Chevron Left
Voltar para Crença na Alma: Causas e Consequências - Unidade 1: Fundamentos Históricos

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Crença na Alma: Causas e Consequências - Unidade 1: Fundamentos Históricos da instituição Rutgers — Universidade Estadual de Nova Jérsei

4.5
estrelas
389 classificações
106 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Throughout history, the vast majority of people around the globe have believed they have, however defined, a “soul.” While the question of whether the soul exists cannot be answered by science, what we can study are the causes and consequences of various beliefs about the soul and its prospects of surviving the death of the body. Why are soul and afterlife beliefs so common in human history? Are there adaptive advantages to assuming souls exist? Are there brain structures that have been shaped by environmental pressures that provide the foundation of body/mind dualism that is such a prominent feature of many religions? How do these beliefs shape the worldviews of different cultures and our collective lives? What is the role of competing afterlife beliefs in religion, science, politics, and war? This course explores several facets of this relatively unexplored but profoundly important aspect of human thought and behavior. The course consists mainly of 70 to 80 minute lectures, typically broken up into 3 segments, recorded from a course offered by Rutgers University School of Arts and Sciences. These videos include slides and some embedded video clips. Most lectures are accompanied by slides used during the lecture, also including recommended reading assignment which may provide additional opportunities to reflect on your studies. Due to the lengthiness of this class and natural progression, the online course has been separated into 3 units, this is Unit 1....

Melhores avaliações

MS
21 de Set de 2017

Brilliant course, brilliant lecturers, brilliant topic, extremely well thought-out approach to such a mind-blowing topic. I highly recommend it to anyone with even the vaguest interest in the topic.

DA
21 de Ago de 2015

I just started with this course and I am loving it! This not only offers a very fresh perspective on beliefs about souls and an afterlife but is also extremely relatable on a personal level.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 105 Avaliações para o Crença na Alma: Causas e Consequências - Unidade 1: Fundamentos Históricos

por Tarey L K

29 de Ago de 2015

Fascinating, informative, thought provoking, makes you think. What more could you ask for from a Course? The Professors are wonderful. I'm so glad I choose to take this Course.

por Andrea H

14 de Ago de 2015

I´m really enjoying it! and I think is very important and trascendental for our societies to start developing this kind of courses based on reflecting about the religion.

por María d l L A

24 de Jul de 2019

I have enjoyed learning this course. Thank you to all participants. This is a course everybody should take now-a-days to face the challenges to come to our souls.

por Elenjikal A V

2 de Dez de 2020

We crafted course. Addresses a current real urgent aspect of life that is much needed as we evolve in consciousness. Both the professors were excellent

por Susan H

18 de Mai de 2017

Great course! Awesome lectures from both professors. So glad there are courses like this out there to open our minds and broaden our perspectives.

por Deleted A

3 de Jan de 2017

Great course, also very good example for interdisciplinary communication to solve some of the riddles

we call existence/life

por Marina

25 de Dez de 2015

very nice course, except for the name. causes is ok, but consequences doesnt receive the importante that the title implies.

por Louis E K

11 de Set de 2015

The most interesting class I've ever taken. The material covers everything from psychology to sociology and then adds more.

por Angeles E

5 de Nov de 2015

I think it is a very interesting course. And one can feel the passion that the teachers have in doing it.

Thank you

por razi h

19 de Dez de 2015

a thought provoking course .. the prof. has an amusing personality which makes it easy to go through the lecture

por Khaled A A

17 de Dez de 2016

This is a truly unique course, covering an essential but largely neglected part of human nature and history.

por Rosane d A P

3 de Set de 2015

So interesting, getting religion discussions with differents perspectives and the teachers are amazing !

por Alexey K

26 de Ago de 2016

A introduction into the history of beliefs. It was kind of frustrating the way Buddhism was covered.

por Eugenio D P

5 de Jun de 2018

Excellent, very didactic, teachers are very experienced, i enjoyed it very much. Highly recommended

por Rosalee C

1 de Set de 2016

This is an eye opening course. However I'm not willing to give up my belief in my Catholic faith.

por Илья К

28 de Ago de 2015

Must see for everyone who wants to understand religion much better from scientific point of view.

por D.Scott V

6 de Jul de 2017

Should be considered standard for all first year college students. A great course! Many thanks!

por Atul B

30 de Abr de 2019

Great course. Complete all three parts to have a grip over genesis and utility of religion.

por Erlan B D L

28 de Set de 2017

Curso excelente. Super recomendado para quem se interessa sobre Psicologia das Religiões.

por Camila B

20 de Nov de 2016

Excellent course, taught by absolutely amazing and intellectually stimulating professors.

por Carlos D

9 de Fev de 2016

I found it really amazing... i wish i could have been present in the classroom :)

por Oscar A G B

15 de Set de 2015

The course gives a lot of interesting information in a entertain way of learning.

por REBECCA G

24 de Jan de 2016

This is a great course. Profs have an interesting way of getting info to us.

por julio s

13 de Jun de 2016

Excelent, a deep view about the origin of religions and the things they share

por Gianpiero L

7 de Abr de 2016

I just love this course. It is funny, easy to follow and really interesting.