Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
1,814 classificações
597 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

EC
25 de Set de 2020

I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation to our instructors, Mr Jack and Ms Alyssa for an enjoyable course on STEM!\n\nIt was a very good learning experience!\n\nThank you!

DR
5 de Jul de 2017

Great course! You can learn about modal verbs, intensifiers, present progressive and much more very easily. And is important too to know the methods and techniques for write a scientific article.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 585 Avaliações para o English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

por Kristian C B

18 de Set de 2019

This course has thought me valuable lessons about climate change and its effect in the environment and the people.

por Dubrovina I G

27 de Abr de 2020

Many thanks to the organizers of the course for the opportunity to replenish their knowledge about this topic !!!

por Iris C M P T

16 de Abr de 2020

The course shows important concepts for STEM, I am so thankful for the financial aid that coursera provides to me

por Felipe S d C

24 de Mai de 2019

I recommend this course because it contributed to much my knowledge,

especially with my English language skills.

por Hailyn V R G

13 de Dez de 2020

Un curso excelente, es muy entretenido, dinámico e interesante. Me gusto mucho, y los profesores son increíbles!

por Oscar B A

20 de Jul de 2020

Useful course about climate change and nanotechnology applications; also, you can improve your language- skills.

por João P A

24 de Jun de 2020

Very complete course. It is very good to people that are starting the studies, mainly with scientific interests.

por Anahi V H

10 de Mai de 2020

Amazing, It´s a great way to learn about climate change and english.

helped me practice and improve my English

por Shahinaz E R

28 de Dez de 2020

Thank you very much,

very valuable information,

and the instructors are very dynamic, sensible, and reach others.

por Alexei R

19 de Jul de 2017

It´has been a really good course en which I could learn to know technic words and new language. I recomend you.

por Maria G

29 de Mai de 2020

Excellent course! I've increased my English vocabulary and reviewed several important questions about science.

por Loienko A

22 de Mai de 2020

Thank you so much for this experience, for this strongly interesting and useful course. I will recommend it.

por Joseph G

13 de Nov de 2017

I had fun accomplishing this course and learned so much. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania.

por George P

25 de Dez de 2018

It is very easy to understand and learn and it is very enjoyable with many quizzes and videos and readings.

por KOBBI M

8 de Dez de 2019

Thank you for this course

It was very well organized and rich in technical informations and grammer rules.

por Sandra J

3 de Jul de 2017

I recommend this course, because I could increase my english vocabulary and improve in my english skill.

por Yue X

11 de Jul de 2017

I have learned many Englih skills and knowledge about environment. It's very practical and instructive!

por Alimbetova B

19 de Mai de 2020

I very like it. And of coure, again and again I will be back and refresh my thought about this course.

por 陳禾森

16 de Out de 2019

This is a very good course for an engineer who needs to improve the skill of listening and presenting.

por Aliosha G

18 de Mai de 2017

Es un curso muy bueno para mejorar nuestras habilidades en inglés y conocer vocabulario especializado.

por AL-MUNTASER B A A N A

30 de Jun de 2019

Thinks a lot for this coursera . It give me alot of Information and knowledge . I am grateful to you.

por ALLENETTE M B C

11 de Dez de 2018

knowledgeable and refreshing course. I am learning insights on how to help lessen the global warming.

por Michel W N

2 de Out de 2017

Excelente, extremamente instrutivo tanto no sentido técnico quanto no sentido informativo. Recomendo.

por José A

19 de Mai de 2020

This is a great course. I learnt much in English, science, technology and environment. Thanks a lot.

por Meryem B

27 de Fev de 2020

I enjoyed very much this course, the videos and lectures are clear and the exams are fair. Thank you