Chevron Left
Voltar para Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python da instituição IBM

4.7
estrelas
13,566 classificações
1,614 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Melhores avaliações

BS
20 de Mai de 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SA
22 de Abr de 2020

The lessons were short and easy to follow, providing all the basics as well as a few more advanced topics, to get student quickly up-to-speed on databases and SQL and their application in D/S realm.

Filtrar por:

1151 — 1175 de 1,611 Avaliações para o Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

por Mao T T

22 de Mar de 2020

Of the courses in this professional data science certificate I have taken, this is probably the best designed one. The labs force you to think and apply what you learnt in the video and not simply make minor modification to example codes. By the end of the course, I have internalized some of the commands. Overall, the labs were rather effective at drilling the concepts into students.

Some of the labs in the second week were rather lazily written. Instead of asking students to practice what they saw in the videos, all labs should contain actual questions that ask students to apply what they have learnt to new examples and problems, forcing them to think about what they have learnt.

The grading system is also in need of improvement. Some graders do not seem to know what they are doing. Simply resubmitting the assignment can result in a drastically improved score simply because the first grader was marking down answers that were actually correct. Perhaps there could be multiple graders assigned to any single assignment and the average score taken, or something to that effect.

por Amy P

8 de Mai de 2019

This is a great course and I particularly appreciated the integration with Python/Jupyter notebooks. As in previous courses in the IBM certificate program, the labs were the highlight. They challenged students to answer questions using real data sets. Going from start to finish - from sourcing and downloading data all the way to analysis - was very helpful in mastering all of the techniques.

A couple of sections felt out of place: in my opinion, the optional database schema topics could become a separate course of their own, while the section on joins deserved more attention. The lecture slides, with the pictures of interconnected tables, were a bit hard to read and could do with an upgrade. Overall though, great pacing, with easily digestible videos. Highly recommend.

por PIERRE A

18 de Fev de 2020

I propose you to put all the option chapiters in a advanced certificate for this course.

It was "a long journey" for me but I was motivated to complete this class.

Thank you very much.

I do love your videos and the Hands on lab.

Please note that before taking this class I knew nothing in coding in sql and python!

But now, I appreciate it and find it very easy to understand!!!! I'm sure that your good way to teach this class using all the matreials has contribuated to help me!

I m going know to buy 2 books: for more advanced knowledge, one in sql programming and the 2nd in python for data science!!

Thank you very much

👌👍👌👍😍😍

por David A

9 de Set de 2018

This course is good for anyone who is a complete beginner, new to, or looking to refresh their knowledge of Structured Query Languages (SQL). Ideally would have liked to have a lesson on optimizing SQL queries since many queries become inefficient for data tables with very large row counts, but I understand this didn't make sense since the free IBM DB2 database they have you set up has a size limit of 100 MB. No need for optimization with data this small, but it's still something they should have at least mentioned in the course as an optional lesson. Overall, nice course for learning or refreshing SQL and database concepts.

por Shuo J

5 de Ago de 2020

The instructor and course materials are very good! But the peer reviewing for the assignment is NOT well-organized, as one problem in my assignment was not graded correctly, and obviously it's a "trembling hand error" made by the grader. Coursera has in-built mechanism to prevent such error: it uses median grade for each problem as your grade. But this mechanism only works if each problem is graded by enough students, which is not the case in this course based on my observations in the forum. I would suggest the course designer to require each student to grade at least three assignments before they can earn the certificate.

por My R

28 de Jul de 2021

The course itself was very interesting and well organized. However, I second previous comments underlining the issues with Db2. It took me at least an hour with around 30 failed attempts. I was only able to access Db2 after switching the location to Dallas. I also agree with some learners that the peer review assignment was a source of frustration. I received 2/26 even though my answers included all required elements with correct outputs. Overall, it was a good learning experience so I still would recommend this course despite the aforementioned hiccups.

por Manuel C

16 de Jan de 2020

The class was very enjoyable and very easy to follow. My only complaint is that if the final assignment is going to be assigned such a high weight, then it should require more than 1 person to review it. My assignment met criteria to receive full points, but the person who graded mine clearly blew through it and assigned me partial credit where I should have received full credit. I still passed and enjoyed the class, but it was frustrating to successfully complete the assignment only to be dinged by some inattentive grader.

por Ryan K

28 de Nov de 2018

4 stars only because I think the intended coursework is pretty good but to be honest the execution is pretty average. The course will be much better if the mentors are more active in the the discussion. Right now the discussions in the forums are mostly driven by the students in the class and it will be better if the supposedly mentors are move involved to provide support. Some of the courses in edX are pretty solid in this area and I think it really adds to the overall learning experience.

por Laura G

6 de Dez de 2019

the peer assignment took awhile b/c you had to do the hands on assignments in the cloud to get in and try in python. Already know databases and breezed through it all except for the submission could not figure out how to get into the cloud and where to type in the sql within python. The syntax stated "%%sql". It was %sql <query> on the same line. Learned from many earlier in discussion group. Another had the same question about invalid syntax and couldn't figure out what was wrong.

por dipanjan c

22 de Jun de 2020

Please let me know why wont I receive my certificate upon submitting my assignment?

Why do I have to wait for reviewing someone's assignment.Moreover I have reviewed two other assignments still I did not receive any certificate.

I would be applying for a job interview where I would be needing my certificate asap but there has been this problem. Try to get rid of these problems.

The instructor or the staffs are late to give responses to any problem.

Please look into these issues

por Stewart M

4 de Set de 2019

Would highly recommend the course, online learning material very good. Had connections issues with SQL server. Techy background helps. Be prepared to be patient and tackle technical connection and speed issues when running SQL queries. No course documentation warns you of the potential problems and the time estimates to complete the weekly module/tasks need to ignored. Monitor support weak as can be seen by the non-responses to questions in the forums.

por Joshua S

15 de Jun de 2021

This is my 6th course in the Data Analyst program. Like the other classes before this there was a lot of good information presented through the videos, the labs were very useful, and the quizzes were pertinent to the information learned in class. Also, like the courses before the final assignment is way more difficult than the practice labs and the "instructor" or coursera helpers answered ambiguously and was hard to get a hold of.

por Francisco M

21 de Jan de 2020

The course is good but sometimes the exercise texts are not very clear and some of the lessons are very straightforward, leaving many doubts. The course should have a larger series of exercises and an automatic correction system that facilitates the review of the exercises. In addition, it would be interesting to have a module on how to use IBMDB2 without the online platform, but through Jupyter on the computer.

por SELEMANI S J

9 de Ago de 2018

Apart from errors in the open source tools for the hands on labs, this course is fantastic and well crafted to introduce Databases and SQL. the optional sections are useful for those without good grasp of knowledge about databases and their types. make sure to take them. The labs are good, but always there is connection problems. If they will fix this, it will be one of the best introduction courses out there.

por TULONGA M T H

20 de Mar de 2020

Upon initiation the course does cater for people with no background with many exercises. Maybe a small introduction to python would do, just to teach the people abit on python because with assistance from youtube there are always different methods to approach the problems. Maybe a clarification of problem questions should considered. Some questions are really hard to understand what is actually asked for.

por Asad A

11 de Out de 2018

A great course about SQL and Databases but the final assignment should have been about writing python code to access database and analyze data, as shown in one of the videos where a pandas dataframe was created. Instead, the assignment made us write SQL code inside Jupyter Notebook. That was not needed at least as far as I am concerned. If we had to write SQL, we could have just done it on IBM Db2 Cloud.

por Lauren J

2 de Mai de 2019

As someone with zero experience with SQL, this was a solid introductory course. At the end of the course I understood many core SQL concepts and was even able to do some coding without any help. The only negative aspect I experienced was that the course used some functions that only exist in the IBM cloud that the course uses, but this shouldn't persuade someone to not take this course.

por Ahmed F

19 de Dez de 2018

it is a very good course that I have learned a lot from, however, I got confused in too many situations when trying to run queries and complete assignments. I dont know why but instead of trying to type the proper query, the course pushed me in a way to find the proper query somewhere, copy it and that's it. A very positive point was the amazing support and quick responses from Rav.

por Marie D

29 de Abr de 2020

Very good course as an intro to SQL. The materials is presented at a good rate and there are good lab exercises to practice what you learn. The final assignment really puts what you learned to the test. There is a section in week 3 about APIs that lost me and I had a hard time seeing connecting it to the rest of what was being taught, but otherwise a useful course.

por Abhishek G

11 de Nov de 2020

This course involves good theory on databases. It makes you familiar with different databases. Further, it takes you deep into database queries and how to perform them. The best part of the course is it provides the opportunity of doing practicals on the IBM DB2 Database. Overall, it first teaches you the theory and then practical experience.

por XFAN

30 de Mar de 2020

It will be better if instructor could provide more tips or attentions or common mistakes on using SQL, for example, when retrieving string results from multiple tables and joining them together, their format should be exactly same, or there will be no value though the syntax is correct. Then we will avoid wasting more time on trail and error.

por James H

25 de Abr de 2020

I enjoyed this class. It was interesting and gave me lot of hands-on work with SQL that i needed. That being said, there were quite a few moments where I had to dig deep into the discussions to figure out how to get stuff to work with the IBM DB2 Cloud. The text/video was not up to speed with the changes to the IBM console/setup....

por CHIN W L

7 de Dez de 2019

A good introduction to SQL and Databases, informational and easy to follow. There is a need to update the instructional material in the course to be in-line with the current IBM cloud and DB2 set-up page, new user will be lost due to the inconsistency between the instructional material and actual web page of IBM Cloud and DB2 set-up

por Stephanie O

9 de Jul de 2021

Overall a good course, but it was sometimes difficult to get IBM's Db2 working. Some days, the database wouldn't even open and I couldn't practice. Connecting to the database from a jupyter notebook also caused errors caused by the server or database, which hindered study and practice. Otherwise, a good SQL course.

por Pietro S

9 de Ago de 2019

Dear IBM Program People,

Great Course. I would have preferred not waiting up to one month to get my final assignment reviewed.

That makes irrelevant the efforts a student makes in completing the course as soon as possible to start learning other courses. That is the only reason I give 4 stars.

Best Regards,

Pietro