Chevron Left
Voltar para Gender, Family, and Social Change in Contemporary South Korea

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Gender, Family, and Social Change in Contemporary South Korea da instituição Universidade Yonsei

4.8
estrelas
250 classificações
62 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course examines the transformation of Korean society beginning around the turn of the 20th century to contemporary times. In particular, it explores how shifting categories of masculinity, and by contrast, femininity have impacted upon, and in turn been influenced by social, cultural, and political change. Using multiple disciplinary lenses, we will critically examine how gender intersects with political, social, and economic developments starting with the Confucianization of Korean society during the Joseon Dynasty (1392-1910) up to the contemporary moment of globalization and neoliberal reform. The class will draw on a variety of topics such as traditional views of women, religion, race, class, education, patriarchy, sexuality, imperialism, modernity, war, globalization, the diaspora, among others. Special attention will be placed on the historical, transnational and transdisciplinary connections....

Melhores avaliações

CB

20 de fev de 2018

Excellent course. I strongly recommend it for anyone interested in Korean culture. I took it because I am writing about KPOP and sexuality but I learnt much more and am really glad I did it.

NS

10 de ago de 2020

thank you so much for taking the course in a well organized way and in clear detail. i wanted to know more about the culture of s korea and it was dealt in depth by the mentors. thank you.

Filtrar por:

51 — 64 de 64 Avaliações para o Gender, Family, and Social Change in Contemporary South Korea

por Lydia C H

6 de out de 2019

I really like this course. It does show a point of view I wasn't expecting to learn about Korea and it really opened my mind and eyes a bit. It is a really well-taught class and I am enjoying it!

por mayday_OT7_OT9

14 de jun de 2017

This course was very interactive, and it provided lots of resources on the side as well. It was challenging and allowed interaction with other learners as well. Thank you for this course.

por Kathy C

29 de dez de 2021

I​ thought this was interesting, covering a wide range of topics that I knew little about! There were many reading references, and some interesting historical perspectives.

por Noelia C

22 de jun de 2020

Curso muy interesante pero obsoleto en cuanto a información se refiere. Los datos son de hace 4 años y un país.puede cambiar mucho en ese periodo de tiempo.

por Gainor T

23 de nov de 2020

For a five-week course, the coverage was good. Learning about the history behind the status of women in South Korea was enlightening.

por Sevde O

29 de out de 2020

I really benefit from this course. Thank you for everything. I recommend you to take it!

por Laura G G

23 de dez de 2021

It needs an urgent actualisation of the contents. But overall, good course!

por Jonathan H

18 de mai de 2017

Very interesting course, could be improved by some work on the subtitling.

por Valeria C R N

19 de nov de 2017

I would put 5 stars because it's amazing but too short :'(

por M. C L G

6 de jun de 2021

Course very interesting.

por Nimasi S P

14 de out de 2020

Thank you

por Andrea d J M M

20 de jul de 2021

T

por AJSS

10 de set de 2021

The course cud have been split into two separate courses given by the two lecturers separately as there were a lot of topics but most were not covered in very great detail without a large amount of additional reading. Many of the links are no longer available or out of date and as a majority of the course is based on peer graded reviews it means that you are completely dependent on the good will of your fellow students and their willingness to leave a review for you. Having said that much of the information was interesting and thought provoking and with additional research can provide insight into these topics in contemporary South Korea.

por Joy S

28 de ago de 2017

Good overview of how things stand in South Korea. Slightly hard to understand as it is taught by Koreans with Korean accents.