peer review, which will use all the elements you have learnt throughout the course....

Melhores avaliações

TS
22 de Nov de 2020

Such a rigorous, thorough and enjoyable course - you really feel like you are learning fantastic content and technical skills. it behaves well as a foundational framework for urban analytics.

AT
16 de Jul de 2020

A very useful course and worth to join. Learned new applied Social Science methods in specific details for doing urban research.

Filtrar por:

1 — 24 de 24 Avaliações para o Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research

por Syeda I N

24 de Set de 2019

It has helped me a lot. It was a very effective course on Social Science Methods for Urban Research in Studying Cities. Thanks a lot to Course era and the IHS family to give me such an opportunity to gather knowledge once again after completing UMDT 5 in 2014. It was great!!

por Augusto A

26 de Mai de 2020

This is a great course for those who want to pursue in studying cities.

por Katheryn J P P

7 de Out de 2020

Very good course. It helped me with my degree project.

por Satwant B

28 de Dez de 2019

The course on Studying cities has helped me to expand my scope pf research in urban studies form Historical research methods to a interdisciplinary methodology. The video lectures, notes and assignments have kept me on my toes and enhanced my research skills as social scientist.

por Tabinda S

23 de Nov de 2020

Such a rigorous, thorough and enjoyable course - you really feel like you are learning fantastic content and technical skills. it behaves well as a foundational framework for urban analytics.

por Аксанов Д О

21 de Mar de 2020

The course is enjoyable and exciting! Being a non-specialist I got great pleasure studying this interesting and comprehensive course to improve my general knowledge.

por Aye N C T

16 de Jul de 2020

A very useful course and worth to join. Learned new applied Social Science methods in specific details for doing urban research.

por Michael

13 de Jul de 2020

Exceptionally well crafted modules. The videos and assignments encourage and task learning .

por Lina J

4 de Nov de 2020

A very clear and concise course, good marking methods.

por Jigme T

12 de Nov de 2020

Very insightful and lively learning materials

por Jannatul F R

31 de Ago de 2020

Excellent course and I have learnt a lot.

por Saurabh P

8 de Jun de 2020

Great Teachers and very useful course.

por Rakib B

12 de Nov de 2020

Comprehensive and well defined Course

por Basel T

27 de Jul de 2020

very good and informative

por Sergio A E F

18 de Jul de 2020

Good learning experience!

por Arbe F

7 de Nov de 2020

Excellent materials

por Safa A

18 de Nov de 2020

excellent

por Abhimanyu C

14 de Jul de 2020

A really good basic course that will give you a fundamental understanding of conducting local/urban research. The videos are self-explanatory and informative, gives insight into actually putting your research ideas into practice. However, I feel the last part of the course, week 5, is a little hectic to get your work reviewed by others. Secondly, I am not completely convinced about peer-reviewed evaluation, because different people have different levels of understanding and processing ideas. I would like professors linked to this course to give their final feedback on the work.

por Branislav T T

22 de Mai de 2020

Everything went almost perfect, except the last task which was too demanding. I recommend to think about another, more appropriate and not so time consuming knowledge assessment methods in this course. Also, some student are revengeful, meaning if you assess their task objectively that those are wear tasks, they do the same to your task no matter how good you did yours. Try to think about more objective way of assessing the final task as well.

por Onigbokun S A

25 de Abr de 2020

This is a very good course for researchers at all level. I sent my professor the link to share with his students who would be writing their thesis. The modules were adequately explained by the instructors.

por Prokofev A D

3 de Set de 2020

A useful course, but too much dry methodology, I would like more various interesting examples of urban studies. Also, the final task seemed rather boring.

por Karthik M

26 de Mai de 2020

peer graded assignments was a little bit hectic, as many peers didn't involve in proper grading methods

por Ligina p v J

20 de Jul de 2020

Its really good. It gives indepth knowledge about Research.

por Lea A

29 de Nov de 2020

course not clear, missing definitions for main words, example used aren't clear ... too much videos, I prefer some text were we can read a study and try to analyze it during the course not just in quizzes ...