Chevron Left
Voltar para Geospatial and Environmental Analysis

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Geospatial and Environmental Analysis da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.8
estrelas
1,118 classificações

Sobre o curso

Apply your GIS knowledge in this course on geospatial analysis, focusing on analysis tools, 3D data, working with rasters, projections, and environment variables. Through all four weeks of this course, we'll work through a project together - something unique to this course - from project conception, through data retrieval, initial data management and processing, and finally to our analysis products. In this class you will learn the fundamentals of geospatial and environmental analysis during four week-long modules: Week 1: Tour ArcToolbox and learn how to use common geospatial analysis tools built into ArcGIS Week 2: Gain a working understanding of raster data models: symbolize, reproject, overlay, and assess rasters. Take a detour into 3D data models, and interpolation of observations into 3D surfaces and rasters Week 3: Go in-depth on projections and coordinate systems, which are foundational to all GIS. Learn how to use environment variables to constrain your analyses and get better quality data products. Week 4: Expand your knowledge of symbology. Learn how to visually display your data by classifying it in logical groupings and then symbolizing it on your map. Take Geospatial and Environmental Analysis as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first and second courses in this specialization, "Fundamentals of GIS" and "GIS Data Formats, Design, and Quality", before taking this course. By completing this third class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Melhores avaliações

MH

11 de mai de 2020

The course content of this course is awesome and the way of explanation also. Those who want to make carrier in this field of GIS or Environment Analyst for them this is a good platform to learn.

AA

4 de mai de 2019

Like the previous courses on this specialization, this course is well prepared, the lectures are clear and the assignments designed to reinforce the learner's skills. I have really enjoyed it.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 245 Avaliações para o Geospatial and Environmental Analysis

por Luigi S

19 de dez de 2016

Peer review is not best way to grade if requires some form of subjective judgement from people that maybe are not the very qualified to provide it.

por Paul E

21 de ago de 2016

An excellent course. Well paced, comprehensive, delivers on many of the promises that the specialisation makes. My ranking above relates to course content and lecturer (who actively participates in the discussion forums).

I do however have great disdain for Coursera's downright abysmal handling of course rescheduling that saw it magically reappear after being cancelled and announced to enrolled students only two days before assessed content was due. Numerous student concerns were subsequently brushed off by support staff. Highly unprofessional.

por Mega D

31 de jul de 2019

Nick Santos is an awesome professor and profuse in knowdlege in data and GIS. The cool thing about him is he artuculates his points so well and uses very practical real world examples. Absolutely awesome!!

por Abdulaziz A

5 de mai de 2019

Like the previous courses on this specialization, this course is well prepared, the lectures are clear and the assignments designed to reinforce the learner's skills. I have really enjoyed it.

por Arnold T

2 de set de 2016

Haven't seen an online resource that has taught GIS better than this. And by a long shot! Loved the course. All courses have been awesome and build on themselves well

por Tomas B M

8 de jan de 2019

As the ones preceding it, it's an excellent course! The peer review is more difficult, but with enough time and effort, the resulting knowledge can be rewarding.

por Oghenevwede E

19 de jan de 2019

Great course, just keep getting better.

por Aaron A

13 de mai de 2022

Great course. I learned many new skills that I know will be useful in my future career and current role. I do believe that in order to get the full experience (doing the lessons, coursework, and optional assignments), a little more time is required than was advertised. I also would highly suggest that the course be updated for the use of ArcGIS Pro. Other than that, I would highly recommend this course to anyone.

por Mark G

21 de fev de 2019

This course challenged me with learning how to create and analyze rasters and relate them to points and polygons. The instructor teaches managing the data and breaking down the project into manageable steps as well as using many of the hundreds of available tools.

por Ricardo F R

20 de mar de 2019

I learn a lot from this experience, I can have my own rhythm and that is very important, cause my job does not allow me a lot of time during the week. Cheers for the teacher, well presented and pronunciation is clear and easy to understand.

por Anjali V R

16 de fev de 2022

Completion of this third course in the specialization gets you a step closer to mastering ArcGIS software. This course is more practical and application-oriented hence one can gain a lot of experience. Very effective and useful.

por Lisbeth H

9 de jan de 2019

Ha sido un curso de lo más productivo así como he aprendido a usar herramientas nuevas también he aprendido a maximizar el uso de herramientas ya conocidas y de manera general diversificar el uso y aplicación de ArcGIS.

por Alexa C

2 de out de 2019

Useful information on spatial analysis, rasters, coordinate systems.

And a guided tour on approaching a personal project.

The lessons are well structured and the teacher easy to follow.

por Amy T

18 de jun de 2020

I loved this course! The final two assignments were very challenging but I have gained so much confidence in using GIS. I am excited to be able to bring this into my work.

por Rodrigo P

9 de abr de 2018

Amazing course! Perfectly explained topics, insight to a real-life workflow, and the opportunity of practicing what was learned.

por henloy A

2 de jan de 2019

Great Course, good project and practice sessions. The course was well structured.

por Barak G

25 de jul de 2020

Much harder class than the previous two, but very well taught by the instructor

por CHINEDU O

26 de jun de 2016

very rich and practical, yet simple. It covers what it's all about.

por karmvir s r

19 de mar de 2017

This is the course where the technicality comes into play!!!!

por Ivana B

18 de jun de 2017

Amazing course, I learnt a lot and want to keep learning.

por Alfonso L R M

2 de nov de 2016

Great course and great tools to analyse geographic data.

por Carlos T H

1 de ago de 2018

Excellent course!! I recommend it!

por Jitan D

26 de jul de 2017

I loved this Course!

por MUSAB M A H

13 de jan de 2019

that is best course

por Deleted A

25 de jul de 2017

Great Experience