Chevron Left
Voltar para Databases and SQL for Data Science

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Databases and SQL for Data Science da instituição IBM

4.7
estrelas
11,945 classificações
1,337 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Melhores avaliações

BS

May 21, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SA

Apr 23, 2020

The lessons were short and easy to follow, providing all the basics as well as a few more advanced topics, to get student quickly up-to-speed on databases and SQL and their application in D/S realm.

Filtrar por:

1251 — 1275 de 1,318 Avaliações para o Databases and SQL for Data Science

por Jason L

Apr 28, 2019

The beginning started simple enough to follow. The learning curve jumps from 0 to 100 in a short time. Not an ideal intro course. The labs are much more complex than what is taught. Instructions how to restart and operate a Run a new SQL was not shown and I had to spend lots of time trying to figure it out on my own. The powerpoints and information are easy to follow but the ease of use through IBM's platform is not friendly. Definitely easier places to learn as I have taken other courses online for intro SQL. I wouldn't recommend purchasing this. I'd either use it in a Free Trial or Audit it. For that value, you can spend your money elsewhere.

por Aj _

Aug 09, 2019

1. Lots of the slides have repetitive content, for Ex. different type of joins, Every slide have some repeating lines/audio. Could have taken some different use case or else could have combined it making it a single slide for each joins.

2. The "Table Loading Issue" its been a week now I am facing this issue, even have posted in the forum, the solution provided is also not working. Every time I try loading the table in db2 it fails, without giving any error/warning message. I am almost done except a few assignments and final peer graded assignment due to this I am not able to complete my course.

por nakul g

Jun 04, 2020

I did not find the course structure, contents, way of teaching at all good.

I spent more time figuring out how to upload data on IBM DB2 storage than practising. I feel in this course coursera must look into ways to make it more learnable, I seriously will say, I was unable to learn anything from this course I had to spend alot of time on google and other learning websites to figure out how to code in SQL.

In many assignments I just had to skip them because connecting to IBM is very stressful and difficult thats why I was mostly able not to connect with it.

por Samantha R

Aug 06, 2019

The main reason for my low rating is the following:

1. The endless issues with the db2 console - an absolute nightmare to work with if you are not in the USA. Horrible experience. This slowed my progress down significantly to the point where I no longer wanted to carry on with this course

2.Not enough practical examples - as a result when doing the assignment, you want to tear out your hair. By my estimate, the Assignment should take no more than an hour if you have worked through everything.

por Kornelia M

Nov 14, 2019

Nice content, but lot of struggles with the tools. Watson studio has updated/changed the layout since the course was created, the content and description of the tasks in many cases don't live up to the real life situation. That's very frustrating, and you can see lots of people experience it if you check the weekly discussion forum. If the tool worked better (and if it would be better descried, as for somebody who never worked in Watson studio before) it would have been 5 stars.

por Yohanes A C G

Sep 05, 2020

I don't think the peer graded assignment is reviewed objectively based on the rubrics. The reviewer did not leave any comments about my "wrong" answers. I can not find where I did wrong as I already included the required clause in the query statements and got the right results. This is somehow disappointing. Even though I passed the course, but I got a lower score than I expected. I did not get any information about my "wrong" answer.

por Lvltcode

Sep 22, 2019

Too complicated to debug about the IBM tools, Its took me a tone of time just wandering to check password and username and too many errors without any solutions. I quite all the course not because I could not understand the content or could not do the exercises or lab, just because of the IBM tool too annoying, complicated and the instructions are out of date, also not details.

por Brandon I

Jun 25, 2018

Not great -- mix of SQL and Python that doesn't do enough SQL. I learned a lot of Python just to make simple database connections and run SQL queries -- it doesn't do justice to Python and isn't very helpful to learn SQL that way. The course would be better with just more SQL, and probably not in IBM cloud services.

por Markus L

May 21, 2020

the instructions weren't very clear and the assignments weren't challenging but they were really tedious. I stopped part way through the peer graded assignment simply because the questions annoyed me more than challenged me. IBM can do much better than this.

por Holt M

Jul 17, 2020

The sql is easy, but the course makes it complicated for no reason. Instructions are incomplete on assignments, and issues are known to teaching staff. Ends up wasting 3 hours of time trying to solve known course issues.

por Riley S

Aug 20, 2020

Need to update instructions and screenshots for the ibm cloud site. Instructors dont respond to many questions in the forum and when they do their answers are often breif and vague

por Adam J L J H

May 24, 2020

There were a lot of troubleshooting errors that I realise, were not only unique to me. These errors were not addressed properly and I ended googling some of these Issues

por Luca L

Jun 23, 2020

The course has big technical issues that slow down the completion. I am quite disappointed by the application utilized in the course. The course lessons are good.

por Gopendra M

Nov 15, 2019

DB2 is out of the marketing not many people want to learn it, maybe it's time to upgrade it to something latest

por Christophe D

Jun 13, 2020

The use of IBM cloud was really frustrating as it was very slow and didn't work most of the time.

por WenQiang H

Feb 16, 2020

As a serial course in the "specialization", it's too simple, just made the learning path longer.

por Magdalena R

Dec 30, 2018

The content is adequate but I found it a bit boring. The classes did not keep my interest.

por Ibrahim A

Apr 07, 2020

Please review this course assets! especially IBM DB2 cloud service's availability !!!

por Xinxin Z

Aug 27, 2019

The cloud system has so many problems which will prevent us to submit our works.

por Shuang.W

May 02, 2020

so many stuff are out of dates and some instructions were very unclear.

por Tanner L C

Nov 16, 2018

Very poorly done. Not enough information on working in the cloud.

por Nitika K

Sep 20, 2020

Not suitable for non computers background students.

por Ray Y

Jul 15, 2019

WHY FORCE ME USE THE IBM CLOUD? SO COMPLICATED

por abdelkarim b

Mar 04, 2020

The IBM tools are so unfriendly to new users