Chevron Left
Voltar para Startup Valuation Methods

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Startup Valuation Methods da instituição Universidade Duke

4.5
estrelas
158 classificações
58 avaliações

Sobre o curso

How do different types of investors think about an investment opportunity? What kind of securities and contracts do they offer? How should a company decide what is a "good deal"? This course is designed to introduce you to the challenges and pitfalls of financing new enterprises. You will learn the basic tools for valuating companies, including using discounted cashflow analysis in Excel and understanding how to apply this model to your entrepreneurial venture. You will then learn how valuation works with different types of securities that investors use to finance startups, from bank loans to venture capital to angel investing....

Melhores avaliações

CK

May 01, 2020

The best ever online course one could find. It is worth every single minute spent. Thank you so much for offering this course. And really so happy to complete this course. Much love to the professor.

SP

Apr 23, 2020

This course has helped gain knowledge of the valuation of companies of all sizes, basic funding criteria, and sources for a startup and a view of investors for a company.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Startup Valuation Methods

por Phil P

Nov 26, 2019

I'm only giving this course 3 stars because of the excellent teaching in weeks 1 and 2 by Manuel Adelino, who is an excellent and thorough instructor. David Robinson, who handles the "meat" of the course in weeks 3 and 4 was absolutely dreadful in every respect that matters in a mastery-oriented online course (in which there is no peer community with which to collectively cover for poor instruction). Specifically, Robinson talks around examples without working through any of them. He did not work through any of the key examples or formulae in Week 3, which is where most of the key concepts of startup valuation are introduced. Basically said, "go figure it out yourself." Other examples: the “hurdle rate” is introduced without adequate definition or an example of how to use given information in the calculation, and Robinson uses this term interchangeably with "cash-on-cash returns" (incorrectly) including in equations, which are wrong as presented. On a quiz for the fourth week on Anti-Dilution presents a question without reference to a specific scenario, so it is impossible to complete without guessing. On the third attempt I just guessed, but there was no reference to a cost scenario to support this guess. Neither the lectures nor the ungraded quizzes cover methods of calculating dilution in initial valuation decisions, but the graded quiz does, leading one to guess (again) where this is dealt with. In sum, the core of the course is sloppily assembled and sloppily presented. I simply expect more from Duke, no matter how much or how little I'm paying, and may not complete this specialization as a result of the time wasted in compensating for the instructor's shortcomings.

por John H

Feb 20, 2020

The selection of concepts taught were great. Please consider remaking the week 3 option pool lesson to increase clarity.

por sophialaw

Mar 11, 2020

I give this course 5 stars even if I spent a lot of time in week 3 due to the mistake in the ppt slide of the professor. But I learned the basic rules and the logic to evaluate a business from week 1 and 2. As a lawyer, I learned how to interpret commercial terms from week 3 and 4.

por Diana K

Jan 20, 2020

Good information, but very technical and academic- and it forces you to think "formulaic-ly" way, which is not necessarily a reflection of the 'real world' practice. More practice problems (+ answers to them) would help as well.

por Kevin L

Mar 21, 2020

While the overall course is informative, weeks 3 and 4 are unfortunately not very satisfactory - the lack of answers for some of the questions made it very difficult for one to understand his / her mistakes and had to essentially try to solve them via "trial-and-error". Definitely not very efficient!

por Justin C

Apr 11, 2020

Weeks 1 and 2 are awesome. Prof. Manuel makes admirable effort in making his diction clear and his slides presentable so that the student doesn't have to second guess his material. The quiz questions are also equally clear. I deduct at least 2 stars because of the incoherent material of Weeks 3 and 4. Prof. David provides a comparably much more mediocre explanation at the start of his material, and it only goes down in quality until the end. Week 3 is the worst, with errors in the slides, ill-lead examples, and several examples that throw you to the wolves without any guidance. Where are the solutions so we can validate our work? Super frustrating when we try to ask questions in the Discussion forums and there are no helpers to assist. Students are left to fend for themselves. I might have given one start back if TA's helped, but none are active. I checked each of their profiles, and no activity was evident. Why bother posting your names if you don't help?

I had to do a lot of extra searching on the Internet.

Please improve Weeks 3 and 4 so the entire course lives up to the Duke University quality.

por Sejal A

Apr 25, 2020

While the first two weeks of the course were extremely helpful and easily understandable, the remaining two weeks, which covered very important topics, were very poorly handled. The video lectures, PDFs, everything was insufficient and I had to look through other sources to understand many of the concepts. Additionally, a lot of the information given in the PDFs was wrong and contradicted what the professor was saying during the video lecture. Not enough explanation was given by the professor to help us comprehend things such as VC Method of valuation, option pools, anti-dilution, etc. The 3 stars are all due to the efforts put in by Manuel Adelino.

por Yash C

Mar 26, 2020

The Week 1 and Week 2 of the course is well explained. However, Week 3 and Week 4 lacks depth and the topics haven't been explained well enough.

por Habeeb A F

May 30, 2020

I had higher expectations from Duke University! My overall experience of going through this course was below average. There was a clear difference between the quality of content & the way it was taught between the two instructors. I believe Manuel Adelino did a great job for week 1 & 2. However unfortunately week 3 content was poorly prepared and delivered. It seemed like David Robinson was in a rush, the slides & content were in coherent. Week 4 was at par. I would not recommend this course to anyone, until Duke University arranges to re create the content & delivery for week 3.

por Constantin F

May 11, 2020

Part 1 is really great.

Part 2 of the course really unclear, with sometimes mistakes in the slides and the final exam. Very disappointing unfortunately.

por Het D

Apr 24, 2020

I enjoyed the course, the lectures were kept short and precise. The notes contained all the important information and summarised well, and most importantly as an entrepreneur, the course detailed on each aspect I am currently focussed on. What I did find uncomfortable was that it was based on the perspective of VC's and Angel Investors, I often found the lectures being a bit insensitive on the sentiment of an entrepreneur. I am not sure if you would have received such a review before, but honestly, this is the only thing that made me a bit uncomfortable in this then otherwise amazing course. Thanks!

por Juan E S S

May 05, 2020

It was worth the time and money invested. The concepts were clear and useful. Important to note that several of the students do not work in the USA. Some comments and evaluations can be further standardized. Feedback process for final exams can be improved.

por Cibi K

May 01, 2020

The best ever online course one could find. It is worth every single minute spent. Thank you so much for offering this course. And really so happy to complete this course. Much love to the professor.

por Shlok P

Apr 23, 2020

This course has helped gain knowledge of the valuation of companies of all sizes, basic funding criteria, and sources for a startup and a view of investors for a company.

por Davit I

Mar 12, 2020

The course gives structured knowledge about the startup valuation methods. I enjoyed it, and now it's time to go for deep diving into the startup valuation industry.

por Dhinesh A D

Apr 30, 2020

The course provides fundamental financial skills needed for a startup. It takes time to understand certain concepts but it is highly valuable what you learn here.

por coralie h

Apr 20, 2020

The syllabus is straight forward and informative. Interesting methods used to value start ups and good conversation of securities used by VCs and Angle investors.

por Manuel F S P

May 26, 2020

Great content, it gave a clear perspective of the way early stage companies receive financing and how VCs and Angel Investors negotiate their investments.

por bhushan m

May 20, 2020

this is an excellent course for the beginners who want to learn startup valuation without having much prior knowledge about finance world

por Anupam V

May 23, 2020

good insight on the topic. However, I would have also preferred if we had an engagement window with Professors to clarify any doubts.

por Vijay S

May 02, 2020

A great course to learn valuation methods for startups. At starting it looks hard but as we go on it looks very and simple.

por kaushal p

Apr 16, 2020

Excellent insights from both perspectives - the investee and the investors. great work, simply delivered.

kaushal pujara

por Rohan K

May 16, 2020

Both the professors did an excellent job explaining the course and delivering great content. I recommend this course.

por JOSE E S

May 09, 2020

Manuel was very clear.

The other one, needs to write on de slides wile explaining. He is also, an excellent teacher.

por Ishita J

Apr 05, 2020

A very well structured course with extremely lucid lectures. Thank you for a wonderful learning experience.