Chevron Left
Voltar para Segurança de Software

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Segurança de Software da instituição Universidade de Maryland, College Park

4.6
estrelas
1,108 classificações
246 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course we will explore the foundations of software security. We will consider important software vulnerabilities and attacks that exploit them -- such as buffer overflows, SQL injection, and session hijacking -- and we will consider defenses that prevent or mitigate these attacks, including advanced testing and program analysis techniques. Importantly, we take a "build security in" mentality, considering techniques at each phase of the development cycle that can be used to strengthen the security of software systems. Successful learners in this course typically have completed sophomore/junior-level undergraduate work in a technical field, have some familiarity with programming, ideally in C/C++ and one other "managed" program language (like ML or Java), and have prior exposure to algorithms. Students not familiar with these languages but with others can improve their skills through online web tutorials....

Melhores avaliações

GB

May 27, 2019

Was prepared and presented in a very special and superb way. I am glad I took and completed it. Thanks to my tutor Michael Hicks and special appreciation to coursera for making this possible for me.

PR

Nov 20, 2016

Content is really valuable and actionable with a specific comeback for the student in terms of secure development, security and how to understand the origin of exploits and other cyber attacks

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 241 Avaliações para o Segurança de Software

por Tim C

Sep 17, 2017

I raise my hat to the instructor for his knowledge and merits.

HOWEVER

The way this course is structured totally SUCKS wind!

The instructor claims that in order to do well in the classy you are not require to write C code but to understand it . Guess what? in order to understand C code you have to have studied it and used it so the argument about "you don't have to write C code to pass the course" is faulty. In fact, I had a heck of the time passing the course and ended up resenting it.

Tests are set to fail students rather then educate and empower them.

One would expect to find lectures and material to provide enough info to pass the tests but it's NOT the case here. Often you will have to research the subject elsewhere as info given though the course is not enough.

por hmka

Sep 16, 2018

The course is impressively well-structured and organised. When I came to know about MIT's OCW's Computer Security course, I was eagerly hoping it gets included in as a Mooc. After taking this course, I believe it's on the same par.

Software Security is intended for a more advanced audience compared to usable security. Mainly, those who have some modest experience with programming and are aiming to apply security designs and implementations to their code. Moreover, it gives you a good idea, backed up with labs, about security in domains like web application, low-level systems, penetration testing, etc, good enough for someone to choose which one to pursue a career in.

por Dmitry T

May 09, 2016

The course of this kind was extremely needed, still in it's current state it contains lots of inaccuracies in lectures and quizes. I hope they will be fixed up to the future sessions.

por Ken V H N

Oct 19, 2016

Week 5 about program analysis and is very interesting and many concepts are new to me. This is also a very well structured course. I had a great time studying it. Thanks, Mike.

por Timo S

Aug 01, 2017

I liked the lectures - there are informative and give good overview of such a wide area.

My personal complains are about homeworks - specially HW1 which has big disconnect between lectures and the questions it asked; specifically, no lecture covered pointer arithmetics, and it wasnt on slides; no idea why it was skipped; but it made this task challenging, because i didn't know what to ask or what to google; But it's very simple when you see the process 1st time; just simple example or test practice could make it more enjoyable;

por Francesco B

Oct 20, 2016

The first three weeks are really interesting. The 4th and 5th are boring: it explains too many arguments in givin just hint to many of them. Many videos are too long and there are too many.

In my opinion they should focus on fewer things and explain them in ore details. Many times the lecture becomes just a list.

por Anish B

Sep 05, 2019

More practical based, with updated systems could have been helpful...

por Debasish R C

Jun 03, 2020

There is a mandatory project that requires one to set up a virtual machine to work with. The system is old, all online resources have already been taken down and do not work with current VirtualBox. The eth0 device is never detected. No one will answer your questions. The forums are useless and the mentors have abandoned the course. So, don't waste your money on it.

por Shannon W

Dec 26, 2016

Personally, even though the recommend time for each week was 2-4 hours. I easily spent 20 hours each week, taking detailed notes on the lectures and following up with the supplemental materials. I absolutely feel that the investment of time was worth it, and even if you only invest the 2-4 recommended hours per week, the $49 course fee is nothing compared to the value of the knowledge that you will gain. I estimate at 2-4 hours/week the course content is worth $800+, and if you follow up with all of the supplemental material, the course is (IMAO) worth $2400+, even in terms of having the unlimited information on the internet organized for you. (I once had to make a decision whether or not to pay $7,000 for Siebel training...)

por Roberto T D

Mar 21, 2019

First of all, sorry for my english. I'm very glad to have participate in this course. I'm learned so many new things! And I think it's really a very interesting area. I'm mostly a developer, although last years I've been learning many aspects related to Cybersecurity, ethical hacking and pentesting (I'm CompTIA Security + and CEH, but I'm a newbie), and curiously (and sadly) I hadn't ever heard about secure software developing techniques explained here in almost 20 years of career. So, I'm very proud to know them now. Congratulations! It has been tough for me on certain points, but I've enjoyed it very much!!

por Yuval G

Oct 08, 2016

I found this course very effective, i liked it very much. it provides an overview of all the major topics of Software Security and more important, gives the knowledge and tools to dive deeply into it by yourself using several grate things this course provides: Reading recommendations before each lesson, VM projects and interesting interviews with experts on each field.

The homework were challenging enough and covered pretty much all the topics, and the videos were in high quality and well organized.

I strongly recommend this course to any Software developer

por John B

May 31, 2019

I found this course really insightful. I have wanted to understand the source of software vulnerabilities and the course met that objective well. I particularly liked how it addressed the whole software development cycle from requirements - design - implementation - test.

I did find it quite difficult, having a dated and somewhat limited coding background. However, the exercises can be completed successfully if you are prepared to put in some extra work to understand some of the essentials of the C programming language.

por Gavin L

Oct 27, 2016

Finished it in 7 days because it was so interesting. Registered last Thursday, finished today.

It was a great course, the first three weeks was the most enjoyable. I personally think week 5 was the most strenuous, but cruised through it nevertheless.

Week 3, 4, and 6 were easy.

Great course. Would recommend. Sadly, there aren't many courses covering the same topic on a deeper level on the internet.

por Nikolaos D

Oct 16, 2016

A highly recommended course, where Professor Hicks and his coworkers have done a terrific job in assembling and organizing teaching material related to software security, as well as presented it in a very thorough, interesting and comprehensive manner. It fully reached up to my expectations, and I would like to thank & congratulate all the contributors of the course. Well done, everyone!

por José A Q

May 03, 2020

Excelente curso. Verdaderamente recomendable para aquellos desarrolladores que quieran tener una introducción práctica al mundo de la ciberseguridad. Perfecta combinación de teoría y ejercicios. Dado que el curso se hizo en 2014, convendría que revisaran el contenido porque pueden haber aparecido nuevas amenazas, técnicas o herramientas que merezca la pena incluir en el curso.

por Tarun J C

Mar 13, 2020

Well structured course with great projects and labs that gave me a holistic understanding of the basics of software security. In spite of having no job experience in the world of Cybersecurity, I did not face any difficulty relating to any of the topics discussed in this course and I believe that speaks to its ability to cater to learners of all experience levels.

por Dasarapalli R R

Mar 19, 2020

Got the best theoretical introduction for the basic of software security, One of the best courses out there, Professor explains really good about the importance of each aspect covered in this course, Gotta admit the projects were a bit harder than expected but learnt a lot from this course and helped in selecting which area i wanna have expertise in.

por Rodrigo G L

Sep 27, 2016

It's a very complete course, touching every aspect of software development and engineering from a security perspective. I liked the interviews a lot too, which also show the importance of principles like secure coding and techniques like static analysis, fuzzing and web form sanitizing in the enterprise/corporate world. I totally recommended it.

por JAN P

Sep 09, 2019

It was very useful course, one of the best I ever had. I have found first projects more challenging compared to those in the end, and I was also missing theoretical checks in penetration testing and fuzzy testing part, but in my opinion it is one of the best courses on the security topic and I would definitely recommend it to my colleagues.

por Calum G

May 16, 2018

I'm currently on week 5 of this course (almost done) and so far it has been excellent. Week 2 will really drop you in at the deep end if you haven't learned about or as in my case haven't studied for a while the C programming language and how its executed in memory. Just stick with it and you will learn a lot of useful information.

por Julián J G

Oct 26, 2018

Except for the static analysis and symbolic execution unit, which I actually found pretty hard (there are a lot of terms and definitions), most of the course is pretty easy to get in for anyone with some CS background, but offering solid knowledge and very good examples. 100% recommended as a Software Security introductory course.

por Daniel Z

Sep 03, 2016

This course requires you have a good ability of programming about C.You also know some knowledge about the HTML , JavaScript.The course covers a broad range of software security.The hardest part for me is symbolic execution.If your basic knowledge about programming is weak,you need to read materials from Google to understand it.

por Ivan

Nov 01, 2017

Great course. Learned a lot. Huge difference in comparison to first one from specialization. More hands on approach and great practice with project works. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to really go through basic in security. I just wish pen testing is done a bit more in depth (maybe project would be great idea).

por Francisco M O G

Sep 26, 2017

I recommed this course as it covers a lot of topics related to cybersecurity and tips to desing secured software.

It requieres some knowlledge in C language and perhaps this is the hardest part if you aren´t used to code in this language. All lessons related to memoy attacks and static analysis are based in C language

por mustafa k r

Oct 29, 2019

this is the most strong course ever I has been study it, and it is totally rich of information that can make u log out from the website for few days to make ur own research and u will back again. thanks a lot to get my chance to be here and finish it and thanks to make it difficult