Chevron Left
Voltar para Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics da instituição Faculdade Berklee de Música

4.8
estrelas
735 classificações
245 avaliações

Sobre o curso

There’s a songwriter lurking somewhere inside you, peeking around corners, wondering if it’s safe to come out. Now it is. This course is an invitation to let your inner songwriter step into the sunlight. All it takes is a simple “yes” and you’ll be climbing that windy hill, marveling at the view. If you haven’t written any or many songs, this course will show you an efficient, effective process for tailoring songs to express your ideas and emotions. If you have, you’ll look at your process differently, taking control of aspects of the process you may have not noticed. The course will start by examining the tools available to you, all revolving around the essential concept of prosody. You’ll learn to use your tools to enhance your message—to work compositionally at the same time you’re developing your ideas. You’ll be working both lyrically and musically, though musically it’s not necessary that you either read music or play an instrument. If you play, great, and you’ll be encouraged to play and record your musical responses to the assignments. If you don’t play, the course offers you a number of musical loops to work with. All you’ll have to do is sing your melodies over the loops. Assignments will ask you to post something for peer review—sometimes lyric lines or sections, sometimes melodies, sometimes both. None of it has to be polished. The course is about writing, not performing. Most important, you’ll have a lot of fun....

Melhores avaliações

CS
12 de Fev de 2021

This course helped me get over the hump of not being able to write songs. I want to thank Sir Pat for helping me organize my ideas and refine them so that I can tell good stories. Thank you sir!!

GH
15 de Jan de 2021

I have been to dozens of workshops and have read dozens of books and have written hundreds of songs. I learned more in this course than in any of the workshops or books. This it top rated stuff!

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de 247 Avaliações para o Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics

por Alejandro M

15 de Nov de 2016

Excellent course!!

por Francisco R Z

13 de Set de 2016

Feeling Inspired!!

por Jeremiah P

21 de Mai de 2019

Pat's a cool cat.

por Sayo A

16 de Out de 2017

Excellent course!

por Víctor A

21 de Fev de 2017

Sensei Pattison !

por Kaiwalya D V

18 de Ago de 2020

it was great.

por Sarah W

17 de Ago de 2018

Great Course!

por José I

19 de Out de 2017

The best!!!!

por Brittany A

31 de Mar de 2017

so helpful.

por José M C

10 de Jan de 2017

Brilliant!

por Louis A

26 de Nov de 2019

Very Good

por Deleted A

17 de Nov de 2017

amazing!

por Daniel N d S

3 de Nov de 2016

Awesome!

por S.M A S A

13 de Jan de 2021

awesome

por Alejandra B

24 de Ago de 2016

GREAT!

por Lê Q H

25 de Out de 2021

Good

por Hai y

7 de Jun de 2018

tQ

por Greg T

4 de Fev de 2019

W

por Andrew N

24 de Out de 2020

I really found this course extremely helpful. Thank you. I loved the course, love Pat's teaching, have been to a couple of his seminars in Melbourne, Australia. I have three of his books and found that this course just made me do al the things I've read and heard him talk about. The only reason I didn't give it 5/5 stars - which I think it is worth - is at the very end (Week 6) I had a peer review from someone whom I don't think understood enough about what they were supposed to know! They failed me, whereas upon submitting exactly the same submission was given 65/65. I had also been given 65/65 from someone the week before in Week 5. I found that frustrating, knowing I had spent time working on the very things the assignment was aimed at ... BUT GREAT COURSE - not sure if anything can be done a bout that final week... THANKS again!

por Saee J

1 de Nov de 2017

All the concepts were taught very well. I liked the assignment and quizzes too at the end of the week as they were really exciting and interesting to do. What I liked most was reviewing fellow peers and getting their feedback on assignments submitted by me too. I felt like I was learning along with really helpful and honest classmates thanks to the forums and online feedback from them. Although the learning process is to be done on your own it still never felt lonely because of all the forum section and the peer graded assignments especially which really helped me feel like I am a part of a community of like minded people having similar interests and passion for learning. Loved the course! Also, Thanks to our wonderful tutor, Pat, and Berklee College for making this course and the lessons so much fun and easy to understand! Cheers!

por Jeff T

23 de Mai de 2019

The principles of this course are phenomenal. Not only did I learn a ton, but the information is something that I will keep with me in my writing forever. Some of the videos are hard to follow and can be a bit confusing. Using the videos plus the reading material together really helped. The peer grading can also be a bother for I'm not sure that all of the peers fully understand what they are doing (I know I don't always). This can stop you from moving on if you don't score high enough on the quiz's in the paid version of the course A summary of key points at the end of each segment would also be helpful. Other than that, this course is truly eye opening and valuable.

por Nicole E H

23 de Fev de 2021

Fantastic content, hugely useful and instructive book suggestions (there are 2 books - highly recommended) and well planned video lessons. As my first songwriting course, I’m still swimming in choice of new tools to play with. I took 7 weeks to complete the course and was glad I did. I needed that extra time to let concepts integrate. The peer feedback system is a little ‘luck of the draw’as it’s depends on the experience of the peer. I mostly received useful and specific feedback. I’d recommend this course to all interested in upping their songwriting game!

por Paola M

29 de Out de 2018

The lessons were really helpful in filling the gaps I had in my knowledge! Moreover, I was able to pick up a lot of tips that have made my songwriting process go more smoothly. Perhaps the only qualm I have with this course was the grading and rubric system for the peer reviews, in that the most minor of mistakes can result in a dramatically lower grade in an assignment. That aside, however, I had a good experience taking this course and am sure to use what I learned in the future.

por H2O

3 de Set de 2016

The course material and the instructor's lectures are excellent. However the quizzes are programmed incorrectly--marking wrong answers right and right answers wrong too often.

I gained a few skills that I now put to use when writing songs. The course also provided some insightful information on prosody, phrasing, and a little bit of history. It was definitely worth the time I invested in doing this course.

por Pragnya A

20 de Set de 2020

I loved the course! I'be seriously never come across an course un arts that is so effective. But since I am not from a musical background, I couldn't follow week 5 and 6 very well. I wish theere was something to accommodate us. Maybe you could have put some videos or rather, readings, for people who dont know the basics of music like keys, notes, tones etc. But otherwise good course.