Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
956 classificações
309 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

UU

Apr 08, 2018

Great efforts are done to design the course.It was really effective and informative course.It was amazing to know about different renewable resources and technologies discussed in the course.

MA

Jul 20, 2018

A very fruitful course in knowledge and language.\n\nI also benefit from the style you use on your videos .\n\nI use some sites such as quizlet.\n\nI got 92.4 % . Thank you very much.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

por Clarin M

Jun 14, 2018

coursera is the best place for study

por Sergio M

May 09, 2018

This course has helped me very much to improve my English communication skills, because an English learner I need interesting themes like this to continue practice. I will definitely take some other courses of University of Pennsylvania.

por Iwan P

May 13, 2018

Great course, I enjoy it.

por Benedict M P A

Nov 17, 2017

Thank you for this graduating this course. It is timely as part of my classroom teaching. The Global warming theme is such timely to teach now to educate my students about their part in alleviating this global warming trend. Once again, thank you so much to my instructors: Mr. Jack Sullivan and Miss Alyssa Swanson.

por Maria E M

Sep 17, 2017

Es un curso muy agradable y amigable, nada aburrido, hay diferente tipo de actividades a realizar.

por Dariya G

Jun 10, 2017

Отличный курс, очень разноплановые задания. Все понравилось.

por llookforward

Jan 18, 2018

good class for me

por Anuar

Aug 07, 2017

Very interesting course!

por Faizullina K N

Jul 30, 2017

Interesting course and useful themes)))

por Luis A O D

Jul 10, 2017

Es un curso excelente. Bien planeado, muy buenos contenidos y herramientas.

por Andrea Z

Nov 09, 2017

This course includes so many interesting topics. It is just amazing!

por Akrm s a

Jul 09, 2017

It's great opportunity to improve my English skills, while I'm gaining new scientific information.Thank you very much to all coursera community.

por TAIYALI

Jun 06, 2017

Excellent and useful

por Albert M A

Oct 12, 2017

Amazing.

por Yue X

Jul 11, 2017

I have learned many Englih skills and knowledge about environment. It's very practical and instructive!

por Luis E S F

Jun 12, 2018

It has been an amazing journey, I really learnt a lot of things, and this is gonna be very helpful for my professional life.

por Derek D V

Jun 21, 2017

Thanks! I loved it!

por Bingkun Q

Aug 22, 2017

Very helpful for the non-native speakers to learn English!

por Ghani J

Mar 31, 2018

It is a very informative course and has developed my knowledge about global warning and its consequences along with English Language structures. I would definitely recommend you to join this informative course.

por Tina I

Aug 26, 2017

excelent

por Erin R D G

May 30, 2017

Fue muy gratificante y reflexivo este curso, para tomar conciencia de que nuestro planeta nos necesita, y tenemos que usar los recursos naturales de manera responsable, porque los que primero sentimos las consecuencias del cambio climático, somos nosotros mismos. Gracias al generoso pueblo norteamericano,que a través de sus autoridades, nos brindan la oportunidad de tomar estos cursos para desarrollarnos como mejores personas.

por Tathiana M

Jul 08, 2017

Amazing course, I learned a lot about climate change and my English has improved a lot!

por Willie V

Nov 01, 2017

Great course to learn especially for those who have inclination to Science, where all the science concepts are applied in English sentence construction!

por Veronica l L

Sep 15, 2017

Excellent!!!!!!!!!

por Rodrigo A M P

May 26, 2017

It is one great English course in which grammar is given within the course's content! I think the course is also good for advanced learner's as it reviews grammar points, gets in touch with the American English (for the ones who has been studying the British and Aussie variations), learns new skills!