Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
939 classificações
305 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

UU

Apr 08, 2018

Great efforts are done to design the course.It was really effective and informative course.It was amazing to know about different renewable resources and technologies discussed in the course.

MA

Jul 20, 2018

A very fruitful course in knowledge and language.\n\nI also benefit from the style you use on your videos .\n\nI use some sites such as quizlet.\n\nI got 92.4 % . Thank you very much.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

por Lillian B

Sep 08, 2017

Excellent!!!!!

por Bruno A d S S

Jul 23, 2017

Is a Great Course, helped me to Discovery new vocabularies and learnt about the Environment!!

por Nathalia P d O

Jun 14, 2017

Curso muito didático, apesar do meu nível de inglês ainda consigo acompanhar as aulas.

Achei perfeito o material e os professores, sem dúvidas aprendo a cada dia.

por Konovalova M

Jul 21, 2017

Thank you for this course, American Center Moscow and METOO!

por assi f e d

Jul 12, 2017

bonne initiative

por Bhavana

Jan 15, 2018

This is awesome course thank you for such a easy way of learning. Instructors are so good at expressing and explaining the concepts.

por Abdul H

Nov 17, 2017

Great!.

por Jamal O M

Jul 06, 2017

It was a great course. I think it works for everyone. While you are learning about modal verbs, present progressive, and intensifiers, you will learn a lot of information about climate change and renewable energy. It is great especially for every one likes to work as a scientist or engineer.

por ahmed a a

Jul 15, 2017

Its great...!!

por Michel W N

Oct 02, 2017

Excelente, extremamente instrutivo tanto no sentido técnico quanto no sentido informativo. Recomendo.

por Serhii S

Feb 13, 2018

I from Ukraine, really liked the course, instructors are professionals in their field, everything is very clear and interesting, thank you guys for the course, good luck and prosperity!!!

por Afaf m

Nov 22, 2017

GREAT ! ^^

por Hoa D

Aug 20, 2017

I have learned a lot from this course, not only English but also the content in this course. Now, I know more about climate change, its impacts and the need of doing something before too late. Thank you!

por Pauline M A

Jul 07, 2017

I would love to experience this again. I learned a lot from this course and I will really recommend this to my friends or classmates. Thank you!

por Milton J H R

Jul 07, 2017

Excellent content and dynamic activities!

por Jorge M

Apr 26, 2018

Excellent course, I recommend it to learn about climate change and improve English!

por Hewa S F

Jul 03, 2017

thank you very much for the best cource I take in part it

por Alexei R

Jul 19, 2017

It´has been a really good course en which I could learn to know technic words and new language. I recomend you.

por SeulGi L

Jul 12, 2017

It was awesome!

por Jason C

Jun 23, 2017

It's first time for learn this way, So expect.

por Lindy L

Nov 18, 2017

Taking this course is really a great help for me. I've been teaching SCIENCE in grade 9 and the topic climate change will be discussed on the third quarter. A lot of information i get from this course which i can use in my class discussions.

Thank you so much.

por GUO Z

Feb 10, 2018

Very good course that I've learnt which I'll recommend to my friends!

por Shamil A

Feb 12, 2018

Great!

por UroojZaidi

Apr 08, 2018

Great efforts are done to design the course.It was really effective and informative course.It was amazing to know about different renewable resources and technologies discussed in the course.

por Abigail F P

Nov 30, 2017

I have learned so much that I'm very excited to share them with my students. Thank you for coming up with this great course.