Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
1,589 classificações
522 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

DR

Jul 06, 2017

Great course! You can learn about modal verbs, intensifiers, present progressive and much more very easily. And is important too to know the methods and techniques for write a scientific article.

UF

Apr 08, 2018

Great efforts are done to design the course.It was really effective and informative course.It was amazing to know about different renewable resources and technologies discussed in the course.

Filtrar por:

451 — 475 de 511 Avaliações para o English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

por Riya R

Sep 07, 2019

nice

por Basil S S

Jul 07, 2019

good

por Sampurna b

May 22, 2019

good

por Samyog C

Feb 28, 2019

good

por Biligtsan B

Dec 10, 2018

good

por Abdulaziz k m

Jun 09, 2017

good

por Kyoung H Y

Mar 04, 2019

T

por Jin Y P

Jul 18, 2017

G

por Horacio O H

Jun 26, 2017

E

por F i f a

Mar 30, 2020

I need financial aid because I am from Egypt and my income cannot pay for this course. Now I do not have a job to pay for it, because I am still student. And I cannot find a job so that I can cover courses fees as I am a medical student and it is hard to study medicine while working. My father income cannot either pay for it. He is old and retired now. So the income of my father can only cover my academic studies in college. I always have the desire and ambition to improve my skills but money is always my problem but when I have heard about online courses and especially coursera and about the financial aid that coursera provides for people cannot pay like me , I restored my hope and dream about improving myself again . So I need your help by giving me financial aid. And I hope that you give me the chance. And finally I really thank you

por lainelvidalp@gmail.com

Dec 22, 2017

This was a marvelous course, it's neccesary to say the way that they use to teach is really good, becouse you can learn about technology and science and at the same tiem you can inprove your grammar. The teachers are really understanble in fonetic and the explanation way. I feel so previligy have the oportunity to took part in this course.

por Evgeny F

May 05, 2020

I wish there were more stuff related to englisch language instead of climate change problems. It might be helpful for many to add such things like graph description or equations, physic and chemistry experiments description were also good. Anyway, thank Coursera for the free course. It will fit good for the beginners.

por Carol A M L

Apr 10, 2020

It was an interesting course, I just don't give it 5 stars because I would have liked to have learn about more topics relate with science and engineering, but the course was more focus in environment and renewable energy. Thank you.

por Cleber L S

Jul 10, 2017

Gostei bastante do curso, da abordagem unindo Inglês com Sustentabilidade, mas acredito que os métodos de avaliação poderiam exigir um pouco mais dos alunos

por Abdelrahman E D

Jul 04, 2017

Simplified, active, engaging and the best of all that it's scientific :) .. special thanks for you professors and for the Department of State.

por Sargyul A

Jun 18, 2020

The name of the course does not correspond to its content. The course is about climate change , and not Science, Engineering or Mathematics

por Alfonso L V

Apr 30, 2020

es muy bueno y tambien interesante recomendado es muy practico y tambien vienen temas de como puedes aprender con el curso facil

por Tsopgni T D P

Nov 11, 2019

It is a good course, thinks are very simple and well explained. But mathematics subjects or expressions are not presented enough

por Alexander I D

May 28, 2020

Creo que alguna información no están verdadera. Además, no dicen lo destructivo que es la ganadería para el medio ambiente

por Sh, G

Jun 19, 2017

It's more challenging than other ELP courses offered by PennState. You can learn a lot after completing this course.

por Deleted A

Aug 29, 2018

Easy to follow up, easy to understand and attain knowledge about why global warming is world's serious problem.

por Касымжанова А С

Jul 09, 2017

Grade course for learning English. I've learnt a lot of new useful words that are related to sciense.

por Luis E C M

Mar 30, 2018

An excellent course to learn new vocabulary in English, and the most important about Climate Change.

por Xinyi D

Jun 13, 2020

Good for international students who have interests in STEM academic area but haven't been into it.

por Serhii K

Jul 30, 2017

Expecting for more, this one was a quite powerful start learning English. Thank you a lot!