Chevron Left
Voltar para Esportes e Sociedade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Esportes e Sociedade da instituição Universidade Duke

4.8
estrelas
842 classificações
220 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Melhores avaliações

MM

Nov 12, 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

LK

Jan 07, 2020

One of the best courses that mixed interesting facts with theories. I study sports management, it's really intriguing to see how sports social values entwined with each other in history!

Filtrar por:

201 — 217 de 217 Avaliações para o Esportes e Sociedade

por Abrar H

Jun 20, 2020

A good course relating sports and society, bringing some interesting topics and history related to sports in light. Learnt a lot and really liked the course.

por Gerardo B P

Feb 01, 2019

Tiene una gran variedad de temáticas y la mayoría de los videos son dinámicos .

It has a great variety of topics and most of the videos are very dynamic.

por Joy S

Jun 04, 2017

surprisingly interesting and apropos considering I do not watch nor participate in any traditional team sports. Not just about the big sports.

por Aline K

Jun 19, 2020

I loved the course and the topics discussed during the lectures as I learned a lot of new things about sports and its relation to society :)

por Colleen O

Apr 24, 2020

i feel as though a few answers on some of the quizzes were wrong, which frustrated me, but I loved the material and highly recommend it

por FB

Feb 02, 2016

Great course for sports coaches, PE teachers and anyone interested to pursue a career in sports.

por Yoosaf A

Jul 20, 2020

Excellent approach to learning.The instructor really explains the things in great manner.

por Kriti S

May 11, 2020

fascinating to study and learn to know more about sports and society.

por Yukesh R

Sep 02, 2020

It was so useful,thank you for duke University and Mr.orin starn😊

por Lee K K

Feb 27, 2018

Gives you a good insight into understanding people and history..

por Anisha M J

Jul 12, 2020

its really a great course i really loved learning that course

por Jean D C R

Oct 18, 2019

no comment for the moment

por julian

Jun 04, 2017

informative and helpfull

por Aaron F A C

Jun 21, 2019

It´s a very good course

por Ajilore O E

Aug 09, 2020

Very interesting .

por Anubhav S

Jun 03, 2017

The evaluation for this course has questions which are very memory based and not application based

por Elio K

Jun 12, 2019

The pace is quite slow and the content maybe it is not for young boy