Chevron Left
Voltar para The Science of Stem Cells

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Science of Stem Cells da instituição Museu Americano de História NaturalMuseu Americano de História Natural

4.7
estrelas
1,415 classificações
332 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What promise do stem cells hold for the treatment of medical conditions? In this five-part online course you will explore the history and basic biology of stem cells, learn about new research techniques, and find out how stem cells could lead to cures for diseases and to individualized medicine. You will hear from Museum scientists, medical researchers at the frontiers of the field, and a panel of bioethics experts who will address the ethical implications of stem cell research and therapy. Learn what has already been accomplished, what challenges remain, and what medical breakthroughs may lie ahead....

Melhores avaliações

VS

Apr 04, 2020

This course has been really useful for me to understand the concepts of what stem cells really are and to understand their potential to bring about revolutionary changes in the field of medicine.

CY

Sep 06, 2020

Everything in this course is a very well planned and research based approach towards the topic which leads students to think outside the box and encourages us to opt for research based learning.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 330 Avaliações para o The Science of Stem Cells

por Laura L

Nov 25, 2019

I haven't finished yet, but I'm really enjoying the course. Mr Mazzoni is an excellent lecturer, explaining things such that even I understand. Plenty of pictures are worth thousands of words.

por Iltimass G

Apr 10, 2020

Amazing course! Not only does it teach you valuable information about stem cells, but also gives you a closer look to scientific research and what it's like to work as a scientist. Thank you!

por Vaidehi s

Apr 04, 2020

This course has been really useful for me to understand the concepts of what stem cells really are and to understand their potential to bring about revolutionary changes in the field of medicine.

por ANIRBAN G M

Apr 09, 2020

I am very much thankful to the coursera group for introducing this course. The course was highly interesting and I got a lot of updated information from this course. I am specially thankful to the professors who taught the course really well. Also the introduction of the guest lectures and the discussion panel regarding the ethical issues helped me to understand the topic more clearly.Thank you everyone.

por Neeraj D

Apr 25, 2020

Great Course!! Would recommend this to all who are curious to learn more about stem cells. The course is easy to follow and the extra reading material is very helpful. The course not on only teach you about the stem cell but also the current research approach to cure various diseases, brief overview of steps involved in clinical trials and ethical issues related to stem cell usage.

por Shuvayan D

Jun 01, 2020

Such a nice course, I am 2nd year Biotechnology student and this course provides a lot of good insights to stem cell research.Not only these course is informative but also it discussed with practical problems faced by scientist in labs and clinics and ethical issues regarding them. Its a well constituted course. Thanks to all the Professors and specially Dr. Zehra Dincer.

por Adam G

Mar 22, 2020

Honestly an awesome course. I'm 16 and I felt that a lot of the lectures were technical - but not to the extent where I was unable to follow. There was a nice balance between ideology and technicality. Brilliant lecturers, but I wished the experts for bioethics talked about their own views more instead of just the issues that arise from stem cells.

por Kashish-Anmol S

May 07, 2020

Certainly a well-fleshed out course for stem-cell and developmental biology enthusiasts. The module on bioethics was especially eye-opening and certainly brought to light all the grey areas of stem cell research and how there are still many debatable questions that require answering.

por Shaugat k

Jun 30, 2020

great experience from this course and i got a lot of knowledge about the iPS tech and stem cell development and how it is currently the important prospect for the next generation medical science

por Ch Y

Sep 06, 2020

Everything in this course is a very well planned and research based approach towards the topic which leads students to think outside the box and encourages us to opt for research based learning.

por Rose A F

Apr 24, 2020

I work primarily on BMSCs and the informations on embryonic stem cells - procedure on isolation up to policies - are a welcome update on what I should know on other stem cells.

por Donna R

Sep 05, 2018

Excellent, well presented course. The content was difficult and I reviewed some of the videos several times, even with a science background. I highly recommend this!

por Swarn S W

Jan 07, 2019

Good. It'd be even better if a more advanced version was made available too. It'd be great if similar courses on other topics are produced as well, like CRISPR/Cas9.

por Skorentseva K

Aug 13, 2020

Great course, but sometimes it can be too easy for people who are not new in the biology field :)

por Iris I

Jun 18, 2020

As much as I enjoyed the first 4 weeks (from their informative content to their ability to reflect the wide range of medical and therapeutic application of stem cells, albeit in a limited capacity which I will touch upon later on), the final week was very poorly designed. A panel of specialists that more or less agree with each other on nearly everything is not very enjoyable. Had it been better edited, as to cut out all the unnecessary blabber and banter had between the speakers, and thus, significantly shortened to only reflect key facts, I may have enjoyed and thus rated this course better.

The course does a good job at getting together researchers from various fields (week 1-4) but the truly interesting findings of their research, the ins-and-outs of the Science of stem cells itself, is found in the researchers' published papers (see the papers of Dr Andrew Sproul on AD and Dr Sally Temple on AMD). The course's title, 'The SCIENCE of Stem Cells' is a bit misleading - sure, the science is talked about and explained to some extent, but for me personally, it fell short as an educational course that resembled more an informative YouTube video series instead. Final verdict? Take this course if you want to get a very basic grasp of the science behind stem cells, but supplement your knowledge with further readings from published papers.

por Zuzana R

Jun 29, 2018

I must admit I was deeply saddened and partialy disgusted by the way authors of this course perceive the ethics of the stem cells research. While discussing over and over the moral status of an embryo, which is a blop of cells, they all work on daily basis with living creatures, suffering and dying under their hands, and none of them seemed concerned about this.

por Abhisekh C

Jun 13, 2020

The course is very much interesting and the course instructor Dr. Zehren Dincer has coordinated the course very well. She has explained very nicely about the definition of stem cells and types of stem cells. Apart from that, she has delivered a nice interview session for bioethics of stem cells and also put forward her opinion on the legal issue of stem cells in US. How did the US federal funding limit the embryonic stem cell research as per the opinion of former President George W. Bush in US? This part has also explained by the scientific delegates very well.

por Michael M

Oct 31, 2020

A good course for those who wish to gain a basic understanding of stem cell function and the research being done. You'll learn concepts and some new terminology, but it isn't overwhelmingly technical. Besides the science you'll also learn about the conflicting ethics surrounding such research and its present and future application. Ultimately, you'll come away with lots of questions and that a good thing: the best courses stimulate thought and encourage you to learn more.

por Mayank B

May 09, 2020

I am really grateful to the team for creating such a wonderful course on Stem Cells. This course is complete in itself and has provided me with an immense knowledge in the filed. The course has impacted me such that Stem Cells Study has been added as one of my favourites topics for further studies in research. I would also like to specially mention about Dr. Esteban Mazzoni about his creativeness in explaining the concepts lucidly. I really enjoyed the course !

por Archisha A

Oct 11, 2020

I loved this course. It's informative and thoroughly engaging. I've never really understood stem cells properly and was kind of confused what the whole hype was about. That's why, when I saw this course I went straight for it, and I was not disappointed. It was so exciting I couldn't put it down. It taught me so many things I had been wanting to know and all in a way that was easy to understand. It also inspired me to research more about the subject

por Paula M P

May 20, 2020

Es un buen curso para todos aquellos que quieran saber lo básico sobre el campo de las células madre o para aquellos que quieran ampliar levemente sus conocimientos en el ámbito o sean curiosos.

Si ya tienes conocimiento en este área es posible que te resulte un curso muy básico pero viene muy bien para refrescar conocimientos y reflexionar sobre los problemas éticos que generan estas células. La unidad 5 en especial es soberbia en ese último ámbito.

por Kaustav M

Jul 09, 2020

This is perhaps the best basic course on Stem cell biology that I have ever come across. Concepts were explained simply. Got to learn a lot about iPSCs, how stem cells are cultured in the lab, what cutting edge research is being done with the stem cells. Also, the important aspect of Bioethics of stem cells was an important area of discussion and learning which every future stem cell researcher needs to understand. Amazing course!!

por Aparna S

Aug 11, 2020

The course is beautifully designed and has covered every aspect from knowing what a stem cell is to its applications to its ethical concerns. It provided a great and complete overview about stem cells. Highly recommended to those who wish to know the future potential of stem cell biology and the latest advancements in stem cell technology. I would like to thank my instructor Dr. Zehra Dincer for introducing such an amazing course.

por ALEXANDER E

Sep 02, 2019

I enrolled into "The Science of Stem Cells" course because I am living with incurable illness (T1D) and I wanted to gain educational insight behind the potential treatment advancements of Stem Cell Research. I loved how the course is laid out, explains various details about the nearly limitless good medical applications this could become integrated with our daily lives to participate in the future of medicine.

por Michelle C

May 08, 2020

I gained much more knowledge on topics related to stem cells, but not limited to stem cells, such as human chimeras, CRISPR/Cas9 gene editing technology and etc,. The lesson I found most interesting is the one in week 5, which is about the ethical and moral issues behind the use of embryonic stem cells and other related areas. In general, I really enjoyed the course.