Chevron Left
Voltar para Esportes e Sociedade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Esportes e Sociedade da instituição Universidade Duke

4.8
estrelas
842 classificações
220 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Melhores avaliações

MM

Nov 12, 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

LK

Jan 07, 2020

One of the best courses that mixed interesting facts with theories. I study sports management, it's really intriguing to see how sports social values entwined with each other in history!

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 217 Avaliações para o Esportes e Sociedade

por Henok M

Sep 29, 2020

a great course.

por Michael T H

May 05, 2020

Enlightening

por Meryl K

May 15, 2020

Great class

por benmaamar h

Dec 22, 2018

thank you .

por Shirley K

Aug 16, 2020

fun course

por Doğan A

May 25, 2020

Excellent

por jose e c s

Oct 06, 2020

Tank you

por JOACI J C

Jul 06, 2018

amazing!

por Camilo E

Jul 22, 2017

excelent

por Djordje I

Jan 20, 2017

Perfect!

por khaled M l a

Sep 30, 2020

Amazing

por tushar d s

Apr 15, 2020

Awesome

por Ben R

Feb 28, 2020

Top lad

por zhangzhe

Sep 22, 2018

perfect

por P. L D

May 23, 2020

Good

por Tommy W

Oct 16, 2019

good

por Rajesh S M

Nov 02, 2017

best

por victor m c

May 14, 2019

c

por Deleted A

Sep 29, 2018

This online course is very interesting for people that enjoys playing and watching sports. To explain the impact of sports in society and the development of sports in general, ideas and studies of many social science experts are provided and translated to the sport reality. Many well-known sport facts and personalities are provided to support the arguments.

The lecturer (Orin Stark) presents the subjects and his personal opinion on an “easy-going” language. He is someone with who you could have a very pleasant pub conversation. His approach and “easy going” language make the course and its content interesting and easy to follow, also for people without any background in social sciences, like me.

I really enjoying this course!

por RaymondMistral

Sep 06, 2016

J'ai trouvé ce cours très intéressant. Il aborde de nombreux aspects du sport auxquels on ne pense pas toujours, mais qui sont très importants dans le monde contemporain. Le professeur Orin Starn est agréable à écouter et les illustrations permettent de bien visualiser de quoi il est question tout en maintenant les élèves attentifs au cours. Cependant, pour un non-anglophone, l'effort demandé en termes de lecture est parfois un peu trop important et il est difficile de terminer la lecture des articles avant la fin de la semaine.

por Razvan C

Apr 19, 2020

The course was very well structured and vividly presented with examples and very documented historical facts. The only problem I faced was the availability of resources. Some of the mandatory readings were missing and links provided errors. Nevertheless, very interesting topic and I am happy that I joined it.

por SANTOSH K

Jun 17, 2020

It has been a great experience to complete the course. The lectures are short and effective with one to one concept explanation with examples. The course instructor has been energetic and enthusiastic in every video with all his tropes to drive the points. Great learning experience. Thank you.

por Martijn L

Apr 28, 2020

Interesting course, there's much more to the subject than I imagined before I took the course.

The lecture video's were good and the readings were complementary to it. I enjoyed the readings very much.

Martijn

por SOUMYA J

May 28, 2020

very interesting informative sports. specially the knowledge we grasped in this course about indoor and outdoor sports and the extreme sports pleasure. good work. thanks team

por Pietro O

Apr 26, 2020

Wonderful course! Sport world is fast changing, so maybe some lessons are not super up to date, but Orin is a fantastic and passionate teacher: very very recommended