Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
1,714 classificações
561 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

EC
25 de Set de 2020

I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation to our instructors, Mr Jack and Ms Alyssa for an enjoyable course on STEM!\n\nIt was a very good learning experience!\n\nThank you!

DR
5 de Jul de 2017

Great course! You can learn about modal verbs, intensifiers, present progressive and much more very easily. And is important too to know the methods and techniques for write a scientific article.

Filtrar por:

501 — 525 de 549 Avaliações para o English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

por Alfonso L V

30 de Abr de 2020

es muy bueno y tambien interesante recomendado es muy practico y tambien vienen temas de como puedes aprender con el curso facil

por Tsopgni D

11 de Nov de 2019

It is a good course, thinks are very simple and well explained. But mathematics subjects or expressions are not presented enough

por Alexander I D

27 de Mai de 2020

Creo que alguna información no están verdadera. Además, no dicen lo destructivo que es la ganadería para el medio ambiente

por Sh, G

19 de Jun de 2017

It's more challenging than other ELP courses offered by PennState. You can learn a lot after completing this course.

por Deleted A

28 de Ago de 2018

Easy to follow up, easy to understand and attain knowledge about why global warming is world's serious problem.

por Касымжанова А С

8 de Jul de 2017

Grade course for learning English. I've learnt a lot of new useful words that are related to sciense.

por Luis E C M

30 de Mar de 2018

An excellent course to learn new vocabulary in English, and the most important about Climate Change.

por xinyi d

13 de Jun de 2020

Good for international students who have interests in STEM academic area but haven't been into it.

por Serhii K

30 de Jul de 2017

Expecting for more, this one was a quite powerful start learning English. Thank you a lot!

por Sharmin A

8 de Out de 2020

It was a great course. I got to learn many new scientific words. It was really helpful.

por m i

5 de Jul de 2019

Good course. It made me feel I could try intermediate level English in the next course.

por Julián C

29 de Jan de 2019

No es de mi interés el tema. El titulo anuncia algo distinto a la temática del curso.

por Matteo C

3 de Nov de 2018

Interesting course on energy and enviromental topics for beginner with english

por DIEGO F R C

17 de Mar de 2019

Maybe the course can use technical language in other enginiering areas.

por Michiel B

12 de Jun de 2017

very useful to improve my english and to get extra school credit.

por Mohamed A

23 de Abr de 2020

In my view, it could be more practical if it was longer .

por Marcelo V

1 de Set de 2017

Well suited for beginners in the environmental sciences!

por nilo

1 de Out de 2017

Good Job. Great experience in this course. Thank you!

por Dang T D A

6 de Dez de 2018

this course is very good to learn English

por Yuanxing L

26 de Jan de 2020

Useful for learning English in science.

por 윤석진

15 de Set de 2020

peer review and assessment test is fu

por Rodolfo B M

2 de Ago de 2017

Falta tradução, para tirar duvidas.

por Rami H

26 de Mai de 2020

Thank you so much for this course

por SERGIO H P

14 de Mai de 2020

Good material, Thanks a lot!!!

por Pavel K

18 de Mar de 2019

Thank you!!! Very nice course..