Chevron Left
Voltar para Esportes e Sociedade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Esportes e Sociedade da instituição Universidade Duke

4.8
estrelas
1,063 classificações
289 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Melhores avaliações

MM

11 de nov de 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

RK

13 de jan de 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 289 Avaliações para o Esportes e Sociedade

por James M

19 de jan de 2021

Loved everything about this course. Learning the history of sports and games along with the athletes who came before us was awesome

por Nabil S

25 de abr de 2020

I am a sports management professional and I have completed my MBA in Sports Management even then I learnt a lot from this course.

por Victor M

10 de out de 2016

Fantastic humanistic approach, very well designed and above all the passion of the professor Starn is fundamental! great job!

por Tashin I

11 de jan de 2019

Awesome lecturer, reveals topics comprehensively. Lectures are well-structured. The course makes me learn more about sports.

por Hernadi F

12 de set de 2017

These lecture are amazing and very unique. I got new perspective about Sports particularly the rise of sport with age-by-age

por Uriel R

14 de nov de 2016

Great class, easy to follow, and very informative. One of my favorite, if not my favorite, course I have taken in Coursera.

por RuiYang Y

27 de jul de 2021

Amazing experience, I learned a lot in this class and it will be beneficial for my future academic learning and career :)

por Colm H

25 de jun de 2021

An excellent informative, engaging and inspiring course. It is the best online course I have ever done. Colm Hickey PhD

por Maria A S

4 de jul de 2020

very interesting and informative course. The instructor did an exceptional job. Kept the entire narration so interesting.

por Timur A

22 de mai de 2020

The best sports related course I ever had at Coursera! Fresh approach and a lot of insights! Thanks a lot, Mr. Starn!

por David V D

18 de set de 2016

Got to learn a lot about sports and how it can have a complete different perceptive than only watching or playing it.

por Davis J

27 de jan de 2016

This is by far the best course I have taken from Coursera. Orin is very knowledgeable and passionate in his lectures.

por Dr. S M

20 de jan de 2022

Excellent course. It explains the deeper meaning of sports and human relationships. The joy of play is the divinity.

por Matthew D

1 de jul de 2020

Very interesting combination of history of sport, psychology of sport, and society in general. Highly recommended.

por Arun J

13 de jun de 2020

I really enjoyed this course which helps to know about the modernisation and history of sports Thank you team DUKE.

por Muhammad A J

9 de fev de 2019

Excellent topic and well presented for those looking for an understanding between sports and society as a whole.

por Parker W

19 de abr de 2020

Enjoyable overview of sports and society. It raised a number of angles and thoughts I had never thought of.

por Chiara C

3 de nov de 2020

Muy interesante aprendizaje sobre el mundo del deporte a través de los años y sus cambios en la sociedad.

por Chew W Y

2 de jun de 2016

Great course, passionate instructor, lively examples. I highly recommend this course for all sports fans!

por Katrina E

26 de nov de 2021

Very enjoyable, Orin is energetic and knowlaedgable, providing interesting topics in an informative way.

por Assile T

27 de nov de 2020

One of the most exciting overall fulfilling courses I've ever taken.

Thanks Professor for your hard work!

por Martin S

8 de ago de 2016

Great course that look at sports from an anthropological view and exposes many ideas that even the hard

por Duru E

21 de abr de 2022

T​his was a really helpful and fun class! Thank you to everyone involved, especially Professor Starn

por Yimiao D

17 de set de 2021

I totally love the atmosphere in the class, how the professor are lecturing and explaing everything.

por José E R A

24 de mar de 2020

Excelente, curso recomendado para cualquier persona que quiera dedicarse a las ciencias del deporte.