Chevron Left
Voltar para Segurança de Software

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Segurança de Software da instituição Universidade de Maryland, College Park

4.6
928 classificações
194 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course we will explore the foundations of software security. We will consider important software vulnerabilities and attacks that exploit them -- such as buffer overflows, SQL injection, and session hijacking -- and we will consider defenses that prevent or mitigate these attacks, including advanced testing and program analysis techniques. Importantly, we take a "build security in" mentality, considering techniques at each phase of the development cycle that can be used to strengthen the security of software systems. Successful learners in this course typically have completed sophomore/junior-level undergraduate work in a technical field, have some familiarity with programming, ideally in C/C++ and one other "managed" program language (like ML or Java), and have prior exposure to algorithms. Students not familiar with these languages but with others can improve their skills through online web tutorials....

Melhores avaliações

GB

May 27, 2019

Was prepared and presented in a very special and superb way. I am glad I took and completed it. Thanks to my tutor Michael Hicks and special appreciation to coursera for making this possible for me.

PR

Nov 20, 2016

Content is really valuable and actionable with a specific comeback for the student in terms of secure development, security and how to understand the origin of exploits and other cyber attacks

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Segurança de Software

por TAMERA Y

Aug 21, 2017

Great Course. I like that it offered the interviews at the end of each lesson. I didn't know anything about the style of fuzzing or pen testing prior to taking this course. I need to delve into the learning hands

por Emilie D

Mar 20, 2017

Learnt a lot. Quite a lot of background required esp. if you've never debugged/analyzed memory locations/ of C programs before. I'm a web developer and write php in my day to day, with a little experience in C++. Being able to read C code wasn't too much of a problem. Very hard, however, was figuring out how to use gdb properly to analyze/ debug -- to calculate the distance between two memory locations, for example. That wasn't something I cared to anguish over.

por James N

Jun 24, 2017

I really enjoyed the hands-on C exploit labs. That deserves a six week course on its own. The rest of the material provides a good introduction to tooling and general concepts. I feel like it is two different courses, in a way.

por Akash V

Jun 10, 2018

I personally enjoyed the course. It covers number of topics in software security. Although I find this course pretty easy (read basic), I can understand that the goal of the course is to introduce and focus security in the software development process itself, hence it is brief. I would have liked if more "practical" work was there in the course. I liked all the assignments as well as projects, few of them were really good.

por David A P

Feb 23, 2017

Excellent intro course with 3 semi-challenging and fun projects

por Alberto H A

Mar 22, 2017

This course is totally recommended for developers and architects no matter the programming language you use.

In my opinion, the only thing that I missed was a project for the penetration testing week.

Contents are very well teached and the interviews were awesome.

por Eugenia G

Jun 27, 2017

Described security issues are very practical & real. Material built in a structured and logical way. Very interesting interviews with the Expert from the certain security areas that gives oppertunity to see how it works from inside. Had some issues with the Projects passing due to the way how questions built - it took more time to understood questions then to find a response on it.

por Ricardo D A R

Jun 11, 2018

Thank you for an insightful look at the world of software security. If I were to make a suggestion it would be to include a refresher module about programming in C. I find it odd that the syllabus wouldn't include some basics on C (while assuming the student is fluid with C) and yet, the course had a couple of modules to explain the most basic of web functionalities like server and client paradigm. I think some students of this course have that kind of knowledge mastered, and would have liked a refreshment for C to have an easier time in the earlier weeks.

por Laurent B

Feb 19, 2017

The course is great but it would be better to have it over 8 weeks to diffuse the amount of valuable information in Week 5. Also, charts should be numbered for easier references in discussions.

por mohamed h a

Jul 07, 2017

thank you

por Juan F

Aug 13, 2017

Enjoyed the course, would have liked to have in video questions for all videos. I think they stopped after week 4 . I would also have liked to see more projects or more depth to the last project.

por Andy Y

May 12, 2017

The course was taught well and contained very interesting and relevant content. However, an increase of projects would be beneficial as I feel just spitting out facts learned from the videos doesn't really make the information stick in a meaningful way.

por dominique a f

Nov 13, 2017

Nice course. One remark, it is necessary to review version compatibility of mentioned virtualbox against today OS versions, mainly macOSX.

por Anton P

Mar 24, 2018

Good!

por David G

Nov 24, 2017

Good foundations, feels a bit dated though as the Web Security sections seem more focused on vulnerabilities more common in PHP/pre-Web 2.0 & the rise of modern frameworks such as Ruby on Rails, which is surprising for a series that came out in 2014. Still essential knowledge though for software security 101.

por Jason J

Dec 15, 2017

Some of the videos were a bit slow, but overall a good course.

por Dan R

May 24, 2017

Excellent course on software security! Loved that we actually got to get into some code!

por teya k d p

Dec 16, 2016

tres bon merci beaucoup

por ZUBIN S

Oct 23, 2017

Good Course,But less content ROP gadget etc not covered in details.

por Kai P

Mar 31, 2019

Seems outdated (as of 2014). Quiz for week 5 is strange and not easy with the provided material.

por Manav C

Jun 16, 2019

Great course

por Scott S

Jul 03, 2019

Solid course in software security. Really clear explanation of looking under the covers of how buffer overflows work. However, the virtual machines are four years out of date and getting them running for the labs were a major pain.

por Ayman M H

Sep 16, 2019

I wanna thank Dr Michael but in fact the course wants some editing. First you should write the prerequisite courses for it also a link for each one would be generous. Second we should have more practical exercise done by the instructors live to explain more.. Thank you

por Abhirup B

Jan 27, 2019

The way the course instructor taught the course was very boring.

por Vaibhav C

Aug 05, 2018

Some more real time examples with Testing activities would have made this course more suitable foe Software Testing Professionals