Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
1,812 classificações
597 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

EC
25 de Set de 2020

I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation to our instructors, Mr Jack and Ms Alyssa for an enjoyable course on STEM!\n\nIt was a very good learning experience!\n\nThank you!

DR
5 de Jul de 2017

Great course! You can learn about modal verbs, intensifiers, present progressive and much more very easily. And is important too to know the methods and techniques for write a scientific article.

Filtrar por:

526 — 550 de 585 Avaliações para o English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

por Guilherme S d M

8 de Ago de 2020

Very good course. It's amazing how they talk about a specific topic (climate change), but approaches a lot of areas of sciences, from hydrology to nanotechnology . It's a course that you'll definitely learn new words and be more aware of a subject of international concern. I will drop one star just because the certificate doesn't have the amount of course hours, which makes it harder to be recognized.

por lainelvidalp@gmail.com

22 de Dez de 2017

This was a marvelous course, it's neccesary to say the way that they use to teach is really good, becouse you can learn about technology and science and at the same tiem you can inprove your grammar. The teachers are really understanble in fonetic and the explanation way. I feel so previligy have the oportunity to took part in this course.

por Бакыт Э

6 de Out de 2020

I started this course spontaneously when i have visited this resource for the first time. And i notice that cource involve students to study seriously. At least more than i predicted. Englush for STEM course was interesting and topic was too interesting and relevent. I enjoy it. And it was good introduction for resource Coursera at all.

por Eugen F

5 de Mai de 2020

I wish there were more stuff related to englisch language instead of climate change problems. It might be helpful for many to add such things like graph description or equations, physic and chemistry experiments description were also good. Anyway, thank Coursera for the free course. It will fit good for the beginners.

por Carol A M L

9 de Abr de 2020

It was an interesting course, I just don't give it 5 stars because I would have liked to have learn about more topics relate with science and engineering, but the course was more focus in environment and renewable energy. Thank you.

por Cleber L S

10 de Jul de 2017

Gostei bastante do curso, da abordagem unindo Inglês com Sustentabilidade, mas acredito que os métodos de avaliação poderiam exigir um pouco mais dos alunos

por Abdelrahman E D

4 de Jul de 2017

Simplified, active, engaging and the best of all that it's scientific :) .. special thanks for you professors and for the Department of State.

por Sargyul A

18 de Jun de 2020

The name of the course does not correspond to its content. The course is about climate change , and not Science, Engineering or Mathematics

por Alfonso L V

30 de Abr de 2020

es muy bueno y tambien interesante recomendado es muy practico y tambien vienen temas de como puedes aprender con el curso facil

por Tsopgni D

11 de Nov de 2019

It is a good course, thinks are very simple and well explained. But mathematics subjects or expressions are not presented enough

por Alexander I D

27 de Mai de 2020

Creo que alguna información no están verdadera. Además, no dicen lo destructivo que es la ganadería para el medio ambiente

por Sh, G

19 de Jun de 2017

It's more challenging than other ELP courses offered by PennState. You can learn a lot after completing this course.

por Deleted A

28 de Ago de 2018

Easy to follow up, easy to understand and attain knowledge about why global warming is world's serious problem.

por Акмарал К

8 de Jul de 2017

Grade course for learning English. I've learnt a lot of new useful words that are related to sciense.

por Luis E C M

30 de Mar de 2018

An excellent course to learn new vocabulary in English, and the most important about Climate Change.

por xinyi d

13 de Jun de 2020

Good for international students who have interests in STEM academic area but haven't been into it.

por Serhii K

30 de Jul de 2017

Expecting for more, this one was a quite powerful start learning English. Thank you a lot!

por Sharmin A

8 de Out de 2020

It was a great course. I got to learn many new scientific words. It was really helpful.

por m i

5 de Jul de 2019

Good course. It made me feel I could try intermediate level English in the next course.

por Julián C

29 de Jan de 2019

No es de mi interés el tema. El titulo anuncia algo distinto a la temática del curso.

por Matteo C

3 de Nov de 2018

Interesting course on energy and enviromental topics for beginner with english

por Diego R

17 de Mar de 2019

Maybe the course can use technical language in other enginiering areas.

por Yolanda i o m

21 de Dez de 2020

Excellent!

Interesting!

Clear!

Visuals and Texts!!

Articles and Games!!

por Michiel B

12 de Jun de 2017

very useful to improve my english and to get extra school credit.

por Mohamed A

23 de Abr de 2020

In my view, it could be more practical if it was longer .