Chevron Left
Voltar para Distributed Computing with Spark SQL

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Distributed Computing with Spark SQL da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.5
estrelas
152 classificações
43 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course is for students with SQL experience and now want to take the next step in gaining familiarity with distributed computing using Spark. Students will gain an understanding of when to use Spark and how Spark as an engine uniquely combines Data and AI technologies at scale. The four modules build on one another and by the end of the course the student will understand: Spark architecture, Spark DataFrame, optimizing reading/writing data, and how to build a machine learning model. The first module will introduce Spark, including how Spark works with distributed computing and what are Spark Dataframes. Module 2 covers the core concepts of Spark such as storage vs. computing, caching, partitions and Spark UI. The third module looks at Engineering Data Pipelines covering connecting to databases, schemas and type, file formats and writing good data. The final module looks at the application of Spark with Machine Learning through the business use case, a short introduction to what machine learning is, building and applying models and a final course conclusion. By understanding when to use Spark, either scaling out when the model or data is too large to process on a single machine, or having a need to simply speed up to get faster results, students will hone their SQL skills and become a more adept Data Scientist....

Melhores avaliações

GT

Jun 10, 2020

I highly recommend this course for anyone in the BI and Data space interested in learning Spark. The course gives an easy to understand to the framework and applicable hands on examples.

KS

May 14, 2020

Amazing course that really cuts through the fundamentals of using distributed computing power to analyze and manipulate data. Well organised structure on fundamentals

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 43 Avaliações para o Distributed Computing with Spark SQL

por Steven O

Apr 06, 2020

A more appropriate title for the class would be "a brief introduction to Databricks". Very disappointing class. There are Youtube tutorials out there with more content than this class. This is one of the only classes that I have ever taken on Coursera where I could complete 2 weeks worth of all the lectures, assignments, and quizzes in a Sunday afternoon. I think this class was hastily slapped together, there is so little content. If your organization uses Spark and is not a Databricks client (as mine is), you will learn absolutely nothing here. The lectures are extremely short and devoid of any substance. I am still looking for a good online class in Spark. It certainly is not this one.

por Sacha v W

Feb 19, 2020

very superficial using databricks. The courses misses depth to be of any use. It is more a Databricks commercial. Executing pieces of available course without sufficient practice

por Joseph B

Jan 06, 2020

Extremely informative for those who are seeking to learn the fundamentals for distributed computing using Spark SQL.

por md z a

Mar 04, 2020

Expecting more advance material

por Deepika S

May 20, 2020

This course is a great learning source for Distributed Computing with Spark SQL. I got started with course and learnt basic concepts, dos and don'ts.

Concepts are explained well and work notebooks provided needed hands on experience.

Thanks for the course.

Best,

Deepika Sharma

por Serjesh S

May 29, 2020

I wanted to quickly revisit spark sql on Databricks platform after last time using spark (on premise)3 years ago .This course provided perfect refresher to all the important concepts.Module 4 is specifically pleasant and take it little closer to BigQueryML.

por Pooja N D

Jul 27, 2020

Well explained course by the trainers and good assignments set by the trainers. I learnt a lot on spark, its architecture and working, which I can use in my several up coming projects. Thank you for the course!

por George T

Jun 10, 2020

I highly recommend this course for anyone in the BI and Data space interested in learning Spark. The course gives an easy to understand to the framework and applicable hands on examples.

por Kumar S

May 14, 2020

Amazing course that really cuts through the fundamentals of using distributed computing power to analyze and manipulate data. Well organised structure on fundamentals

por Elliot T

Jul 13, 2020

Great introduction to Spark with Databricks that seems to be an intuituve tool! Really cool to do the link between SQL and Data Science with a basic ML example!

por Dilin J K J

Feb 12, 2020

This has been an amazing course. What is worth mentioning is how the content was delivered. Nice hands on. Highly recommended for anyone who is new to Spark

por Oisin D

Mar 26, 2020

Great course, really well taught and delivered. Only thing I would say is you would really need knowledge of python to really understand this course 100%

por Isaac T

Feb 23, 2020

Great introduction to Spark SQL and ML Flow. I love that they give extra resources if you want to learn more. It was a fun learning journey.

por Tina M

Apr 26, 2020

The information was very beneficial, and the ability to use data bricks

helped put into practice the information learned.

por GANESH H

Jul 02, 2020

Good course for understanding the distributed computing and how the machine learning is down in spark environment.

por Tejas S M

Apr 19, 2020

It is a nice experience to learn and a great course to understand the spark's core architecture.

por Fenil P

May 07, 2020

kudos to the instructor who teach this course by clearing all the concepts of spark sql:)

por Sebastien C

Jul 10, 2020

Very well structured and easy to follow. The assignements are where we lear the most!

por Prateek d

Jul 23, 2020

I literally loved this course it has helped me learn a lot was up to my expectation

por SHASHANK S

Jul 14, 2020

Should have explained all parts of syntax when they were used in the queries.

por Yifei H

Jul 26, 2020

Practical. Easy to follow. High ROI for the time investment.

por Rob E

Jul 06, 2020

Great course. The pedagogy and content were very well done.

por Mohammad M R

Apr 17, 2020

Good course for spark

por David M G

May 02, 2020

Fantastic Course!

por Pablo S L

Mar 27, 2020

A

w

e

s

o

m

e

c

o

u

r

s

e

!

!