Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
1,492 classificações
500 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

DR

Jul 06, 2017

Great course! You can learn about modal verbs, intensifiers, present progressive and much more very easily. And is important too to know the methods and techniques for write a scientific article.

UF

Apr 08, 2018

Great efforts are done to design the course.It was really effective and informative course.It was amazing to know about different renewable resources and technologies discussed in the course.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 489 Avaliações para o English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

por Nathalia P d O

Jun 14, 2017

Curso muito didático, apesar do meu nível de inglês ainda consigo acompanhar as aulas.

Achei perfeito o material e os professores, sem dúvidas aprendo a cada dia.

por Gabriela P

Jun 09, 2017

It is an excellent course. This course is rich in information about climate change, global warming. Many thanks to the instructors and University of Philadelphia.

por Younsi Z

Jun 07, 2020

The course was a comprehensive and really effective and informative course. I would like to express my gratitude to Coursera and Penn University.

thanks a lot

por Tun L A

Jan 15, 2018

To develop systematically your English language skills and to improve scientifically you knowledge about global warming. This course will give you all above.

por Leandro S

Feb 24, 2020

Excelente curso, adorei a metodologia, a qualidade dos textos para leitura, e dos vídeos dos professores, super recomendo, ampliou muito o meu vocabulário!

por Piangtawan C

Apr 17, 2020

Very well-engineered course suitable for non-English speakers who are interested in science. No need for scientific background. Many engaging activities.

por Willie V

Nov 01, 2017

Great course to learn especially for those who have inclination to Science, where all the science concepts are applied in English sentence construction!

por Sophía G

Jul 11, 2017

The topics covered in the STEM course are of transcendence for all of us, how it is alternative sources of renewable energy and reduce global warming

por Mohammad M A

May 29, 2017

A very very big thanks for providing such an amazing course, after taking this course I really become more comfortable with my career in Engineering.

por Karen M S

Dec 05, 2019

Me gustó mucho. Es un gran curso para dominar vocabulario en inglés y aprender más sobre diversos temas relacionados a la ciencia y las matemáticas.

por Richard E N O

Jul 15, 2019

Nice way to combine science and learning english with interesting topics such as climate change, new technologies, renewable energy sources, etc.

por Enderson N C

May 03, 2020

Excelent!! The course helped me to improve my language skills and my knowledge STEM subjects.

Materials are very intresting and useful.

Thank you.

por Akrm s a

Jul 09, 2017

It's great opportunity to improve my English skills, while I'm gaining new scientific information.Thank you very much to all coursera community.

por Pauline M A

Jul 07, 2017

I would love to experience this again. I learned a lot from this course and I will really recommend this to my friends or classmates. Thank you!

por Marcus V L d S

May 22, 2020

Great course with appropriate language and vocabulary. There are valuable discussions about very important subjects, especially climate change.

por José F P B

Oct 14, 2019

This course has everything necessary to learn English , makes me more confident in this language , I feel very happy to have this opportunity.

por Adriano H F

Dec 01, 2019

O curso é muito bom!!! Os instrutores são extraordinários. Os conceitos científicos foram apresentados com clareza bem como a língua inglesa.

por SANTHA A

Jan 17, 2018

A very interesting, useful, wonderful course, through which I learnt a lot about global warming and saving Planet Earth. Thank you very much.

por Gabriel R R

Sep 28, 2019

I'm very grateful because I really learned a lot with this course. It was great and I enjoyed it so much that I want to continue learning.

por Jonatan V d M F

Jun 16, 2020

Very good course for those interested in improving their english and learn about the environment at the same time. I really recommend it.

por Israel R G

Apr 28, 2020

its a great course to know about enviromental vocabulary and lear grammatical rules, with the videos we can practice the listening. Tanks

por Vielka D F M

Aug 18, 2017

Thanks, to all the instructors for their lessons, was of great use for me in my knowledge and application learned, thanks again everyone

por Margarita R

May 05, 2020

Thank you! It was truely an enjoyable and helpful course! I am sure the knowledge I recieved in this course will help me in my career.

por Cai Y

Sep 10, 2019

I think the content is really interesting and not hard. For non-native speaker, it's a good way to imporve listening and oral English.

por Gyaneshor k

Mar 05, 2020

i am very happy because I have completed this course.I am thankful to related members of this university as well as this university