Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
941 classificações
305 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

UU

Apr 08, 2018

Great efforts are done to design the course.It was really effective and informative course.It was amazing to know about different renewable resources and technologies discussed in the course.

MA

Jul 20, 2018

A very fruitful course in knowledge and language.\n\nI also benefit from the style you use on your videos .\n\nI use some sites such as quizlet.\n\nI got 92.4 % . Thank you very much.

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

por Subim G

May 23, 2019

it is so good and easy to use

por Rustam

Aug 10, 2019

So far I like everything.

por Pamela M

Aug 13, 2019

I really enjoyed learning new vocabulary and how to use certain grammar structures

por Özgür Ö

Aug 14, 2019

it was great

por KARTHIK K

Aug 16, 2019

Really A Fantastic Course. Before I enroll I thought it is only an English course, but the contents used made the course very informative. I sincerely thank the Professors for their commitment in this course. Thank You one again.

por Srijan S

Aug 23, 2019

Solar energy is radiant light and heat from the Sun that is harnessed using a range of ever-evolving technologies such as solar heating, photovoltaics, solar thermal energy, solar architecture, molten salt power plants and artificial photosynthesis.[1][2]

It is an important source of renewable energy and its technologies are broadly characterized as either passive solar or active solar depending on how they capture and distribute solar energy or convert it into solar power. Active solar techniques include the use of photovoltaic systems, concentrated solar power and solar water heating to harness the energy. Passive solar techniques include orienting a building to the Sun, selecting materials with favorable thermal mass or light-dispersing properties, and designing spaces that naturally circulate air.

The large magnitude of solar energy available makes it a highly appealing source of electricity. The United Nations Development Programme in its 2000 World Energy Assessment found that the annual potential of solar energy was 1,575–49,837 exajoules(EJ). This is several times larger than the total world energy consumption, which was 559.8 EJ in 2012.[3][4]

por Rosendo M A

Jul 03, 2019

ES UN CURSO QUE EN LO PERSONAL ME GUSTA MUCHO, CON TEMAS DE MUCHO INTERES.

por Basil S A

Jul 07, 2019

good

por Ingrid N O S

Jul 15, 2019

It was an amazing experience to learn more about engineering and technology, hope to use this knowledge in my diary life !

por Nathalie C

Jul 15, 2019

perfect and very interesting

por Bryan D T C

Jul 13, 2019

Un curso muy didáctico

por José R I

Jul 13, 2019

Excellent course! Perfect for improving the English of those of us who are not English speakers

por Jose M A

Jul 14, 2019

The course uses an exciting way to introduce scientific language. And the study case, Climate Change, is an excellent matter.

por Richard E N O

Jul 15, 2019

Nice way to combine science and learning english with interesting topics such as climate change, new technologies, renewable energy sources, etc.

por Riya R

Sep 07, 2019

nice

por Prapaporn P

Sep 08, 2019

I love this course! Even though English it's not my first language but teachers are using the easy sentence and talked slow. It's helped me a lot and make me craving to learn more. I have bachelor's degree in Materials Science and I think I'm going to get my master soon. Thank you for inspiring me!

por Cai Y

Sep 10, 2019

I think the content is really interesting and not hard. For non-native speaker, it's a good way to imporve listening and oral English.

por pushpatamang

Sep 12, 2019

it is very difficult . but i did not lose my confidence and do ahead . today i fell very happy . and thank you coursera .

por Kristian C B

Sep 19, 2019

This course has thought me valuable lessons about climate change and its effect in the environment and the people.

por 陳禾森

Oct 16, 2019

This is a very good course for an engineer who needs to improve the skill of listening and presenting.

por Gabriel R R

Sep 28, 2019

I'm very grateful because I really learned a lot with this course. It was great and I enjoyed it so much that I want to continue learning.

por Aaaitaram t

Oct 19, 2019

gooddsvrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

por Sachin S

Oct 19, 2019

This online course is very useful so l like it very much.

por Po-Chieh W

Oct 03, 2019

it's a really useful English learning program for STEM.