Chevron Left
Voltar para Crença na Alma: causas e consequências - Unidade 2: sistemas de crenças

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Crença na Alma: causas e consequências - Unidade 2: sistemas de crenças da instituição Rutgers — Universidade Estadual de Nova Jérsei

4.6
estrelas
164 classificações
40 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Throughout history, the vast majority of people around the globe have believed they have, however defined, a “soul.” While the question of whether the soul exists cannot be answered by science, what we can study are the causes and consequences of various beliefs about the soul and its prospects of surviving the death of the body. Why are soul and afterlife beliefs so common in human history? Are there adaptive advantages to assuming souls exist? Are there brain structures that have been shaped by environmental pressures that provide the foundation of body/mind dualism that is such a prominent feature of many religions? How do these beliefs shape the worldviews of different cultures and our collective lives? What is the role of competing afterlife beliefs in religion, science, politics, and war? This course explores several facets of this relatively unexplored but profoundly important aspect of human thought and behavior. The course consists mainly of 70 to 80 minute lectures, typically broken up into 3 segments, recorded from a course offered by Rutgers University School of Arts and Sciences. These videos include slides and some embedded video clips. Most lectures are accompanied by slides used during the lecture, also including recommended reading assignment which may provide additional opportunities to reflect on your studies. Due to the lengthiness of this class and natural progression, the online course has been separated into 3 units, this is Unit 2....

Melhores avaliações

MM
21 de Jun de 2016

An excellent presentation. Guest lecturers outstanding. Forces a person to really question beliefs rather than accepting at face value. Excellent points raised by learned professionals.

GC
22 de Out de 2015

Amazing class that really helps you to look your core beliefs and understand why and how your are the person that you are!\n\nReally good professors and materials~ 10000 worthily!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 40 Avaliações para o Crença na Alma: causas e consequências - Unidade 2: sistemas de crenças

por Richard L

19 de Jun de 2017

I am unable to complete this course as I did not receive enough peer reviews on the final assignment. I know I was the first student to submit this assignment as there were no others to peer review. When they became available I reviewed more than required as it was apparent student enrolments were low. Coursera's only response to what is a chronic problem is pathetic. It says you should enrol again and hope that in a few years you might be able to complete a unit. It should instead require the institution which offers a course to ensure its tutors clear any backlog (which would not be time consuming as the issue is caused by low enrolments).

por Daryl R

2 de Nov de 2015

This course was well assembled, presented and interesting. Regardless of your beliefs or lack of there is food for thought for everyone. The instructors and guest speakers did an excellent job. This course has a lot to offer and finally addresses things many people just won't or don't talk about but should.

Perhaps in understanding one another in a educational way we can learn to live together if nothing else.

Among my highest recommendations.

por Kimberly K

28 de Nov de 2015

This three unit course on Soul Beliefs I have found to be very interesting and it is something that connects to one's everyday life and is thought-provoking in that regard. It is also a very unique opportunity, you won't find this course elsewhere. Anyone who has worked and enjoyed unit 1 will certainly want to carry on with the subsequent courses.

por Omar C

24 de Ago de 2017

Great experience! This is a unique course, I always have been interested in the relation between psychology and religion and, I never believed it will be molded in an academical way with this mastery. I already enroled in the last unit!

Don't miss it, is a great chance to deeper your knowledge in this exciting subject.

por Ramnath S K

11 de Jan de 2021

Exceptionally insightful course which touches upon beliefs and traditions and questions the rationale behind these. This course questions our established time honored beliefs and analyses these in a very rational way without raising one's hackles. I would love to do it again.

por Jeanne C

4 de Abr de 2018

Excellent course. Congratulations to the team that put this material together! You have answered questions and addressed issues which have been on my mind for a long, long time. I will recommend this course to everyone that I know.

por Tarey L K

19 de Out de 2015

This class was both informative and enjoyable. The two professors made their lectures interesting and thought provoking and the guest lecturers were an absolute delight. I highly recommend this course series to one and all.

por Mark M

22 de Jun de 2016

An excellent presentation. Guest lecturers outstanding. Forces a person to really question beliefs rather than accepting at face value. Excellent points raised by learned professionals.

por Gabriela C

23 de Out de 2015

Amazing class that really helps you to look your core beliefs and understand why and how your are the person that you are!

Really good professors and materials~ 10000 worthily!

por Alaa H

20 de Dez de 2019

A unique course that combines science, religion, psychology, and history for the purpose of understanding human nature and the human mind. Thanks for the valuable course.

por Nobuko S

13 de Mar de 2021

Thought provoking with lots of concrete scientific evidence to support the topic. Enjoyed the class and assigned readings very much.

por John M

9 de Nov de 2015

The professorsoffer science and facts; the superstitious offer dogma.

por Bruce B

22 de Dez de 2016

Thoughtful, multi-disciplinary course.. Bravo for the effort.

por Alejandro P

16 de Ago de 2015

Interesting contents, and good presentation.

por Heidrun S

7 de Ago de 2016

great subject and even greater professors!

por Andrea H

27 de Dez de 2015

very enlightling and also very important!

por Susan H

17 de Abr de 2019

Always enjoy learning from Prof. Ogilvy

por Sharon D

15 de Out de 2015

Very thought provoking. Great class.

por Manuel F B B

29 de Ago de 2017

I think it is very interesting.

por Bart S

8 de Set de 2016

great class, please repeat it

por Hilary A

11 de Jan de 2016

Loved it …..thank you.

por Winston A W

2 de Fev de 2021

Excellent, thank you.

por Mohamed S E

13 de Fev de 2018

Amazing, must have

por Emil

11 de Nov de 2018

Very nice course.

por Puneet K

3 de Out de 2015

Great experience