Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
2,542 classificações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

TL

14 de mar de 2021

Great for the intermediate learner. You would find new terminologies in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The materials are easy to be understood and the teachers are communicative.

EC

25 de set de 2020

I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation to our instructors, Mr Jack and Ms Alyssa for an enjoyable course on STEM!

It was a very good learning experience!

Thank you!

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 745 Avaliações para o English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

por Max F

26 de ago de 2021

This course is perfect to improve English vocabulary and learn about climate change and renewable energy sources.

por Dubrovina I G

27 de abr de 2020

Many thanks to the organizers of the course for the opportunity to replenish their knowledge about this topic !!!

por Iris C M P T

16 de abr de 2020

The course shows important concepts for STEM, I am so thankful for the financial aid that coursera provides to me

por Felipe S d C

24 de mai de 2019

I recommend this course because it contributed to much my knowledge,

especially with my English language skills.

por ivanna z

27 de out de 2022

Excelente curso para mejorar la comprension del ingles, es bastante dinamico e introduce mucho vocabulario util

por Veronica R

13 de dez de 2020

Un curso excelente, es muy entretenido, dinámico e interesante. Me gusto mucho, y los profesores son increíbles!

por Oscar B A

20 de jul de 2020

Useful course about climate change and nanotechnology applications; also, you can improve your language- skills.

por JOAO P C

24 de jun de 2020

Very complete course. It is very good to people that are starting the studies, mainly with scientific interests.

por Anahi V H

10 de mai de 2020

Amazing, It´s a great way to learn about climate change and english.

helped me practice and improve my English

por Nadz

28 de dez de 2020

Thank you very much,

very valuable information,

and the instructors are very dynamic, sensible, and reach others.

por Alexei R

19 de jul de 2017

It´has been a really good course en which I could learn to know technic words and new language. I recomend you.

por Maria G S B

29 de mai de 2020

Excellent course! I've increased my English vocabulary and reviewed several important questions about science.

por Pedro S

18 de abr de 2022

Es un excelente curso donde se aprende con un tema muy importante como el cambio climáticoy su problematica.

por Loienko A

22 de mai de 2020

Thank you so much for this experience, for this strongly interesting and useful course. I will recommend it.

por Joseph G

13 de nov de 2017

I had fun accomplishing this course and learned so much. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania.

por Isabela M M

25 de jun de 2022

Great course! It was very interesting for me and helped further my understanding of climate change. Thanks!

por George P

25 de dez de 2018

It is very easy to understand and learn and it is very enjoyable with many quizzes and videos and readings.

por Amaya P

24 de jun de 2021

I really enjoyed doing this course and gained knowledge about many things in global warming... Thank you !

por Mokhtar K

8 de dez de 2019

Thank you for this course

It was very well organized and rich in technical informations and grammer rules.

por Sandra J Q

3 de jul de 2017

I recommend this course, because I could increase my english vocabulary and improve in my english skill.

por Yue X

11 de jul de 2017

I have learned many Englih skills and knowledge about environment. It's very practical and instructive!

por Thuong N T

4 de mai de 2022

Useful knowledge, short lecture content, not lengthy, but still enough. Learn a lot of new vocabulary.

por XI M

25 de abr de 2022

WoW! I'm very happy.

I hope University of Pennsylvania will continue to provide us with such courses.

por Gloria M L A

18 de abr de 2022

The instructors were excellent! The current topics were interesting. I really recommended this course.

por Bakhyt A

19 de mai de 2020

I very like it. And of coure, again and again I will be back and refresh my thought about this course.