Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
2,052 classificações
665 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

TL
14 de Mar de 2021

Great for the intermediate learner. You would find new terminologies in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The materials are easy to be understood and the teachers are communicative.

EC
25 de Set de 2020

I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation to our instructors, Mr Jack and Ms Alyssa for an enjoyable course on STEM!\n\nIt was a very good learning experience!\n\nThank you!

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 657 Avaliações para o English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

por Richard E N O

14 de Jul de 2019

Nice way to combine science and learning english with interesting topics such as climate change, new technologies, renewable energy sources, etc.

por Adrián B

24 de Fev de 2021

Even some years after releasing this course is still actual. It is pointing at problems which should be solved already but we know they are not.

por Enderson N C

3 de Mai de 2020

Excelent!! The course helped me to improve my language skills and my knowledge STEM subjects.

Materials are very intresting and useful.

Thank you.

por Akrm s a

9 de Jul de 2017

It's great opportunity to improve my English skills, while I'm gaining new scientific information.Thank you very much to all coursera community.

por Pauline M A

7 de Jul de 2017

I would love to experience this again. I learned a lot from this course and I will really recommend this to my friends or classmates. Thank you!

por Marcus L

22 de Mai de 2020

Great course with appropriate language and vocabulary. There are valuable discussions about very important subjects, especially climate change.

por Jorge L G T

14 de Abr de 2021

Great course! I learned a lot of about science.

The teacher are really good and explain you very clear.

You should take this course.

100/100.

por José F P B

14 de Out de 2019

This course has everything necessary to learn English , makes me more confident in this language , I feel very happy to have this opportunity.

por Adriano H F

1 de Dez de 2019

O curso é muito bom!!! Os instrutores são extraordinários. Os conceitos científicos foram apresentados com clareza bem como a língua inglesa.

por SANTHA A

17 de Jan de 2018

A very interesting, useful, wonderful course, through which I learnt a lot about global warming and saving Planet Earth. Thank you very much.

por Gabriel R R

27 de Set de 2019

I'm very grateful because I really learned a lot with this course. It was great and I enjoyed it so much that I want to continue learning.

por Jonatan V d M F

16 de Jun de 2020

Very good course for those interested in improving their english and learn about the environment at the same time. I really recommend it.

por Israel R G

28 de Abr de 2020

its a great course to know about enviromental vocabulary and lear grammatical rules, with the videos we can practice the listening. Tanks

por Vielka D F M

18 de Ago de 2017

Thanks, to all the instructors for their lessons, was of great use for me in my knowledge and application learned, thanks again everyone

por Radia s

30 de Dez de 2020

it was good experience for me I'lm so happy to be a memeber in coursera and want to repeat it again with another course in other dpmaine

por Margarita R

5 de Mai de 2020

Thank you! It was truely an enjoyable and helpful course! I am sure the knowledge I recieved in this course will help me in my career.

por Cai Y

10 de Set de 2019

I think the content is really interesting and not hard. For non-native speaker, it's a good way to imporve listening and oral English.

por Bahareh G

9 de Set de 2020

This course gives information about climate change and the actions that are taken to offset it .that was informative and interesting.

por Gyaneshor k

5 de Mar de 2020

i am very happy because I have completed this course.I am thankful to related members of this university as well as this university

por Bhavana

14 de Jan de 2018

This is awesome course thank you for such a easy way of learning. Instructors are so good at expressing and explaining the concepts.

por Ezequiel B J

2 de Jun de 2019

Great course for english starters, hoped to have more advance english, but the articles and information they gave where interesant.

por Anastasia A

7 de Out de 2017

Thank you for the course. I highly appreciate your effort as now I use all the information provided when talking about this topic.

por Luis B

14 de Jun de 2017

Excellent course, for learning new terms on Science, Math and Technology, at the same time learning and practice English Language.

por Fernanda V

11 de Nov de 2021

The course is, in my opinion, a course that everyone who study these areas, should to take. I learned a lot about climate change.

por Vicky D

20 de Mai de 2017

Its a great way of reviewing and learning once again English with the mixture of science, technology, engineering and mathematics