Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
1,976 classificações
650 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

TL
14 de Mar de 2021

Great for the intermediate learner. You would find new terminologies in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The materials are easy to be understood and the teachers are communicative.

EC
25 de Set de 2020

I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation to our instructors, Mr Jack and Ms Alyssa for an enjoyable course on STEM!\n\nIt was a very good learning experience!\n\nThank you!

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 639 Avaliações para o English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

por Bauyrzhan S

27 de Jul de 2020

The course contains helpful and interesting information, good instructions about scientific advances from 2010s. A nice introductory course about science for beginners

por Mónica V M R

11 de Set de 2020

Los temas son muy interesantes y eso te motiva a seguir leyendo, ya que aprendes ingles y lo que esta sucediendo entre la comunidad científica, en el área citada.

por Ricardo N M

8 de Jul de 2018

This course is very valuable, because it improve us in the english language and to same time teach us about enviromental issue very important for the human being.

por Nathalia P d O

13 de Jun de 2017

Curso muito didático, apesar do meu nível de inglês ainda consigo acompanhar as aulas.

Achei perfeito o material e os professores, sem dúvidas aprendo a cada dia.

por Gabriela P

9 de Jun de 2017

It is an excellent course. This course is rich in information about climate change, global warming. Many thanks to the instructors and University of Philadelphia.

por Rosalie E

1 de Mar de 2021

It always pays off to have new learnings each time. Thank you COURSERA for this course, this reminds me time and again to continue to review, read, and practice.

por Lucas M

5 de Jan de 2021

Em geral é um curso voltado para estudantes com nível Intermediário de Inglês. É bem consistente e reforça principalmente as habilidades de reading e writing.

por younsi z

7 de Jun de 2020

The course was a comprehensive and really effective and informative course. I would like to express my gratitude to Coursera and Penn University.

thanks a lot

por Tun L A

15 de Jan de 2018

To develop systematically your English language skills and to improve scientifically you knowledge about global warming. This course will give you all above.

por Miguel A G M

4 de Set de 2020

Un curso que nos ayuda a comprender mejor los conceptos científicos en inglés y aparte nos nutre de vocabulario y gramática que se utiliza en la universidad

por Leandro S

24 de Fev de 2020

Excelente curso, adorei a metodologia, a qualidade dos textos para leitura, e dos vídeos dos professores, super recomendo, ampliou muito o meu vocabulário!

por Piangtawan C

17 de Abr de 2020

Very well-engineered course suitable for non-English speakers who are interested in science. No need for scientific background. Many engaging activities.

por Rick R C L

19 de Dez de 2020

Overall, the course was able to help me improve my English skills and proficiency while providing me information on how to take care of the environment.

por Willie V

1 de Nov de 2017

Great course to learn especially for those who have inclination to Science, where all the science concepts are applied in English sentence construction!

por Gabo

23 de Fev de 2021

It is a great course the couching and topics are very well and have information real of the pollution by use fossil fuel and effect of greenhouse gas.

por Sophía G

10 de Jul de 2017

The topics covered in the STEM course are of transcendence for all of us, how it is alternative sources of renewable energy and reduce global warming

por Mohammad M A

29 de Mai de 2017

A very very big thanks for providing such an amazing course, after taking this course I really become more comfortable with my career in Engineering.

por Karen M S

5 de Dez de 2019

Me gustó mucho. Es un gran curso para dominar vocabulario en inglés y aprender más sobre diversos temas relacionados a la ciencia y las matemáticas.

por Dolores S

26 de Fev de 2021

The most interesting part of the course was Going Green wherein there were new technologies/discoveries creating new solutions in renewable energy.

por Richard E N O

14 de Jul de 2019

Nice way to combine science and learning english with interesting topics such as climate change, new technologies, renewable energy sources, etc.

por Adrián B

24 de Fev de 2021

Even some years after releasing this course is still actual. It is pointing at problems which should be solved already but we know they are not.

por Enderson N C

3 de Mai de 2020

Excelent!! The course helped me to improve my language skills and my knowledge STEM subjects.

Materials are very intresting and useful.

Thank you.

por Akrm s a

9 de Jul de 2017

It's great opportunity to improve my English skills, while I'm gaining new scientific information.Thank you very much to all coursera community.

por Pauline M A

7 de Jul de 2017

I would love to experience this again. I learned a lot from this course and I will really recommend this to my friends or classmates. Thank you!

por Marcus L

22 de Mai de 2020

Great course with appropriate language and vocabulary. There are valuable discussions about very important subjects, especially climate change.