Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
984 classificações
321 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

UU

Apr 08, 2018

Great efforts are done to design the course.It was really effective and informative course.It was amazing to know about different renewable resources and technologies discussed in the course.

MA

Jul 20, 2018

A very fruitful course in knowledge and language.\n\nI also benefit from the style you use on your videos .\n\nI use some sites such as quizlet.\n\nI got 92.4 % . Thank you very much.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

por Maha N E

Mar 04, 2019

This course is very useful ,added to my knowledge a lot , made me aware of the changes which are happening around us and encouraged me to make change in my lifestyle and be a part of the solution to help our environment to get better. Thanks

por ZHOU K

Mar 13, 2019

Challenging enough and full of materials.

por Nab R P

Mar 23, 2019

This is course to have a diversified look into the use of English language.

por Axi

Dec 19, 2018

I am very grateful to the teachers Alyssa Swanson and Jack Sullivan for this excellent course!

All the material presented in the course is the highest quality, the explanations are clear and understandable, all videos are provided with a review of learning the material, all the tasks are perfectly prepared. In addition, most importantly - the relevance and importance of materials and the positive attitude of teachers! Made cool! Thank you very march.

por Dennis J Q H

Dec 23, 2018

I am so pleased with this course. I have learned a lot. Thank you very much :)

por Kaung S T

Dec 22, 2018

It is a really good course for me. It will help me to know in the field of STEM.

por Solongo T

Dec 10, 2018

interesting and very understandable

por Biligtsan B

Dec 10, 2018

good

por George P

Dec 26, 2018

It is very easy to understand and learn and it is very enjoyable with many quizzes and videos and readings.

por Pavel K

Feb 17, 2019

Good start for those who are entering an university

por ALLENETTE M B C

Dec 11, 2018

knowledgeable and refreshing course. I am learning insights on how to help lessen the global warming.

por Omar A

Jan 14, 2019

very very useful

por Tran N H N

Jan 26, 2019

this is not only useful for non English-speaking country, but this also provide a supportive English-learning environment.

por jorge a d c

Dec 12, 2018

muy buen curso

por Leonardo A

Jul 11, 2018

I think this course is special for understand the clima change, very good.

por Mohamed H A

Jul 20, 2018

A very fruitful course in knowledge and language.

I also benefit from the style you use on your videos .

I use some sites such as quizlet.

I got 92.4 % . Thank you very much.

por Jefferson S J

Apr 14, 2018

Excellent

por FRANCISCO B D Q

Jul 04, 2018

if you're looking for new vocabulary and ideas about our planet this is a good place to start.

por Ricardo N M

Jul 08, 2018

This course is very valuable, because it improve us in the english language and to same time teach us about enviromental issue very important for the human being.

por Aleksandr L

Mar 20, 2018

This course was awesome!

por Gilson d M R

May 06, 2018

Excellent course helped a lot in expanding my vocabulary. Thank you.

por Shamil A

Feb 12, 2018

Great!

por UroojZaidi

Apr 08, 2018

Great efforts are done to design the course.It was really effective and informative course.It was amazing to know about different renewable resources and technologies discussed in the course.

por Adriana K

Jun 20, 2018

Very good, helped me a lot!

por Seungo K

Jul 02, 2018

Good one.