Chevron Left
Voltar para Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python da instituição IBM

4.6
estrelas
14,397 classificações
1,783 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Melhores avaliações

BS
20 de Mai de 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SA
22 de Abr de 2020

The lessons were short and easy to follow, providing all the basics as well as a few more advanced topics, to get student quickly up-to-speed on databases and SQL and their application in D/S realm.

Filtrar por:

1551 — 1575 de 1,792 Avaliações para o Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

por saris k

22 de Mar de 2020

tons of bug

por Sajeev R

25 de Jul de 2021

Lear Again

por Ifoché C B B

20 de Abr de 2021

Good job !

por Katherine M K

30 de Dez de 2021

difficult

por Isaac N

3 de Dez de 2019

Thank's

por Rehan K

7 de Ago de 2019

helpful

por Djonkou T R

3 de Ago de 2021

C​oool

por Hamza S

2 de Abr de 2020

Good.

por Sirisha S

29 de Jul de 2021

nice

por Arpan C

26 de Abr de 2021

Good

por Ahmed E

7 de Jun de 2020

Good

por chi z

23 de Mar de 2020

nice

por VIGNESHKUMAR R

23 de Dez de 2019

Good

por Cristian M

20 de Jul de 2019

Good

por PARAMDEEP S

23 de Abr de 2019

NICE

por Adil S

26 de Jan de 2019

zbs

por Vikrant M

21 de Mar de 2020

na

por Gerardo R

3 de Out de 2018

na

por Ibrahim R

17 de Out de 2019

.

por Alexander T

5 de Mai de 2020

Week 1 was fine, however I want to complain about the way teaching was handled for week 2.

I am a visual and kinaesthetic learner which means that i really struggle to absorb information audibly, this is fine as in ALL previous courses of the IBM professional certification there are videos supplemented by reading materials and guided labs (I can listen to the videos, and then work my way through the labs to gain understanding of the videos.)

In this course, specifically week two, you had the video, and a lab that had the instructions "do the functions stated in the previous two videos" TWICE.

This is, to pardon my language, total garbage. You are a teaching device who apparently has not bothered to attempt to teach anyone as you can't be bothered to write a brief PDF stating what you want us to do. instead assuming that we will do all the work regardless of whether it's helping our learning or not. I am sure this works fine for some people, for plenty of others it does not.

I'm rating this as all my previous IBM data science courses were very nicely made and acommodated all learning types.I think it's a crying shame that one week has been allowed to be so much worse than the overall level of the course.

por Husayn Z A

21 de Mai de 2020

This was probably the worst course I have ever taken on coursera. Unless you have at least some basic SQL experience, DO NOT take this course. And if you are in the specialisation which requires this course, do some basic SQL from somewhere else and then come to this course. There are a lot of problems with the datasets when you try to load them into the SQL database server in IBM DB2 and most importantly, the video explanations are too hard to understand. They explain most of the things which aren't really important and don't explain things that really DO have some importance. I'm pretty good at SQL myself (said by my cousin an SQL Database Manager for over 5 years) but I still struggled a lot with problem 8, 9 and 10 of the final assignment. Any moderators seeing this, when it is possible, I beg of you, please fix this course. If I hadn't faced any of these problems, this would be a very fun and interesting course. So what happened here? Everything is explained to us like we have mastered the fundamentals already and are coming back for a revision. Truly very disappointed with this course.

por Zoe Y

19 de Out de 2021

The labs taught me how to write SQL queries in Python for the first time, but the level of difficulty jumps quickly. The videos don't go thoroughly in-depth about how to write queries so when you get to the labs, you are seeing problems for the first time. This means you are learning material there and not practicing enough queries. And basic understanding of how to do certain types of queries is hazy unless you look for outside sources to continue practicing your skills. I also had trouble for 3-4 days trying to connect to labs toward the halfway point of this course. Lot of people complained about connection to DB2.

It is frustrating to work with this course, but I did learn how to write queries more thoroughly because of the structure it gives. I supplemented this course with other online resources to help me through. So I give it a 3-star.

por Norma L

26 de Jul de 2020

I think the course needs a bit more structure and written labs, some of them just tells you to practice what you´ve seen on the videos but I think it would be much more effective if there were more labs with specific problems to solve.

Also in some of the labs some solutions are given without explanations and those havent been even mentioned on the videos or the readings

The forum is not as effective as the previous course I did of this specialization, teaching staff takes ages to answer, and also answers are not satisfactory.

Anyway, the content is interesting and I have enjoyed learning

por Nam N

1 de Set de 2021

This course content itself is excellent. Full documents, brief and useful guidelines, instructors with nice accent, slides are also presented directly so that the basic of SQL is easy to get. But the minus point is that IBM DB2 service is really bad, lag, slow, and often inaccessible. I found this error had appeared long time ago for many previous learners. Unfortunately a technology giant like IBM can let this happen. They need to invest in maintenance and upgrade the system a lot. The course is worth 5 *, but the Lab system is 1 *, so I give 3 * Overall

por Murtaza S

12 de Abr de 2020

Decent course for an introduction to SQL. Basic commands were introduced well and the Jupyter integration was great for practice.

But the course was a little too basic; could have had more application-oriented content and a steeper difficulty curve. In addition, the Analyzing data with Python video from week 3 had about 1 one minute of voiceover that was completely unrelated to SQL or databases. The voiceover was just about Sodium in Nutrition. Felt very unnecessary.