Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
948 classificações
306 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

UU

Apr 08, 2018

Great efforts are done to design the course.It was really effective and informative course.It was amazing to know about different renewable resources and technologies discussed in the course.

MA

Jul 20, 2018

A very fruitful course in knowledge and language.\n\nI also benefit from the style you use on your videos .\n\nI use some sites such as quizlet.\n\nI got 92.4 % . Thank you very much.

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

por Hoa D

Aug 20, 2017

I have learned a lot from this course, not only English but also the content in this course. Now, I know more about climate change, its impacts and the need of doing something before too late. Thank you!

por Pauline M A

Jul 07, 2017

I would love to experience this again. I learned a lot from this course and I will really recommend this to my friends or classmates. Thank you!

por Milton J H R

Jul 07, 2017

Excellent content and dynamic activities!

por Jorge M

Apr 26, 2018

Excellent course, I recommend it to learn about climate change and improve English!

por Hewa S F

Jul 03, 2017

thank you very much for the best cource I take in part it

por Jason C

Jun 23, 2017

It's first time for learn this way, So expect.

por Lindy L

Nov 18, 2017

Taking this course is really a great help for me. I've been teaching SCIENCE in grade 9 and the topic climate change will be discussed on the third quarter. A lot of information i get from this course which i can use in my class discussions.

Thank you so much.

por GUO Z

Feb 10, 2018

Very good course that I've learnt which I'll recommend to my friends!

por Leonardo A

Jul 11, 2018

I think this course is special for understand the clima change, very good.

por Nab R P

Mar 23, 2019

This is course to have a diversified look into the use of English language.

por Felipe S d C

May 25, 2019

I recommend this course because it contributed to much my knowledge,

especially with my English language skills.

por Beata K

May 30, 2019

love it

por Ezequiel B J

Jun 03, 2019

Great course for english starters, hoped to have more advance english, but the articles and information they gave where interesant.

por AL-MUNTASER B A A N A

Jun 30, 2019

Thinks a lot for this coursera . It give me alot of Information and knowledge . I am grateful to you.

por Rosendo M A

Jul 03, 2019

ES UN CURSO QUE EN LO PERSONAL ME GUSTA MUCHO, CON TEMAS DE MUCHO INTERES.

por Basil S A

Jul 07, 2019

good

por Bryan D T C

Jul 13, 2019

Un curso muy didáctico

por José R I

Jul 13, 2019

Excellent course! Perfect for improving the English of those of us who are not English speakers

por Ingrid N O S

Jul 15, 2019

It was an amazing experience to learn more about engineering and technology, hope to use this knowledge in my diary life !

por Nathalie C

Jul 15, 2019

perfect and very interesting

por Richard E N O

Jul 15, 2019

Nice way to combine science and learning english with interesting topics such as climate change, new technologies, renewable energy sources, etc.

por Jose M A

Jul 14, 2019

The course uses an exciting way to introduce scientific language. And the study case, Climate Change, is an excellent matter.

por Wedja M

Jul 15, 2019

an incredible way to learn english

por Juan F N F

Jul 23, 2019

Excelente curso